We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
An excellent place to visit and enjoy the history of Elizabethan architecture and the beautiful art and furniture.

A beautiful building which has been well preserved and maintained. The guides were friendly and... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Y788LHeileenm
Whole day out at Burghley

On the whole we had a wonderful day out. The house is well worth visiting since the architecture is... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Barbara R
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Read all 1,620 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stamford
from US$ 975.17
More Info
Reviews (1,620)
Filter reviews
1,620 results
Traveller rating
1,019
394
118
51
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,019
394
118
51
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sculpture garden orangery restaurant stately home amazing house annual pass well worth a visit audio tour william cecil lovely place to visit surprises paintings burghley picnic parkland contents lord actors
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,620 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent property and grounds, very impressive rooms. Definitely worth a visit if its on your way but the gardens with the sculptures were ok at best, and the house tour was a bit short.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank ioannisv459
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The guides in each room were friendly and welcoming with great knowledge of the history and artifacts in the room.
Sad there were not more rooms available to look at.
Limited selection in cafe but the staff were friendly and efficient

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Lots of rooms open, far more than at many National Trust properties we have been to. The painted walls in the rooms and Hell's Staircase are unbelievable, they are fantastic. The kitchen reminded us of the one we had seen at Hampton Court, very impressed. Treasury held some interesting artifacts. The variety and quality of the furniture and painting on the wall was amazing.

Burghley gardens

Lots to see for young and old, plenty of open space as well for enjoying the outside. The sculpture garden is well worth strolling around, try to get a map before you go in so you don't miss anything.
The garden of surprise's is just that, something new at every turn, lots of water features. Very easy to take too many photos here. There are toilets near the entrance and the Garden Cafe. We had a small quiche and a cup of tea each it cost £14.50, it was nice, service was good but prices are high.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank LesGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Better signage required. Long trek from the car; dreadful signage to cafe/ restaurant.
Long trek to queue for a drink and food. Over priced and appalling quality and choice of food in the cafe. No where near enough tables and absolutely no shade.

Too whacked after trekking about for food to even appreciate the house.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank jillhY5393PU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

We were staying in Hanthorpe and decided to visit Burghley House. We bought the tickets in advance on line which includes the garden and house. Due to diversions in Stamford we got lost and ended up on the A1! We eventually made our way back but drove past the entrance as not clearly sign posted from that direction and sign is over grown. We went to the advice centre to ask few questions and the young lady was very friendly and understanding. We looked at the gardens first. They are well kept and stunning. The garden of surprises is fun and involves lots of water, bubbles and must. Children I saw there loved it. The other gardens had various sculptures. As it was starting to rain we made our way to the house. We were booked for 12.30. The rooms are extremely ornate and beautiful. So much history too. One room is where Elizabeth l stayed and another Queen Victoria and Albert. There are plenty of rooms to see. We came to the heaven room where a guide was waiting called Rob. He was very welcoming and knowledgeable. He told us about Pride and predudice, The Crown and new Batman movie filmed there. Also about the room which was fascinating. He was a lovely man and a credit to the house. He clearly loves his job. After the tour we had a coffee and cake in the cafe. Also went to the gift shop which I bought an exquisite necklace for my wife. We really enjoyed our visit m the ticket enables you to visit as many times in a year so we will definitely be back. Thank you.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank tonyf496
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews