We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salterns Harbourside Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Nice location next to a marina and overlooking Poole Harbour. Great views.

Older traditional type hotel, room was modernised and good, large bath room etc albeit I couldn't for the life of me attach the shower head to the rail fitting!

Breakfast was very nice although it seemed to take ages for tables to be cleared.

Ideal for boating and jet skiing ( can be hired from Marina).

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Gmglcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

The location of this hotel is very good as it is almost surrounded by water. To get the best view however you need to book a sea view room. The first room we had was a side sea view room which was ok but the full sea view is much better. Its not the sea you see but Poole Harbour anyway. The rooms are tired generally. However the staff are excellent being friendly and attentive. The breakfast is very good as was the Sunday roast. However the roast is so popular it is likely to run out so be sure to pre order it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richardanddibelliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This is certainly one of the best dog friendly hotels in Britain. Our dog was welcomed by all the staff. Our large room had a lovely view of the harbour and was very accommodating with a large bed and all amenities. We ate in the bar with our dog beside us, the menu was extensive and the food absolutely delicious. We notified the staff in advance that we would like breakfast in the bar so that our dog could join us and this was readily actioned. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, your every need both human and canine is catered for.

Room Tip: Lovely views of Brownsea Island, Sandbanks and the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollyDoodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two separate nights for ferry connections inbound and outbound - the bed on first occasion was uncomfortable - tv remote battery had expired and reception had none to replace it! On second visit the beds were diabolical - felt every spring all though the night - given top floor room in spite of obvious disability - no lift nor help with bags - towel rail falling off wall - no blind or curtain on bathroom window - every aspect of room was tired and weary - written account of complaints left with receptionist but no response. Breakfast was ok.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Scuta17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed here on business. Lovely hotel. Old style bedrooms which vary depending on what room. Mine was a four poster, large and very nice as per the photos. However, my colleague was a twin and fairly small and from the 80’s.

Dinning area was nice, quite and with a lovely few over the harbour. Likewise the bar. Both are updated to a good standard.

Breakfast was ok but nothing to write home about.

Free parking out the front makes for a nice overnight stop.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.5 km away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
1,000 reviews
1.6 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
3 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,834 reviews
2.6 km away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,605 reviews
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salterns Harbourside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salterns Harbourside Hotel

Address: 38 Salterns Way | Lilliput, Poole BH14 8JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range: ₹ 8,679 - ₹ 14,249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salterns Harbourside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salterns Harbourside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salterns Harbourside Poole
Hotel Salterns Harbourside
Salterns Harbourside Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing