We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very peaceful, comfortable accommodation and very welcoming owners”
Review of Old Rectory

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Rectory
Ranked #50 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very peaceful, comfortable accommodation and very welcoming owners”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Old Rectory on 10th June 2011. The accommodation is just outside the town centre but in a very rural location. It was great to wake up in the morning and hear nothing except birdsong and see a pheasant walking accross the garden!. The accommodation was great, we slept well and the breakfast was excellent. What really makes a good bed and breakfast are the owners and this is were the Old Rectory scores well. We were made to feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevche_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Really lovely little B&B really friendly owners and ever such good size rooms.
They had no problems accommodating my veggie breakfast request. We had nice tea coffee facilities and a mini fridge to share with the 2 other rooms. The en suite was clean and not at all cramped in. Plus they have huge shelves full of books and no TV's in the room it really makes you relax. There is a TV room downstairs and a nice garden area you can sit it. There are also lots of footpaths so gret for hiking and a nice walk up around an old fort directly opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becstarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Room was lovely and bright. A very homely feel. Breakfast was tasty and set me up well for the day. Nice little touches included fresh water and fresh milk in room, and a selection of books. Owners were both very hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anon186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed at The Old Rectory the night before travelling to the Glastonbury Festival to cut down on the drive the following day. It turned out to be an inspired choice. From the moment we arrived, Jo, the proprietor was so friendly and helpful that we wished we didn't have to dash off so early the next day! The rooms were very spacious and quiet and extremely clean with en suite bathrooms. Our friends were in the room next door to ours and we all agreed that we slept like logs in the comfortable beds. Jo provided lots of little extra touches to make our stay even more pleasant. Very kindly, she got up extra early to make us all a full english breakfast at 6am so that we didn't go off to Glastonbury hungry. There was a yummy veggie alternative for me too. All in all, Jo went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable and we will certainly go back to The Old Rectory and hopefully stay a bit longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisethegenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.8 km away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.2 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
3.5 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Fitzhead Inn
Fitzhead Inn
#5 of 55 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.4 km away
Yallands Farmhouse
Yallands Farmhouse
#3 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.4 km away
Heathercroft B&B
Heathercroft B&B
#15 of 55 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory

Property: Old Rectory
Address: The Old Rectory Rectory Road | Norton Fitzwarren, Taunton TA2 6SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,06,488 - ₹ 2,08,930
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Rectory 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing