We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
112
38
6
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
38
6
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth bayfull englishprivate car parkmassive bonusnew ownerssea viewrutland terracejam and marmaladefresh milklocally sourced foodking roomcooked optionsrooms are largeprevious ownersnice showerguest loungeguest house
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Me and my husband Stayed here with our 18month old daughter in august for a 3 night stay. We had a great stay, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. On arrival we were greeted in the car park and mike helped carry our bags in, which was a huge help with the little one. We were shown to our room which was very spacious ( plenty of room even after we put the travel cot up) with a super king size bed and a lovely en suite. We met donna and the rest of the family later on where we found out they had only taken over the hotel 10 days before we got there, but it felt like they had always been there. They made us feel so welcome and it really was a fantastic place to stay. The breakfast was delicious. We are looking forward to returning next year and we would highly reccomend phoenix court to everyone.
Thanks so much to mike and donna and the rest of the family for making us feel so welcome

Room Tip: For a beach veiw ask to be on the front of the property, you wont be disappointed
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mrswakefield2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMME2017, Owner at Phoenix Court, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thanks for your amazing review - it was lovely to have you and little Lottie to stay. Hopefully we will see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

I returned to the Phoenix this year and found it to be under new management and very good too. I thoroughly enjoyed my long weekend here. The staff led by Mike & Donna are excellent. The rooms airy and very clean. Will be back next year folks. Exclusive car park.

Room Tip: on top of north bay cliffs, beach/sea in view and steep walk down on diagonal pathways to promenade. lovely
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuttonScouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMME2017, Owner at Phoenix Court, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Many Thanks
We look forward to seeign you again next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Sometimes you come across something that you really want to keep a secret because it meets your needs exactly and to tell others’ about it would spoil that. On the other hand to open up your secret to other people will allow it to prosper and succeed and be there for a long time into the future. So here’s my secret Scarborough gem revealed. The Phoenix Court. For me it hits the spot precisely. The guest houses on the North Bay have spectacular views but most suffer from parking problems. Not the Phoenix Hotel, it has its own adjoining car park for the exclusive use of its guests. It was great to be able to arrive and park with ease! Booking by phone was effortless. Everything was very organised, efficient and very friendly. We had a room with a sea view that was superb. The room was spotless and appointed in the manner of a swish hotel. We had arranged to take our cycles with us and the owners were extremely accommodating. They stored the bikes safely in the basement and brought them out when required. They even wheeled them round to the door for us!! Breakfast was traditional and very good. The sort of meal you need at the seaside to keep you going well into the day, especially if you are cycling! The hotel’s public areas are in need of some updating but the owners are already beginning a program of works to address this and modernise the facilities. We had a super stay at the Phoenix Court and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is thinking of spending some time in the FAB town of Scarborough.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are fantastic.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnA7318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMME2017, Owner at Phoenix Court, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Wow - what a review! Can't thank you enough for taking the time to write this. We loved having your here and hope you come back again soon
Donna & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We have used the Phoenix court, Rutland terrace for over 10 years now and it has always delivered, clean comfortable and good food but now having been taken over by Donna and Mike and family the hotel has been elevated to another level, it's now got personality, fun and atmosphere, not to mention arguably the best breakfast ever (no disrespect intended to previous owners) we had a great stay and wouldn't consider anywhere else when visiting Scarborough...thanks you lot see you soon.
Regards mac the Sheffield crew.

Room Tip: All rooms are good especially sea views
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMME2017, Owner at Phoenix Court, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thanks Mac and fellow Golfing Buddies! We loved having you to stay and can't wait for you all to return next year
Donna & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Stayed at this B&B for the first time over the bank holiday weekend. The new owners gave us all a warm welcome on arrival. I note previous reviews mention the place is in need of re-decoration which I can see but would say room wise, these are simply decorated, very clean and very spacious. For us this was a real plus as we had our 2 year old with us, so he had plenty of space to run round.

If you are lucky enough to have a sea view room, the view is fantastic, lovely to sit having a cup of tea, looking out across the sea. Don't worry if you don't get a sea view, as there are plenty of benches across the road to take in the views.

The place itself benefits from a car park, which in Scarborough is essential! Even better is the B&B’s location, looking over North Bay beach, a stone throw away from the Castle and only 10 min walk to the main front at Scarborough.

Breakfast was good too, everything you would expect, eggs in particular were very nice. The ladies who looked after us were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, even let me swap around some of the breakfast items on my full english.

All in all we had a great stay, I would also mention there is free WIFI and the accommodation is a very good price too!

Hope we get to visit again.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a sea view room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank West1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMME2017, Owner at Phoenix Court, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for your excellent review - it was lovely to have your family here and hope you all visit again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews