We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,543)
Filter reviews
1,543 results
Traveller rating
1,032
353
101
39
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
353
101
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews copper bath sail loft marina room the penthouse salt house sister hotel scallops lovely hotel in bury st edmunds suffolk breakfast car park front facing breakfast in bed afternoon tea boutique hotel huge bed small balcony
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,543 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Stayed at the Salthouse Harbour hotel whilst in Suffolk, had many a good meal there in the past and expected the stay to be as pleasant. Room cost £160.00 night, not their most expensive but hardly cheap. The bathroom was dirty with visible/scrapable brown gunge on the floor - probably a result of the blocked shower tray and water over flowing but clearly not cleaned and had accumilated over some time, doubly disgusting as this was right next to the toilet. Room was bland, boring and unispiring, again I wouldnt describe it as clean, not helped by the multi stained curtains. Very disapppointing. Their tag is 'curiosity' there's nothing curious about this particular room - hopefully others are better but I wont be spending my money finding out.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank clivevitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear clivevitler,

Thank you for your comments.

I was disappointed to read that you found the hotel to be dirty and have raised this with our Housekeeping team. Its a shame that you didn't raise the issues when you were with us so we could have corrected this.

With regards to the comment on the room being bland and boring, this is really unusual as most of our guests find our rooms and hotel to be quirky.

Perhaps next time you stay, a more superior room would be better suited rather than a standard.

Kind regards,
Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Excellent location right on the marina.
VIP rooms have great views across the marina. Beautifully decorated boutique style hotel.
Free car park is tight to park but the staff will move your car for you if you want.
Restaurant has some good voices and the set meals are excellent valuea.
Only downside was the restaurant was very noisy due to hard flooring echoing the guests and making it much louder.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Peter J,

Thank you for your review and was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall.

We do offer corporate rates so if you find yourself in the area on a regular basis, please do get in touch.

Kind regards,
Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Food good and staff friendly BUT food very slow. 2 hours for 3 courses. Don't go if you ate hungry or on a schedule. Nice place tho and standard of food quite good. Can't day much more but TripAdvisor had silly rule that I have to use 200 characters. 1 star for that!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear michael r,

Thank you for your review.

We offer a relaxed dining experience as unlike other restaurants, we don't wish our guests to be rushed out of the door.

Kind regards,
Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We had a fabulous view of the marina with a small balcony - which was a real treat. Each and every member of staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful which really enhanced our stay. It was great to have our car parked and not to have the hassle of finding car parking. Great location for exploring the Suffolk Coast.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lawrence372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Lawrence372,

Thank you for your review.

I was really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff exceptionally friendly.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

What a lovely hotel,we had a great room quite large overlooking the marina.Breakfast was extremely substantional,and dinner was probably the best food we had eaten for many a year.I cannot rate this hotel highly enough.we even had included champane and chocolates on arrival.

Room tip: higher rooms were quieter
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear L P,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and found the accommodation great and the food substantial. Please do come back and see us again as I know the team would love to see you again.

Kind regards,
Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews