We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We booked into this hotel in December 2011 to celebrate an important wedding anniversary and it was a major mistake.
The hotel is very attractive and it is situated in extensive grounds. Its medieval appearance is very attractive and evocative of other times.
The welcome we received from the reception was very good - we were expected and greeted warmly. We were helped to our room by a very accommodating porter. From here it was down hill ...
The room was one of the most expensive in the main building - as recommended by many on this site. It looked good, but it was cold. We asked for an additional heater and eventually got one. We also asked for an ice bucket and glasses and this took an hour after having to chase this a number of times.
Dinner in the main restaurant was OK, but not two rosette quality -just ordinary fare. A great disappointment. What really annoyed me was that I was ripped off by asking for a glass of dessert wine and then charged £15.
The following day breakfast was poor in the other restaurant and the service was appalling. I have noted similar poor breakfast service in other 'Hand picked' hotels. This needs to be sorted out by the leadership in this group.
My recommendation - go and look at it, photograph it, don't stay there, especially in the winter, don't order an ice bucket, don't eat in either restaurant, avoid.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    280
    128
    39
    36
See reviews for
208
559
22
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were part of a large wedding party and had the pleasure of staying for 2 nights - 20th & 21st January 2012.

From the moment we arrived we realised that this was a very well run establishment, where quality and service are second nature to the very well trained staff. Nothing is too much trouble.

Albert, who looked after our families wedding arrangements was superb throughout the wedding, from very early morning until late that evening and yet we suspect he will have officiated at a number of weddings over time. He never tires, always smiling, courteous and polite and he certainly knew how to make the bride and groom feel so special on their big day. If anyone out there is thinking of this hotel for a special occasion, then don't look any further than New Hall. Over the years we have attended weddings at other renowned hotels both here in the Uk and in the Caribbean and yet this little gem certainly competes with the best of them.

There were also a number of private dinners and meetings taking place in other parts of the hotel and yet everyone seemed to echo our appreciation of the quality, service and level of support and attention to detail.

Our room 'Krug' was great for our family of 2 adults and 2 children, with plenty of space and very good furnishings and amenities. Breakfast was of good quality and choice. On the morning after the wedding we had breakfast set up in the 'Great Chamber' which was a great traditional wood panelled ornate room with fine art adorning the walls and ceilings.

Thanks again for making our stay such an unforgettable experience. Well done to ALL the staff you should be very proud of your accomplishments and achievements in the field of luxury hospitality in the Midlands. We just need another excuse to come again!

Room Tip: All rooms are very well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcn2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Spent New Years Eve at the New Hall Hotel, what a fantastic place! Over 800 Years old. The staff are amazing especially at the reception. Just one problem the idiot with manners of pig working in the bar,if you dont like your job mate leave it !!!!! Apart from that you could not ask for a better place to stay, make sure you get a room in the older part of the hall. In a word Fantastic!

Room Tip: Make sure of room in the older part of the Hall Great views from all rooms very impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhyscoKiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

One night stay to celebrate special family Birthday. Standard room was pristine, very spacious, with bath robes, top range toiletries in bathroom. Staff super attentive, nothing too much trouble. Private dining party in the Great Chamber was amazing, fabulous food, served by happy , attentative staff. Breakfast, again superb, full selection of fruits , cereals etc, and a full menu of hot options.
Deffinately a great hotel to guarantee a very special stay without breaking the bank!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WORLDWISEbromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New-Hall-GM, General Manager at New Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for using Trip Advisor to relay your positive feedback following your recent stay at New Hall Hotel & Spa.

I was absolutely delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future when next you visit the Midlands.

Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed here with husband and 9 year old son between Christmas and New Year to meet up with friends visiting from USA. The building and grounds are very impressive and I can see why this would be a popular wedding venue. Although it is old, staff are not 'precious' about it and didn't mind at all that my son wanted to explore all areas. Our room (16) on ground floor was huge and very comfortable, looking out onto a grassed area and towards the moat at the front of the building. We ate in the more informal restaurant and I have to say that I found the food a little disappointing! Speed of service was good. Breakfast was good. Our friends stayed in a suite in what felt like the older part of the main building. Having old windows, it felt a little cool for me but it was fine for them.

Room Tip: Room 16 was large, comfortable and on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
8.4 km away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
3.5 km away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
31.0 km away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
13.8 km away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
4.9 km away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: New Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,797 - ₹ 15,270
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying within 26 acres of mature, elegant grounds this 60 bedroom historic country house hotel is widely reputed to be the oldest inhabited, moated manor house in England. Sympathetic renovation has provided up-to-the-minute facilities whilst retaining most of its medieval charm and character. Public areas with their fine panelling and mullioned stained-glass windows create a unique historical ambiance; the magnificent Great Chamber is particularly impressive indeed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel New Hall
New Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Hotel & Spa Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing