We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little gem”
Review of Lattice Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lattice Lodge
Ranked #5 of 35 Ipswich B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Booked a double room last minute and was extremely pleased with the result. The decor is lovely, the location nice and quiet, and the owner very friendly and helpful.

I was already amazed by how lucky I was with this venue and then I read in the guest information booklet about how they strive to make the lodge as green as possible, and all the prizes they have won so far for their efforts.

The location is also easily connected to the town centre via bus, and there are also a bank and a supermarket nearby.

Definitely would recommend, this is probably the best place overall I have stayed in in England.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55,47,85,84,886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatticeLodge, Owner at Lattice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Well, it's lovely to get such a great review from a mystery person!

We're honoured that you felt it worth tracking us down and letting others know what you thought.

If you do come back again, do introduce yourself to us.

Many thanks,

Martin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Lattice Lodge was ideal, provided everything we required, very welcoming, spotlessly clean, space to sit and work, couldn't have asked for more, we would thoroughly recommend this Guest House to anyone. Plenty of information available and to hand and the proprietor Martin is attentive, helpful but never intrusive.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatticeLodge, Owner at Lattice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thanks for the lovely review!

Sorry that BT cut off our broadband for 36 hours during your stay - it came back at lunchtime on the day you departed.

Similarly, I very much enjoyed the show at the New Wolsey Theatre!

See you again soon.

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Had travelled by motorbike from Droitwich to the East Coast (very long day and numb bums), thought it would be easy to find somewhere on-spec to stay in a coastal town. How wrong we were! Went to Thorpeness first and everywhere was a holiday let and not a B and B, then went to Aldeburgh, again, couldn't find a B and B anywhere. It was just starting to rain and I was giving up hope and fed up. My phone's battery had just died, and I was reliant on hubby coming up with somewhere for us to stay. He scoured booking.com and found this place, just as he was trying to reserve the room it was taken by another customer! Just our luck. Hubby rang Lattice Lodge and spoke to Martin the owner, but lost signal! Was so relieved when Martin rang him back and said that he had a double room available. We arrived out of hours, but had arranged with Martin how to access the place etc. Room was lovely. Clean, comfy bed, tea, coffee, biscuits, mini-bar etc. Just what we needed after a long journey. On recommendation from Martin we went to the Turkish restaurant opposite, again, just what we needed. Had a good, comfortable night's sleep, a lovely shower and then a fantastic home-cooked, local produce breakfast. Everything was sourced locally, which was a nice touch. Food was good and plentiful and set us up for the day. Thank you Martin for coming to our rescue! Would definitely recommend this place. Lots of parking, easy to find and a good position.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank minxcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatticeLodge, Owner at Lattice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thanks for the lovely review - I'm blushing!

I'm delighted to have helped rescue a potentially bad trip. I'm also really pleased that you enjoyed your meal at Ottoman - I've never had anything but lovely food there myself.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

My father and I just stayed at the Latice Lodge in Ipswich and I was very pleasantly surprised at a what a great place this was to stay at. This is one of the times when Trip Advisor reviews can come in really handy. I am very picky about the hotels I stay at and generally stay at pretty nice places. I have nothing but the best things to say about this place. The check in process was easy and quick (as was the check out process). The rooms were immaculately clean, the beds were comfortable and both the bedrooms and the bathrooms were a good size. The owner Martin and the folks who work with him are friendly and nice. We had one issue with the WiFi and Martin was got it resolved instantaneously. Breakfast was included in our package and the food was excellent and the dining room comfortable. I would unhesitatingly recommend this place to anyone visiting Ipswich and would be more than happy to stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DRGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatticeLodge, Owner at Lattice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Thanks for the great review.

Sorry for the initial problem with the WiFi. As you'll appreciate, a building built as a doctors surgery and residence in 1908 is quite characterful, but not exactly ideal when it comes to spreading WiFi into the furthest reaches. We've pretty much solved this with the use of repeaters and the like but, just as your home internet gear requires rebooting occasionally, so does ours. All we need is the nod from a guest that there's a problem, and we're straight onto it.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Martin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely two days there very friendly proprietor who loves to tell you and show you his house. Feather duvets and feather pillows were the biggest hit in our opinion. The only downer was that the internet tells you have strong connection, the trouble is that you cannot get it to transpire on your tablet or phone. We couldnt download or receive anything and we were not alone.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank blueboytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatticeLodge, Owner at Lattice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Hi,

Thanks for the 5 star review.

We're sorry that you had some trouble with the internet during your stay. As Lattice Lodge is really just a large house, not a purpose built hotel, we do rely on powerline plugs and repeaters to reach all of the nooks and crannies in the house. As with your technology gear at home, it occasionally throws a wobbly and stops working - usually a reboot fixes the problem when we're informed of it.

I will however find the time next week to rebuild the wireless network from scratch next week, which will hopefully minimise any interruptions, or possibly identify a faulty device.

Notwithstanding that, we're glad you appreciated our lovely feather pillows and duvets!

Kind regards,

Martin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.8 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.8 km away
Innocence Rooms
Innocence Rooms
#3 of 35 in Ipswich
125 reviews
15.2 km away
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage
#1 of 1 in Great Bricett
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
889 reviews
3.1 km away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
534 reviews
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lattice Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lattice Lodge

Address: 499 Woodbridge Road, Ipswich IP4 4EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range: ₹ 5,438 - ₹ 5,956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lattice Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lattice Lodge is an Award Winning Urban Eco B&B offering superb quality and great value. We offer a top quality cooked breakfast using the best available local ingredients - even our coffee is roasted and ground in Ipswich - and the local apple juice is the same one Heston Blumenthal uses! Although we're eco-friendly, you mostly won't notice, apart from a few little touches like a pot for used tea-bags in your room - which we then put in our wormery. Our electricity supply is also from 100% renewable sources. So, if you're wanting a calm, peaceful, home from home experience, you're in the right place. Subject to availability, you can also hire Lattice Lodge for your exclusive use, either on a bed and breakfast or a self catering basis. We can sleep up to 23 adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lattice Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing