We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Sharnbrook Hotel(Sharnbrook)(Great Value!)
US$ 103
US$ 83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 96
US$ 89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Bedford(Bedford)(Great Value!)
US$ 74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 101
US$ 91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Knife & Cleaver(Houghton Conquest)
US$ 126
US$ 123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodland Manor Hotel(Clapham)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
20
12
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
12
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We plumped for the Castle Inn as it was central, seemed reasonably priced and had decent reviews on Trip Advisor. The rooms are nice enough (if a little bland) and it’s surprisingly quiet for its location. It’s not the Ritz but for a pub with rooms it’s great.

A very pleasant couple had just recently taken over the running of the Castle when we stayed and they told us they are going to upgrade the accommodation (decoration, linen etc) so the place is likely to get even better. With that in mind we shall definitely return next time we’re in Bedford.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puffpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Occupied two rooms over four nights in total. Rooms we used were clean and comfortable with new bathroom fittings, comfortable beds, tea and coffee, clock radio, cupboard space and a few toiletries/facecloth supplied. Clean towels every day. There are five rooms in total, three doubles (one on ground floor with wetroom), one twin and a family room. (We had a quick look around as the rooms are left open to air once people have checked out!) Pub staff were very helpful and were keen to ensure we had a good stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was solid English breakfast. We ate in the pub one night and the food seemed genuinely home-cooked, although pretty standard fair.

Only two small negatives - the bar area is tired and needs an update (new carpet etc) although this is not reflected in the condition of the accommodation behind, which has obviously been revamped in the last year or two. The other niggle - we stayed in a downstairs room and would have appreciated net curtains as well as proper curtains for a bit more privacy as we felt a bit 'on show' and needed to draw the curtains to dress.

Considering it's very central location (literally 5 mins walk to the main shopping/eating area) it was very quiet. For the cost, it was very good value, particularly when compared to our other friends who paid significantly more for not much extra in the Swan.

Room Tip: Ask for one upstairs (two doubles and a family room upstairs) for a little more privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank animate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Lovely food, fab bar staff, nice food, beer and wine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannahlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Having just spent 2 nights in this lovely accommodation, it was just what we were looking for.
Central location, just a short walk to both the town centre and river. The owners have a little gem and the staff are a credit to them. The food in the bar is excellent and offers a wide range of choice at reasonable prices. The chef on Sunday morning was most helpful and cheerful, nothing was too much trouble. Look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeJulie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My wife and I stopped here for one night during a recent business trip to Bedford.
Couldn't have been made more welcome by both the management and staff and also the locals that frequent the "Olde Worlde" style bar.
Our recently decorated room was spacious and very clean with good en-suite facilities and a comfortable bed.
Food which was well above average for "pub grub" was well presented and prepared and very good value for money. Breakfast was what a traditional "Full english" should be.
Food is eaten in the bar area but effort was made to seat us in a quieter location for our meal.
Bar itself is rather tired in decor and furnishings but with a very pleasant relaxed atmosphere which somehow helps negate any concerns that this might normally raise and we enjoyed a very pleasant evening drink and meal.
For a convenient to the town centre, good value for money welcoming short term stopover this place is ideal.
We shall definately stop again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesonDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews