We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charlie Brown's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 40 Colchester B&B and Inns
Grantham
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Great b&b, excellent location easy walking distance into town, the rooms are really nice with all you could need, good value too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GIS055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Absolutely fantastic, Jane & Jonathan were charming and their hospitality second to none.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suesteve101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here this week with our family of 4 and it was just what we were looking for. Relatively central, very comfortable room and a cracking breakfast served by the friendly Jane.

We had the four poster with ensuite which would normally be a very snug, cosy and romantic room, however Jonathan had (at our request) put in two very sturdy and comfortable temprorary beds for the kids.

We had just the right amount of room for our comings and goings and had a few great nights' sleep.

If you're staying in Colchester Charlie Brown's represents great value for the comfort and welcome provided.

Room Tip: We had the four poster....it was perfectly sized for a (young) family of four...although if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShornConnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We were welcomed into the charlie browns warmly by Jane, even though we arrived a couple of hours after our check in time. We were also greeted by the couples dogs, which was nice. The four poster room is beautifully decorated, matching the low ceilings and dark wooden beams, whilst still looking modern and homely. The carpet hurt my feet when I wasn't wearing shoes. And the Hot Chocolate powder drink in our room was nearly empty. They didn't provide shampoo, but managed to provide a huge range of mens moisturiser, maybe four types.

The B&B is located about a 15 minute walk from the town centre, castle and the park.

Breakfast was nice, Jane made us a full english Breakfast in the morning, which was served in the lovely breakfast room, looking outwards onto the garden.

The only complaint i would have is that the latest check-out time is 10:30am which is a bit early as we aren't exactly morning people. They didn't take cards for payment.

Room Tip: The green room looks too olive green for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemmaestri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed at Charlie Browns for 3 nights last week, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and it's very rare you can say that about a hotel or B&B stay!

I stayed in the four poster room, it was fantastic, everything you could wish for or need was available. The decor is very impressive, it's the little touches which make it feel like home.

I stayed over for business, free wi-fi was very convenient. The breakfasts were first class, plenty of choice and a high quality.

If you are thinking of staying in a B&B in Colchester I would certainly recommend Charlie Brown's without a doubt!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
1.1 km away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 23 in Colchester
382 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
161 reviews
1.4 km away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#7 of 23 in Colchester
125 reviews
1.6 km away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#21 of 23 in Colchester
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlie Brown's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlie Brown's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Charlie Brown's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 60 East Street, Colchester CO1 2TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Charlie Brown`s Bed And Breakfast
Charlie Brown`s Hotel Colchester
Charlie Brown's Bed & Breakfast Colchester, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing