We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautifully presented afternoon tea.

We were treated to an afternoon tea at this local hotel. Its definately a place where ladies meet... read more

Reviewed 29 April 2018
conorb728
,
Napier, New Zealand
via mobile
Afternoon Tea

This was a celebration of a friends special birthday. We were greeted well on arrival. Following... read more

Reviewed 24 September 2017
josie444
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Read all 61 reviews
  
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
20
11
11
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
11
11
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews neck and shoulder massage spa team health and safety reasons relaxing spa day treatment rooms delicious afternoon tea negative comments lovely surroundings fifteen minutes bacon reception staff lovely hotel swimming pool full body massage sauna scrub breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This was a celebration of a friends special birthday. We were greeted well on arrival. Following the serving of the drinks, it went a downhill. The sandwiches were served on ordinary plates - not well presented. There was an un equal amount of them for two people - the third person had hers served separately - very strange. When we queried the amount of sandwiches and dared to ask for 2 more to make up the shortfall, the rather belligerent waitress all. It stamped her food and said no! We then got told it would be a charge of £4. To cut a long story short, we eventually got the sandwiches, without charge but were made to feel like liars.
No customer service in a hotel of this supposedly good reputation.
To be honest the sandwiches were bland and had the minutest amount of fillings. By the time the sweets arrived we were quite fed up. They too were lacking in flavour save for a couple of items. The scones were warm but rock hard and we were worried about our teeth.
Sorry to say this was a very expensive experience for what we had. We all said we have had better elsewhere.
Spoilt our birthday experiences and we wouldn't return. They need to train their staff too. One of the waitresses was very nice, a Mediterranean lady but the one who dealt with our complaint has put us off returning.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank josie444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I recently had the 'champagne spa day' here with me friend and thoroughly enjoyed our day out together.

The facilities are a little dated however these are due to be upgraded in the coming days.

The treatments were really good (we both opted for the mini facial and the back. neck and shoulder massage) would definitely recommend.

The weather was nice, so we had the opportunity to top up our tan on the outdoor loungers too.

The food was pleasant and the staff very polite.

Overall we had an enjoyable experience.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Suzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

4 friends catching up for overnight stay on a Saturday night.
Hotel is perfect. Staff so friendly and professional, couldn't do enough for us. Food was delicious. Spa treatments excellent. Grounds are so calm. All the little extras made it so personal. Will be back! Would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

2 night stay. Sat and Sunday, cannot eat in the restaurant as fully booked, never have I been a resident in a hotel and not been able to get a table

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Denthead1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Enjoyed our one night stay. With elderly parent, husband and child. Beautiful walks, food, restaurant on the small side, but grounds lovely so can eat out. Lovely rooms. Great spa and swim. Played a lot outside the spa on the loungers, ran around with little one. I like it when elegant hotels are good with young kids as we all need to relax and have a break!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank D1000KOpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews