We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Place!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom
Kitchen diner Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Double bedroom
Kitchen diner
Lounge
Lounge
Twin bedroom
Attic Double bedroom
Bathroom
Utility room
Boot room
Outside. Apartment door is on the right
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Heather H
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place!!!!”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have been touring Scotland for the past 2 weeks, staying at several self-catering & B&B locales....This has been utterly the best place so far! Elizabeth greeted us at the front door and gave us a tour of the accommodations. We asked many questions about the area so that we can hit the highlights since we will only be here for 2 nights. She gave great informative guides! There is absolutely NOTHING that you will need that is not already provided for here! Spacious and cozy! Warm and inviting! I cannot say enough to express how pleased we are with this selection!!!! We hope to return again!!! Thank you for your generous hospitality!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
That's so so kind of you to give me this great review. I try my hardest to please re the accommodation and what I provide as well as thinking of local places and areas that may be of interest. There's nothing worse than being in a different place and being cold hence I like to keep the apartment warm cosy for guests.
Please come again and see more of this beautiful part of Scotland.

Kind regards

Elizabeth Wilson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Easter in Ballater”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We'd been looking forward to our 2nd visit to Duneire and it didn't disappoint ! Warm welcome from the owners, homemade preserves and great shortbread biscuits awaited us, the house was spotless and just as homely as we'd remembered it. While we did eat out at the Lochnagar Indian Restaraunt one night (worth a visit by the way) this time we decided to cook for ourselves a couple of times. The kitchen has a new cooker and everything else you could ever need.... No need to bring anything from home! A visit to the local butcher (now reopened after the floods) and we returned with some great steaks. So, if your thinking of a visit to the highlands, Ballater is open for business and Duneire is like a home from home....... Book it and you won't be disappointed !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thanks for this Chris and so pleased you enjoyed your second visit. Look forward to seeing you again later in the year. Ballater is open for business!

Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin732...
Bethlehem, South Africa
2 reviews
“Best place in Scotland!”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This is surely the best place in Scotland. We arrived there in mid winter, in December rain, but were warmly welcomed by Elizabeth. The place is very comfortably heated, and very well equipped. The kitchen has everything you may need. The beds are comfortable. There are even hot water bottles. My kids loved the upstairs loft room with a view over the snowy mountains.

The village of Ballater is a beautiful little village, and well worth visiting. We loved exploring this little part of the highlands.

Besides the accommodation and the village, our hosts Elizabeth and Colin were very kind and accommodating. In short it''s a wonderful comfortable place in a beautiful village run by a lovely couple. If there is anything better in Scotland, I'll bet it costs millions to stay there.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2016
Thanks so much for your review - always good to know our guests have had a great stay. You certainly left at the right time as on 30th, half of Ballater, from the church on the green down to the river Dee was devastated by a flood! I couldn't get home from Aberdeen - had to turn back at Cambus O'May and stay over We were so fortunate not to be affected though the next street down was. Miraculously the Co-op store was able to open on Jan 1st! There's lots of footage on You Tube! The village will take a long time to recover but thanks to the local community pulling together it will. We're still open fro business!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jobells
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a great property, the owners have thought of everything. It's very well equipped and spacious, loved the large dining kitchen. Would be great for anyone cycling or golfing as there is a very large room on street level for storage. It's right in the centre of Ballater so ideal for restaurants, shops and pubs, however far enough away from the main square to not be noisy at closing time! I'd definitely recommend this property to friends and colleagues and look forward to staying here on my next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Sorry for the delay in replying - Trip Advisor has a new system which I'm still fathoming re accessing my reviews! So glad you enjoyed your stay - do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amateur_n...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcoming and comfortable”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Pleasant accommodation, roomy, with attractive views, and very generously equipped. A good base for exploring the southern Cairngorms.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Sorry for the delay in replying - Trip Advisor has a new system which I'm still fathoming re accessing my reviews! So glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the scenery .. and of course the trees!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing