We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
288
195
81
34
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
195
81
34
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb shank pie superior double room secure car park ceiling fan main building beer garden central location family room centre of town free standing bath four poster bed lovely hotel the pub charming town sunday lunch fresh milk breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is right in the heart of Stamford with free parking. Building is beautiful old stone building - inside funky & updated. Our room, number 10 was comfortable & functional. There was a fan in the room - for some reason the room was very hot. We needed both fan on & window open.
Room is small but has wardrobe space, bathroom as well is small but adequate. Very clean room - nice touch - fresh milk in fridge on each landing. Loved the Grandfather clocks.
Pub/restaurant is very busy but staff cope admirably. We ate lunch in the lounge & there is a lovely buzz all around. Very pretty outside patio - lovely hanging baskets & pea lights in the trees.
Breakfast had all the usual buffet choices & hot freshly cooked on offer as well.
As it is also open to non-residents when we returned late afternoon had to ask to sit in the restaurant to enjoy G&T.
In the evening again had to lurk to get a seat in bar area & were aware of others doing the same.
Stamford itself has a wealth of restaurants & shops - nice to see individual ones. It’s a great location - proximity to Burghley House is another attraction.
A very pleasant stay - would love to see illuminated for Christmas.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank ET05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We stayed here for our Anniversary, and it was wonderful! The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was spacious, and CLEAN!!! The food was delicious. Located in a quaint medieval town, where you can take a step back and relax. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Visited hotel and stayed overnight last weekend. Hotel very clean and a good location. Room for a superior seemed a little small but adequate. Room was extremely hot even with window open. Bathroom and particularly shower - good. Breakfast was fantastic. The real downside of this hotel is the free parking on site, this is not open JUST to residents that I feel would solve the problem for double parking and being extremely overcrowded. Would I stay again - yes but would think twice about parking the car within the hotel site.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Linda070311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

I stay here fairly often for work. The rooms are all different and some are better than others. Some are not in the main building and you never know until you arrive where you will be.
Food is pretty good.
Bar is nice.
I like the fresh milk on the corridor for your tea!
Breakfast is excellent

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank GirlGuideHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Love this tucked away garden at the Crown hotel. Coffee was excellent and the cakes are delicious. Really reasonable prices too. Far nicer to sit here after shopping than one of the chains of coffee shops.
Really pretty too when the little fairy lights come on in the early evening .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank lincolnshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews