We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull & Swan(Stamford)
US$ 204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal Oak Hotel(Stamford)
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green Man(Stamford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Gwynne House(Stamford)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
292
196
83
35
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
196
83
35
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb shank piesuperior double roomsecure car parkceiling fanmain buildingbeer gardenfamily roomcentral locationfree standing bathcentre of townfour poster bedlovely hotelthe pubcharming townsunday lunchbreakfast was excellentlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017

As frequent visitors to Stamford we like to spread our largesse among the many good hotels. Visiting The Crown for the first time was another pleasant experience of the old world charm that seems to be a given in this beautiful town. We were made to feel very welcome by a team that obviously understands the term 'customer service'. The hotel sits at the centre of town behind one of the many imposing churches and there is a decent car park at the rear. Money has been spent on the outside patio area - can't wait to return in summer to fully appreciate it and our room was clean, well appointed with comfortable bed and pillows and toiletries.
Apart from the breakfast, which was perfectly cooked with fresh local produce and friendly service, we did not eat here but plenty of others were enjoying the food in the busy bar area. The only downside was the early morning building work on the hotels' new bar just across the road - we were just unlucky as the bar opens within the month so work will be finished by then.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tripkit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Lovely old building, very friendly helpful and cheerful staff. Room no. 9 was clean and comfortable, although a bit too warm, had to open the window in early November! Can be a bit noisy from the kitchen below, but it stopped at 10pm. Shower very good and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, very good range of choices and perfectly cooked. I can recommend the poached eggs, spinach and field mushroom on muffin - delicious! Fresh fruit and yoghurt, croissants, toast, cereals available. We had dinner there on our 3rd evening - again beautifully cooked haddock and chips. We went to their sister pub, Tobie Norris, on our 2nd night, highly recommended. Parking at The Crown is free, but on a first come basis and is quite tight! All in all a great short break, would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 9 was comfortable, a bit warm for me, had to open window. Bit noisy during evening from kitchen below, OK by 10pm.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is right in the heart of Stamford with free parking. Building is beautiful old stone building - inside funky & updated. Our room, number 10 was comfortable & functional. There was a fan in the room - for some reason the room was very hot. We needed both fan on & window open.
Room is small but has wardrobe space, bathroom as well is small but adequate. Very clean room - nice touch - fresh milk in fridge on each landing. Loved the Grandfather clocks.
Pub/restaurant is very busy but staff cope admirably. We ate lunch in the lounge & there is a lovely buzz all around. Very pretty outside patio - lovely hanging baskets & pea lights in the trees.
Breakfast had all the usual buffet choices & hot freshly cooked on offer as well.
As it is also open to non-residents when we returned late afternoon had to ask to sit in the restaurant to enjoy G&T.
In the evening again had to lurk to get a seat in bar area & were aware of others doing the same.
Stamford itself has a wealth of restaurants & shops - nice to see individual ones. It’s a great location - proximity to Burghley House is another attraction.
A very pleasant stay - would love to see illuminated for Christmas.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank ET05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We stayed here for our Anniversary, and it was wonderful! The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was spacious, and CLEAN!!! The food was delicious. Located in a quaint medieval town, where you can take a step back and relax. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Visited hotel and stayed overnight last weekend. Hotel very clean and a good location. Room for a superior seemed a little small but adequate. Room was extremely hot even with window open. Bathroom and particularly shower - good. Breakfast was fantastic. The real downside of this hotel is the free parking on site, this is not open JUST to residents that I feel would solve the problem for double parking and being extremely overcrowded. Would I stay again - yes but would think twice about parking the car within the hotel site.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Linda070311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews