We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveller rating
127
211
121
33
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
211
121
33
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room bit dated traditional hotel sea view large hotel scarborough bay coach holiday the cliff twin room lick of paint lovely hotel porridge one night stay street parking nothing too much trouble evening meal old building
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 526 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Just returned from 2 nights at this lovely cosy family run hotel, a fantastic position on the south cliff with stunning views of the bay. I have stayed here several times and love it. Old fashioned hospitality. Rooms are functional not fancy, everything you need. Clean with a nice bar and a car park. If you don't want corporate and cold stay here .I had patio doors onto a balcony overlooking the bay, fabulous I will be back.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank shippers_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

We stayed at this three star Scarborough hotel for one night - we were in Scarborough for the pantomime.

We were warmly welcomed by the young lady on reception, who explained about the street ‘disc’ parking as the car park was full. We were given a large sea facing room on the first floor which had large bay windows and a small balcony. The views over the entire sweep of South Bay were spectacular!

The room furnishings and decor were dated, but very clean and the room was warm and cosy. The bathroom was functional but in need of redecorating. There was a double and a single bed, which were very comfortable with plenty of pillows.

All the public areas were clean and warm, and all staff members were friendly. We enjoyed an hour or so in the very cosy bar with free internet access.

This is a great value hotel, and we would happily stay here again.

Room tip: Sea view rooms are excellent!
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

We booked three single rooms for one night whilst on a working tour. This hotel has a magnificent view over the south bay, castle and harbour. The staff were friendly and helpful and the en-suite rooms warm and well equipped. No food was available but there was a bar and many nearby eating places. Parking was not a problem right outside. We shall certainly stay again on a future visit.

Room tip: Ask for a room with bay view
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTyke186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

My wife and myself have just spent a night at The Esplanade as part of a larger party. We have stayed here before and again we have had a very nice experience.
Whilst the hotel is a bit dated, we had a very nice room, which was very clean, well equipped, warm and had very comfortable beds.
Our meals which included evening meal and breakfast were very nice and adequate and all the staff that we met were very obliging and helpful.
Would defiantly stay again.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

Arrived on the 27th November great welcome by hotel staff, rooms excellent size for 2 adults 1 older child and 1 younger child.. food excellent although having all vegetables mixed up was a bit baffled cos in our table not everyone enjoyed the same vegetables. 1 say asked if carrots could come separate but got told vegetables are already mixed. Breakfast self service was good choice. Bar prices very reasonable prices. Evening entertainment was good.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews