We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
94
110
61
49
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
110
61
49
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the marinapoole harbourno liftfunction roomgood sized bathroomfantastic viewslovely locationfour posterenjoyable staydouble bedfull englisha lovely staylilliputweddingdorset
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The location of this hotel is very good as it is almost surrounded by water. To get the best view however you need to book a sea view room. The first room we had was a side sea view room which was ok but the full sea view is much better. Its not the sea you see but Poole Harbour anyway. The rooms are tired generally. However the staff are excellent being friendly and attentive. The breakfast is very good as was the Sunday roast. However the roast is so popular it is likely to run out so be sure to pre order it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a full sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank richardanddibelliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This is certainly one of the best dog friendly hotels in Britain. Our dog was welcomed by all the staff. Our large room had a lovely view of the harbour and was very accommodating with a large bed and all amenities. We ate in the bar with our dog beside us, the menu was extensive and the food absolutely delicious. We notified the staff in advance that we would like breakfast in the bar so that our dog could join us and this was readily actioned. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, your every need both human and canine is catered for.

Room Tip: Lovely views of Brownsea Island, Sandbanks and the harbour
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollyDoodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two separate nights for ferry connections inbound and outbound - the bed on first occasion was uncomfortable - tv remote battery had expired and reception had none to replace it! On second visit the beds were diabolical - felt every spring all though the night - given top floor room in spite of obvious disability - no lift nor help with bags - towel rail falling off wall - no blind or curtain on bathroom window - every aspect of room was tired and weary - written account of complaints left with receptionist but no response. Breakfast was ok.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Scuta17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed here on business. Lovely hotel. Old style bedrooms which vary depending on what room. Mine was a four poster, large and very nice as per the photos. However, my colleague was a twin and fairly small and from the 80’s.

Dinning area was nice, quite and with a lovely few over the harbour. Likewise the bar. Both are updated to a good standard.

Breakfast was ok but nothing to write home about.

Free parking out the front makes for a nice overnight stop.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Went to salterns for breakfast with some friends who were visiting for the weekend. firstly the staff were very unfriendly, we ordered breakfast, food took just over an hour to arrive.
The Waitress then dumped the food on table, didn't ask if we needed anything else. Of all the condiments I could add to my breakfast, a long black hair isn't top of the list.

The food was actually very nice despite the hair and the service

Real shame as it used to be great, no excuse because it wasn't busy!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jasminbourton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews