We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
34
72
93
50
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
72
93
50
98
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night.
•Pleasant check in
•Outside green carpet needs looking at
•Room needs painting, mould on the roof in the bathroom and bedroom
•Strange banging noise in the morning 505am which woke me, sounded like pipes. I did tell reception about this and they apologised
•Value, it's cheap when all other hotels are £90- plus so I do ask what i want/expect for the price?...
•Didn't eat
•Staff have got a difficult job here I would say

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank timetoeattonight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Dear timetoeattonight,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Any feedback is greatly appreciated.
The strange pipe noise comment was passed on to our maintenance department and found to be a faulty valve in a toilet which has now been fixed.

Simon Shipway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

A truly horrible stay. Walkways and corridors dirty with cigarette ends and discarded food everywhere. Mould on bedroom ceiling. Dirty carpet. Torn curtains. Bed not properly made. Terrible smell. Noisy plumbing.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Dear David S.

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Any feedback whether negative or positive is useful for us to improve in the service we offer.
Secondly, let me apologise for your, obviously, disappointing stay with us.
I would like to request that you contact me directly at the hotel either by phone or e-mail so as we could talk through your experience.

Simon Shipway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, rooms need a good clean and a lick of paint here and there. But overall was quiet good.

They have food and drink on site & check outs 12 so that was a bonus .

For singles, couples, family's
Everyone's welcome, very friendly people.

4* because it needs a clean and some paint

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Elliott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Dear Elliott J,

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay here.

I appreciate your comments and will certainly act upon them.

Simon J. Shipway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on business

Pros - location for business
Price
Staff attitude

Cons
Jaded rooms
Uncomfortable beds
Pillows (lack of)
Lack of power sockets
Hotel exterior
DAMPNESS within the rooms
Sited within an industrial estate.

As mentioned before you get what you pay for so shop around

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank mellencamp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Dear mellencamp63,

Thank you for your review. Both positive and negative comments are always welcome for us to improve the guest experience.
I'm sorry about the bed, we are currently reviewing our mattress stock and replacing as necessary.
On a side note, more pillows and extension leads, to accompany the two power sockets in the room, are available from reception.

Simon Shipway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Ended up here as they are happy to take pets (£5 each per night) and we were allowed both dogs in our 1 room. It's a motel type set up so your room opens to the outdoors and it's good for dogs.
It's very tired (so will you be) and the walls are paper thin. Breakfast is mediocre so don't get excited (continental means cereal) and they don't have a hot food menu you just ask the cook.
On Saturday night the place is full of people getting ready for a night in town so, if that's not why you'd be staying, prepare to hear each lot stumble back in as you try and sleep.
There was some troublesome guests while we were there who had a non resident crowd outside their room at 4.30am. Staff got involved by entering into an argument with them and shouting was on and off with threats of police until about 7am when they'd been evicted.

You don't expect much customer service at a budget hotel but a genuine apology for the disruption would have gone a long way.

Pay £10-£20 more and get a nicer place.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank LittleMissSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Dear LittleMissSix,

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

Whilst I do admit that we do have guests coming back throughout the night, especially on a Saturday, we employ security staff to ensure there is little disruption to other guests. This was a very rare incident which unfortunately did lead to the persons responsible being removed from the hotel.
You comment regarding customer service will be acted on immediately.

Simon Shipway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews