We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage, had everything you could need...”
other travellers have booked this property
Terraced cottage, street view. Enclosed garden to rear.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terraced cottage, street view. Enclosed garden to rear.
Open plan dining room, kitchen and living room. Dining room with patio doors which open fully to large outdoor sitting area. great for barbecues.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Terraced cottage, street view. Enclosed garden to rear.
Open plan dining room, kitchen and living room.
Dining room with patio doors which open fully to large outdoor sitting area. great for barbecues.
Open plan sitting room. Leather sofas, wood burning fire. LED TV. Wifi.
Open plan sitting room.
Twin room upstairs with stunning views of Ballater and beyond.
Downstairs bedroom with king sized bed. Ensuite bathroom, mirrored wardrobes.
Bedroom upstairs with double bed. Views to Ballater and beyond.
View from dining room. Patio doors open to large enclosed garden. Mainly lawn.
Al fresco dining for six. Barbecue available. Shed for storing bikes. Completely enclosed.
The kitchen. Double oven & hob. Fridge, freezer, microwave, dishwasher. All mod cons.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clair S
1 review
“Excellent cottage, had everything you could need. Great wood burner for those chillier Scottish evenings!”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for a week at the end of May. This cottage was a great base, had all you could need. Exceptionally clean and lovely homely feel. We would definitely come back. Ballater has lots of good places to eat out all within walking distance of the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. We do our best to ensure our guests feel at home when they stay at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela C
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Very Happy Hogmanay”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed in the cottage the week after Christmas for Hogmanay. The cottage is lovely and very well looked after. Although situated just off the village square it was very peaceful and yet handy for the local shops and nearby walks.

The open plan lounge/dining room/kitchen was ideal for our group. We loved the wood burning stove and there was a plentiful supply of wood on the wood pile in the back garden. A lovely way to spend the last week of the year - long walks followed by a glass of whisky by the fire. Happy 2015!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burning stove and the power shower.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim2207
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Care and flair: I love it”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a wonderful cottage – so much so that I hesitate to recommend it in case it's booked up next time I want it! It's ideally placed near the centre of town, and many lovely walks are possible from the front door. The layout and furnishings are tasteful and very comfortable, and it contains everything you could need in the way of utensils. It was warm even without using the wood-burning stove, and the bedrooms and bathrooms are well-nigh perfect. It also has a spacious garden and one of the most impressive wood piles I've seen. The house itself has a relaxing feel to it: someone has put a lot of care and flair into creating it. I love it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of it.
Liked least: The bathroom door handle - and I'm really struggling here.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosker
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have holidayed in wonderful Ballater for over 20 years and this has been by far the most comfortable and nicest house we have rented. The owners have put an enormous amount of thought into the detail and we greatly appreciated it. The house is right in the centre – about three doors away from the bakers, closer still to the Chinese takeaway and across the road from an Indian restaurant. This is a quiet place and we were never bothered by any noise despite the central location. Very well maintained back garden and seating area although we were unfortunate with the weather and did not have an opportunity to enjoy sitting out. By contrast we enjoyed the log fire on a couple of cool evenings. The downstairs spacious master bedroom ensuite was exactly what my ageing parents required for their mobility restrictions. Parking right outside the front door.

We highly recommend this property as excellent value for money in comparison to our previous rentals and would definitely return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieRic...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Met all expectations and more”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

In our time we have stayed in a lot of similar cottages and this one rates very highly. It is very well kitted out (and even has a waste disposal). Lovely Scotland feel and cosy with a log burner. I have never seen such a well organised outhouse. Lots of space. Great garden. The location is fab. We have family in village so would love to come back .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to the cottage and to Ballater.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing