We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere ”
Review of The Embankment

The Embankment
Reserve with OpenTable
The Embankment is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 444 Restaurants in Bedford
Price range: US$ 39 - US$ 39
Cuisines: European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The Embankment has been a Peach Pub since 2008 since when it has become one of the premier spots in the heart of Bedford. The clue to our location is in the name! Bedford’s beautifully-landscaped Embankment has wonderful views out over the River Great Ouse, the boathouses and all the hustle and bustle of life on the river. The Embankment Hotel was built in 1891 and we renovated it to reflect its late-Victorian heyday, but with all the modern comforts & facilities of a great pub. The atmosphere is relaxed and hospitable. There is no stuffy hotel lobby or residents’ lounge, just a team of friendly faces to look after you.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely breakfast. Great food. Friendly service. Lovely location near the river. Five minute walk from town centre. Worth a visit.

Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma M, Manager at The Embankment, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

HI Elaine B

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review of us. We are over the moon and I will be sure to share your comments with all of the team

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a very good lunch with some slighltly unusual dishes. Glad to see whole sole was on the menu, cooked really well. I haven't seen a pig cheeks starter before, it was very tender and the accompanying beetroot smear very tasty. The dessert menu focused more on cheese and drinks, along with a selection of sweet desserts, which was good since I'd usually go for the cheese option.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma M, General Manager at The Embankment, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

HI Roy H

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review in regards to your recent visit to The Embankment. I will be sure to pass the comments onto our Kitchen team as I am sure they will be delighted. Thanks again and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night over the Easter weekend. We were impressed by the stylish bedroom complete with copper roll-topped bath, gorgeous toiletries, a huge bed and river-views. There was some road noise and noise from the popular pub below (huge selection of gins, by the way) but this was to be expected. What was not expected, however was the plastic mattress protector, which was uncomfortable and made the bed terribly hot, or the hair extension which had been left in a drawer by a previous occupant of the room. The hotel was very clean in every other respect. The breakfast was good and offered a range of options, including a vegan option.

Thank teamabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma M, General Manager at The Embankment, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

HI Teamabbo

Many thanks for your lovely review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Embankment. We really do appreciate all feedback, good and bad, as it helps us to improve and maintain our standards.

I will be sure to speak with our housekeeping team and I will also be sure to look into the quality of the mattress protector especially as we approach summer.

Thank you so much for this very valid feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Embankment the next time you are visiting Bedford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One night stop at this hotel in the pouring rain! A lovely spacious and airy room with a fantastic view of the river Ouze opposite.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the pub has a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Sadly the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. The fied eggs were both hard, The so called local suasage was awful and tasted more like black pudding and the coffee was rather poor.

Nevertheless it was a nice stay and we would certainly go there again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tonylundberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma M, General Manager at The Embankment, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

HI tonylundberg

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a very valid review of the Embankment. We really do appreciate all feedback here at The Embankment, good or bad, as it helps us to improve and maintain our standards.

I am so very sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and I will be sure to look into the quality of the sausages and our Coffee. We pride ourselves with serving the 'good stuff' here at the Embankment. Our Butcher is the award winning Aubrey Allen and we supply our coffee from Union who are a fantastic fair trade company who score over 84 on the SCAA international scale.

We are delighted that this will not deter your from future visits and please make yourself known to me when you are next in as I would be delighted to get your breakfast and coffee on us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

I took my son here for Sunday lunch. The restaurant was packed, the food was excellent, as was the service. The bar staff, whilst rushed off their feet were attentive, and nothing was too much trouble. We both had the roast beef which was served pink - delicious! Thoroughly recommend paying a visit

Thank Sooozie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma M, General Manager at The Embankment, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

HI Sooozie3

Thank you so much for the taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are all over the moon that you enjoyed your Lunch and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Embankment also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Embankment? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing