We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean for a short stay.......”
Review of Lyness Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyness Guest House
Ranked #133 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2011

David and Val Hewitt gave us a warm and informative welcome.....first impressions were good. Our room was on the first floor and was well equipped with everything you would need for a weekend stop-over. There was no large double available at short notice, so two single beds were put together and these were extremely comfortable with fresh linen and towels provided. The room was compact - however it was cleaned every day and had an ensuite shower. Quite a lot of noise outside the window - neighbours' motorcycle and sea-gulls, but the proprietors cannot be blamed for these factors! Very generous, well-cooked breakfast and we were accommodated on time and special diet. The Lyness is situated on a busy main road - just 5 minutes drive from the sea front. Parking IS tricky - and operates on a disk timezone. David was really helpful on advice as to how to make the most of this, and we did not have to walk far from where we parked both days. I am partially disabled, and struggled to climb the stairs; they may be rather steep for someone with mobility problems.

Room Tip: Front rooms might be quieter .....book in advance
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynessScarborough, Owner at Lyness Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, it was a pleasure to look after you both. We’re sorry that you felt your room was a little noisy and whilst we cannot stop the seagulls, we can confirm that there is no longer a motorbike living next door!
For all guests who have impaired mobility, please see our access statement on our website for detailed information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Lyness Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

Nice warm rooms very well equipped and very clean.
Wonderfull lovely and very helpfull owner and staff.
Very good and tasty breakfast.
Very close to the city centre & amenties
defenetly i would recomand to anyone who is searching for a place to stay in Scarborough and and glady i would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Wonderfully friendly hosts who really made you feel welcome and 'at home'. Rooms were comfortable (although on the small side) and clean. Great, filling breakfast with plenty of choice. Add in free wifi and the price to give tremendous value. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mad4fev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We were looking for a cheap 2 night stay in the Scarborough area and found the Lyness to be perfectly fine. yes it is quite small and the stairs are quite steep and narrow but the rooms are very clean and nicely presented. Not the largest rooms we have stayed in but have found many more upmarket hotels with similar sized rooms and some not as nicely furnished. Breakfast was great with lots of options and plenty of food.
Overall great for a quick break without spending too much money.
PC

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We recently wanted a cheap getaway near the seaside and booked to stay at the Lyness B&B. When we arrived, the outside of the buildng didn't do the inside justice. When we got inside we found a very clean and small but comfortable room with friendly service and a nice breakfast. In the quieter part of Scrborough near the park and the beach we'd recommend this to anyone. Excellent value for money, 5 minutes walk from Peasolme Park and the North Bay, ten minute walk to the centre of town and South Bay. Would definitely return. Booked primarily because of reasonable price and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carham6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.9 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,259 reviews
1.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
5.8 km away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
42 reviews
7.4 km away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
0.5 km away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyness Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyness Guest House

Address: 145 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 3,768 - ₹ 4,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyness Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lyness is a family run 3-Star Guest House set in a prime location in the historic seaside town of Scarborough. Near to Peasholm Park, the North Bay and only a 10 minute stroll from the Town Centre and the Train Station. Lyness is the ideal place to stay whether on holiday, a short break or on business. Clean fresh en-suite rooms with TV, tea and coffee making facilities, free Wi-Fi and free parking. Traditional English breakfast is served daily from 08:30 and we also offer a range of alternatives for a lighter start to the day including porridge, scrambled or poached egg on toast, plain or cheese Omelette or how about pancakes with Golden Syrup! We also offer a selection of Specialist Teas as well as Fresh Filter Coffee and Hot Chocolate. From Scarborough train station follow the signs for the North Bay. Continue onto Columbus Ravine and the Lyness is situated on the right hand side. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing