We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best cottages I have stayed in,Couldnt...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The approach to Souters and Gribbles. Souters bathed in sunlight is also surrounded by woodland.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
115 reviews
The approach to Souters and Gribbles.
Souters bathed in sunlight is also surrounded by woodland.
Gribbles nestles in a corner of Souters garden.
The terrace, complete with wood fired pizza oven is perfect for al fresco eating.
Souters has a well equipped kitchen.
Souters living space has a cool and airy feel during the summer.
During the colder months the wood burner makes for cosy evenings.
The bedroom window looks out onto a bank of wild flowers.
Souters has a very comfortable bedroom.
The power shower with loads of hot water.
Gribbles is about 20m from Souters, tucked into a corner of the garden.
Gribbles has a full size double bed with a pull out truckle bed beneath.
Gribbles has en suite facilities with floor heating, WC, basin, large shower and heated towel rail.
Foxgloves in the woodland round Souters garden
Bluebells in Souters woodland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ipswich, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 115 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Mitch4620...
London Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best cottages I have stayed in,Couldnt have been better”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Wonderful cottage in a serene surrounding .Nick and Cath were great hosts and all the little extras made all the difference .
If you are looking for the best place to stay in Constable country then make sure you book this gem in the countryside .
Paul and Janice .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The exception quality of the whole cottage
Liked least: trying to find the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary D
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A very warm welcome when we arrived at Souters. First Nick and Cath's dog, then Cath greeted us. When we walked into the property we looked at each other and said "Wow". Fresh flowers on the table, a fabulous looking cake, everything so clean. Even though it was September we just had to use the wood burner, it was fantastic sitting on the settee relaxing. We also made use of the little table and chairs outside. We would go out for the day and come back and have a piece of Cath's cake and a nice cuppa and just relax. We loved the fact that it was secluded and that we had our own little section of garden. We will be back hopefully in the spring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole property. There was absolutely nothing we did not like
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakiHH
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Suffolk Punch”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We booked a short stay unsure of how good a one bedroom cottage could be - and had our limited expectation well and truly exceeded. This little gem punches well above its weight. A light and airy cottage oozing character and set away from the madding crowd but within easy reach of all the necessities of civilisation. We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn245
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay in the woods”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Excellent holiday cottage in quiet wooded area, near two lovely villages with good restaurants. It was a very relaxing place to stay in, very comfortable with a wood burning stove, great outside seating area with BBQ, good shower room and bedroom. TV, broadband and DVD available. Mobile phone signal weak.
The owners live 100 yards away and were very helpful and approachable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great area, very comfortable
Liked least: no dishwasher
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah-SE1...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Souters for a week in August... very comfortable, great living space, nice shower, lovely garden area. We were working out there too and it was a great peaceful/secluded environment. The walk from the cottage via Higham and down along the Stour Valley Path was gorgeous too. Nick and Cath were very friendly and welcoming - highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing