We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Victoria Hotel(Sidmouth)
US$ 337
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Sidmouth)
US$ 158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dukes(Sidmouth)
US$ 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elizabeth(Sidmouth)
US$ 224
US$ 186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Barn and Pinn Cottage(Sidmouth)(Great Value!)
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riviera(Sidmouth)
US$ 393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
189
59
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
59
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel groundsgeorgian houseminute strollset in lovely groundspublic parksea frontlarge groundstraditional valuescheese and biscuitshotel offerswet roomquality and quantityfive nightsplenty of choicetraditional hotelfirst floorboth breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

This is a country house hotel with a variety of rooms. We have stayed here for a decade or more, during Sidmouth Folkweek. The staff are great, friendly and efficient - we are treated as treasured guests. The breakfast is ample and well prepared, and you can personalize it to your liking (seriously - I had a friend who ordered a 3 1/2 minute boiled egg and got it). There is a flower garden and fruit orchard, and a number of exotic trees scattered about the large grounds, with many places to sit and read. The common rooms have lots of soft chairs and sofas, and there is a small bar. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the high street. Our beds were comfy and firm, there is ample storage, decent free wifi, and the bathroom has lots of hot water, good pressure, and heated towel racks. We love the Hunter's Moon.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens are probably quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candyschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

My room was very nice, clean, airy, comfy bed, great shower. My third visit with friends who have visited for years, the staff are helpful and so friendly, food is superb. A wonderful family run hotel I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ShirleyNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

No highways in this part of the world, but finding and staying at the Hunters Moon is certainly worth the effort. It is family owned and run and this realy shows. The service is five star. Our room was large, comfortable and well equipped. There was no noise from anywhere (inside or outside the hotel) that disturbed us. The restaurant's menu was limited but we had dinner there on both evenings of our stay and the food selections presented were excellent in both quality and quantity. The offerings on the wine list were well selected and we enjoyed Rioja Reservas at reasonable prices. The restaurant is used by locals and others not staying at the hotel, but overnight guests can choose to include dinner when making their resrvations, at a considerably reduced price - an option that I strongly recommend taking advantage of. The hotel is set in well maintained gardens with some spectacular trees. The Sid River runs along the edge of the property and makes available to guests walks to the town, beach or footpaths in the locale. A thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Stayed here for weekend in late July 2017 with my wife and dog. What a wonderful stylish hotel. The service was fantastic as all staff made a fuss of our dog and made us feel really welcome. They are a credit to the hotel.

Our room (no.30) was large and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was of good size and shower was excellent (not like some hotels we have stayed at !). The hotel grounds were great for the dog to run around on whilst we had tea & coffee in the gardens.

The Hunters Moon Hotel, with free parking, is situated about 10 minutes from the coast and town, passing a wonderful old pub The Swan Inn which really is worth a visit or two !

Would we stay here again ? You bet we would !

Room Tip: Room # 30 has good access to gardens for the dog
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We had a very nice room well equipped and clean. All the staff very friendly and helpful.
We like the Georgian Hotel and the well maintained lovely gardens are joining the park, with a short walk to the promanarde.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marionlewis900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews