We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only positive comments”

Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I love visiting fountains court, relaxing, freindly, all staff are really helpful and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The food is always freshly prepared and tasty. Always clean, nicely decorated, the whirlpool spa and zen garden are great for relaxation, then you can spoil yourself with a treatment or two... nice quiet location, just near peaseholme park..

Room Tip: All rooms are equally nice! I have been five times and planning to return in a few weeks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Fountains Court Hotel. I found it small rather in the style of a Bed and Breakfast. The bedroom was not particularly inviting being rather cluttered and the shower room and tiny hand basin positively awful it was so small.

The food was basic vegetarian and the breakfast portions, which did not include vegetarian sausages or bacon were on the skinny side.

I found the dining room depressing as there was no view from the window. I did not get a holiday feel about this hotel.

The Zen garden was poor and not as I had imagined from the reviews. I think it's hardly worth a mention. It is accessed via steep steps, quite tiny and in need of sprucing up. As a base for treatments, which of course are at extra cost, for convenience this "hotel" may suit some people, but if you are a vegetarian/vegan looking for such dietary requirements, for the money you could do better elsewhere. I certainly would not stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank MCW86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The hot-tub and sauna were a relaxing bonus after a days walking.
Reception was friendly and engaging every time.
Breakfast was home-made, interesting and fresh.
Evening meals were imaginative, tasty and my own wine was chilled.
The room was scrupulously clean, quiet and relaxing.
I only had 1 therapy session - but it was excellent - Helen knows her stuff.

Room Tip: garden rooms will have less morning traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed at Fountains Court for five nights with my mother and overall we were both disappointed wth this hotel. The staff are very friendly. However, the bedroom was very cramped, three single beds in one room accompanied by an extremely small en suite shower room, so small there was only a a hand basin and one direction in the room you could stretch both arms outwards! We didn't get the impression we were staying in a hotel room, it certainly felt more like a guest house. On a positive note the bedding was nice, clean, and the room was serviced to a good standard, As regarding the zen garden, this is accessed via steep steps. It looked rather tired, perhaps due to the time of year. Regardless, it didn't appear anything special and it is a small area. The food was tasty but on the whole very basic, No tofu, quorn, soya. A variation of a pasta meal was served twice within the five night period. Undoubtedly the best meal was the homemade vegetable korma and the two home made soups. All other meals were very basic and not what you would expect from a chef creating his/her idea or demonstating much expertise in the kitchen. Meals were simple, much as you would prepare at home. If you are looking for a traditional cooked breakfast you would be disappointed at this hotel. There are no vegetarian sausages or bacon! Following a basic selection of cereals/yogurt/ fruit you can order a choice of egg, beans, mushroom, fresh tomato. These options are served on one slice of toast. Portions are so small , when not on the toast they look lost on the plate. I really can"t understand why a mainly vegetarian hotel omits vegetarian sausages. These are commonly available at meat eating hotels and seemingly you are getting much less at this hotel! Unfortunately apart from the friendly and polite staff, there is nothing positive I can say about this hotel, It might be alright if you are looking for holistic treatments but for a vegetarian looking for a holiday base you would be better to research other hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Aries0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My family and I stayed here for my 60th birthday, Helen and the staff made us so welcome. The rooms were comfortable, the food excellent and you can bring your own wine too. The treatments were very affordable and extremely relaxing. It was lovely to have a bit of pampering for a change. I was a bit unsure of staying in a holistic hotel for my birthday but everything was great and we all look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
976 reviews
0.3 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
3.7 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,545 reviews
1.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
1.2 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Court Holistic Health Hotel

Address: Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing