We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
152
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
152
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshortbread biscuitstheir utmost to makecooked breakfasts areperfect hostsminute walk to the seafrontquaint seaside townsea fronta lovely stayguest housea real home from homeselection of cerealshome comfortsb bsrooms are lovelycomfortable bedsdonkey weekfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017

What a fabulous stay we had at Canterbury House ,the breakfast was perfection in every way ,I would even say it's probably the best breakfast we have had in a b&b . The owners are a delight , nothing is too much trouble . We stayed on the top floor , the room was really nice , with absolutely every thing you would need , the bed was extremely comfortable with crisp white sheets and a lovely ensuit, and I must say every where was absolutely spotlessly clean .A great place to stay , it took about 5 minutes to walk into the town , lots of nice eating places in sidmouth great little town , hopefully go again next year.

Room Tip: Lovely room on top floor very spacious.
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HappyTripper2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc-and-Jan, Owner at Canterbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Mary, Chris & Stella,
Such a wonderful review of Canterbury House, thank you so much. Looking after you all was the easiest thing in the world, such a pleasure, you are all so positive, generous and kind! Counting the days until you phone and say "can we come again...!".
Thanks once again thanks very much for choosing Canterbury House,
With our best wishes,
Marc & Jan x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here just 1 night on our way to Cornwall immaculate room everything you would need,great advice on places to eat.Breakfast was hot full British good quality and plenty of it thank you for a relaxed stay

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc-and-Jan, Owner at Canterbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Sue & Andy,
Thanks very much for your great review. It was lovely to meet you both and we do hope you have a super time down in St Ives. Best wishes, Marc & Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Our first visit to Canterbury House and it really lived up to the glowing reviews. We stayed in Room 1, a twin room on the ground floor at the front which was a decent size with a well equipped en-suite shower room. The shower was easy to operate and some toiletries were provided. The whole place was very clean and homely. Everything was provided with thoughtful extras which are sadly lacking in some establishments . The breakfast room is bright and well laid out with separate tables. The cooked breakfasts are delicious and vegetarians catered for. Jan's granola cups are not to be missed. Parking is a little tight but Marc asks that car keys are left in your room if you go out and he willingly moves cars as necessary. Canterbury House is in a very convenient location being a flat, 10 minute walk to the seafront. The free hopper bus (summer months) passes by the door and takes you to the Donkey Sanctuary, which is a very enjoyable day out. We booked an extra night whilst we were there and would thoroughly recommend this B&B. Jan and Marc really put you at ease, are friendly but not intrusive, and genuinely funny people with a good sense of humour. We would certainly love to return.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a twin-bedded room on the ground floor at the front with a good en-suite shower room.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank msdevonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc-and-Jan, Owner at Canterbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Rosemary & Christine,
Thank you both so much for this wonderful review of Canterbury House, it really is very kind and generous and of course much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here, we certainly enjoyed your company and talking about good old London! We hope to see you again on a future visit. With our best wishes, Marc & Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We spent 4 wonderful days at Canterbury Guest House. We were given a very warm welcome by Jan and Marc who had very kindly accommodated us at short notice. Our rooms on the 2nd floor were extremely comfortable, clean, airy and had everything we needed .The dining room was bright, airy and very welcoming. We had a superb breakfast and there was a choice of fresh fruit, yummy homemade granola pots, cereals, fruit juices and a super full English breakfast with as much tea, coffee and toast as we needed. Jan and Marc were always on hand to help and we often enjoyed a friendly chat. All in all a great place to stay and value for money. Would definitely go again and would thoroughly recommend a stay at this lovely B & B.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaryChrisStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc-and-Jan, Owner at Canterbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Mary, Chris & Stella,
What can we say, if there were a Trip Advisor for guests you'd have six stars!! What a pleasure to meet you all it was for us. Thanks very much for your fantastic Trip Advisor review of Canterbury House, but as we've said, it should be the other way round! We do hope to see you all again very soon. With our thanks and best wishes, Marc & Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

If you're planning to visit this beautiful,old English town,then Canterbury House is the only place to stay.Every consideration is unconditionally catered for.If there is a better guest house,anywhere,I would be very surprised.Thank you again,Marc and Jan.Hopefully,we'll see you before Christmas.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank len g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc-and-Jan, Owner at Canterbury House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Len,
There you again, with an absolutely wonderful Trip Advisor review, thank you so very much!! Your stay was brief, but always a pleasure to see you and to catch up. Until your next visit, stay well and hope the pillows take off! With our best wishes, Marc & Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews