We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and friendly helpful staff.”
Review of Hunters Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hunters Moon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2017

A short one night stay to visit a grandparent. Wish it had been longer. Wonderful double bed, good facilities in the room. Everything finished to a high standard and felt very comfy. The breakfast service was excellent, catering to awkward dietary requirements was no hassle for them! And I was made to feel very welcome.

The only bizarre thing to change was the loo roll holder which was positioned behind the right shoulder when on the loo! Other than that - very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Autumnphyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Hunters Moon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

This is a country house hotel with a variety of rooms. We have stayed here for a decade or more, during Sidmouth Folkweek. The staff are great, friendly and efficient - we are treated as treasured guests. The breakfast is ample and well prepared, and you can personalize it to your liking (seriously - I had a friend who ordered a 3 1/2 minute boiled egg and got it). There is a flower garden and fruit orchard, and a number of exotic trees scattered about the large grounds, with many places to sit and read. The common rooms have lots of soft chairs and sofas, and there is a small bar. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the high street. Our beds were comfy and firm, there is ample storage, decent free wifi, and the bathroom has lots of hot water, good pressure, and heated towel racks. We love the Hunter's Moon.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens are probably quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candyschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

My room was very nice, clean, airy, comfy bed, great shower. My third visit with friends who have visited for years, the staff are helpful and so friendly, food is superb. A wonderful family run hotel I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ShirleyNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

No highways in this part of the world, but finding and staying at the Hunters Moon is certainly worth the effort. It is family owned and run and this realy shows. The service is five star. Our room was large, comfortable and well equipped. There was no noise from anywhere (inside or outside the hotel) that disturbed us. The restaurant's menu was limited but we had dinner there on both evenings of our stay and the food selections presented were excellent in both quality and quantity. The offerings on the wine list were well selected and we enjoyed Rioja Reservas at reasonable prices. The restaurant is used by locals and others not staying at the hotel, but overnight guests can choose to include dinner when making their resrvations, at a considerably reduced price - an option that I strongly recommend taking advantage of. The hotel is set in well maintained gardens with some spectacular trees. The Sid River runs along the edge of the property and makes available to guests walks to the town, beach or footpaths in the locale. A thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Stayed here for weekend in late July 2017 with my wife and dog. What a wonderful stylish hotel. The service was fantastic as all staff made a fuss of our dog and made us feel really welcome. They are a credit to the hotel.

Our room (no.30) was large and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was of good size and shower was excellent (not like some hotels we have stayed at !). The hotel grounds were great for the dog to run around on whilst we had tea & coffee in the gardens.

The Hunters Moon Hotel, with free parking, is situated about 10 minutes from the coast and town, passing a wonderful old pub The Swan Inn which really is worth a visit or two !

Would we stay here again ? You bet we would !

Room Tip: Room # 30 has good access to gardens for the dog
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.7 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
464 reviews
1.2 km away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
1.1 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
547 reviews
0.8 km away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 km away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#11 of 13 in Sidmouth
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Moon Hotel

Address: Hunters Moon Hotel Sid Road, Sidmouth EX10 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Price Range: ₹ 10,354 - ₹ 11,050 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hunters Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing