We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow, wow and Wow”

Review of Rock Farm

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Taunton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny K
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow, wow and Wow”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This place is heaven! The house is beautifully decorated and the views are simply breathtaking. The only neighbours for miles are cows and sheep! I stayed for a long weekend and there was 8 adults and 2 children.

We had a chef cook us a beautiful 3 course meal on the Friday, w used the BBQ on Saturday and we went to the rising Sun (just a short walk across the fields, highly recommended) on Sunday.

The hot tub is a fab bonus and was used a lot. I cried when we left, so I think that sums up how much I enjoyed our stay at Rock farm!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Wow indeed - thank you for such a positive review! It is a special place and we're so pleased (in a positive way) that it brought a tear to your eye. We hope to see you again sometime. Paul & the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower151...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Hen Weekend!”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful place. I was overwhelmed with its spectacular view and facilities. Stayed here for my Hen weekend Friday- Sunday. The place has everything you would need for a fun filled weekend. We could be as loud and silly as we wanted as no one is close by to here and complain. Hot tub overlooks the view of fields and surrounding beauty. Only the cows in the next field who could "spy" on us. The bedroom facilities were fantastic and clean and beds were super comfy. Loved the games room and the stage was a brilliant idea after a few to drink when you think your a superstar!
Everything was of great quality.
I want to re live my hen weekend all over again.
We were lucky to have fantastic weather but would think that in winter months or when weather isn't too great theres lots of room to spread out and have fun.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thank you for such a fantastic review. The views of the Somerset countryside from the house really do have to be seen to be believed. We are so glad that you had such a memorable time and enjoyed your stay. Kindest regards, Kerry and the Woodlands Retreats Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaP60
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first class venue”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The accommodation is excellent, absolutely faultless, with wonderful facilities and many of us "Hens" are likely to return with their families in the future.

Agreed it was challenging to find along the narrow country lanes but well worth the effort since it's remoteness added to the charm. The rooms were extremely comfortable ,in fact those in the party who left husbands and young children at home enjoyed the best sleep in a long time!

The hot tub was a hit and the BBQ was a bonus. It was so well equipped that nothing extra was needed and we appreciated the many various fridges and freezer.

The wood burners in the living and dining rooms would make for a cosy winter break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: we could not stay longer
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you had a fantastic time and enjoyed the house. We would be delighted to see you back with your families in the future.
Kindest regards Kerry and The Woodlands Retreats Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Thank you for your 5* review of Rock Farm. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we are glad that it met all your requirements. Rock Farm is tucked away a bit so pre-booking taxis is definitely a good idea but there are plenty of firms in Taunton that will come out to West Bagborough. We hope to see you back again in the future.
Kindest regards Ed and The Woodlands Retreats Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna S
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect getaway for a sophisticated hen weekend”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a fantastic hen weekend at Rock Farm. The location is stunning and the cottage is of very high quality with most bedrooms having en-suite facilities. It was great to have a dining table that could comfortably accommodate 13 people. We had a number of activities organised for the weekend including massage therapists coming to the house, clay pigeon shooting a short walk across the fields, cocktail making class at the house and our own chef came in on the Saturday night and cooked an exquisite 3 course dinner. We also had a butler in the buff serve our drinks! The quality and professionalism of all the activities was outstanding and i cannot recommended enough for you to try at least one activity during a stay at Rock Farm. Thanks for making my best friends hen weekend so memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the property throughout
Liked least: Needs more oven trays and serving dishes to reflect the number of guests (i.e so you can do a big full English in the oven)
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
Thank you so much for such a glowing review and we are so glad that everything was just right for your weekend away and the activities were exactly what you wanted. All of our service providers enjoyed the activities as well and appreciated your group getting fully involved. We hope to see you all back in the future at some point.
Kindest regards Ed and The Woodlands Retreats Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing