We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful BnB”
Review of Lattice Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lattice Lodge
Ranked #5 of 35 Ipswich B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

My father and I just stayed at the Latice Lodge in Ipswich and I was very pleasantly surprised at a what a great place this was to stay at. This is one of the times when Trip Advisor reviews can come in really handy. I am very picky about the hotels I stay at and generally stay at pretty nice places. I have nothing but the best things to say about this place. The check in process was easy and quick (as was the check out process). The rooms were immaculately clean, the beds were comfortable and both the bedrooms and the bathrooms were a good size. The owner Martin and the folks who work with him are friendly and nice. We had one issue with the WiFi and Martin was got it resolved instantaneously. Breakfast was included in our package and the food was excellent and the dining room comfortable. I would unhesitatingly recommend this place to anyone visiting Ipswich and would be more than happy to stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DRGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatticeLodge, Owner at Lattice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Thanks for the great review.

Sorry for the initial problem with the WiFi. As you'll appreciate, a building built as a doctors surgery and residence in 1908 is quite characterful, but not exactly ideal when it comes to spreading WiFi into the furthest reaches. We've pretty much solved this with the use of repeaters and the like but, just as your home internet gear requires rebooting occasionally, so does ours. All we need is the nod from a guest that there's a problem, and we're straight onto it.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Martin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely two days there very friendly proprietor who loves to tell you and show you his house. Feather duvets and feather pillows were the biggest hit in our opinion. The only downer was that the internet tells you have strong connection, the trouble is that you cannot get it to transpire on your tablet or phone. We couldnt download or receive anything and we were not alone.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank blueboytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatticeLodge, Owner at Lattice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Hi,

Thanks for the 5 star review.

We're sorry that you had some trouble with the internet during your stay. As Lattice Lodge is really just a large house, not a purpose built hotel, we do rely on powerline plugs and repeaters to reach all of the nooks and crannies in the house. As with your technology gear at home, it occasionally throws a wobbly and stops working - usually a reboot fixes the problem when we're informed of it.

I will however find the time next week to rebuild the wireless network from scratch next week, which will hopefully minimise any interruptions, or possibly identify a faulty device.

Notwithstanding that, we're glad you appreciated our lovely feather pillows and duvets!

Kind regards,

Martin and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Friendly, helpful, organised, clear thinking, lots of Green issues addressed, lovely Egyptian cotton bed linen, calm and quiet bedroom, comfortable lounge areas, substantial choice of breakfast fare, private car parking for all rooms, easy walking access for local pubs & restaurants. Two miles walk to Ipswich Football Club if that's a concern, no interest to me at all so nothing to give reduced marks for. :)

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatticeLodge, Owner at Lattice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Hi Colin,

Thanks for taking the time to track us down on the internet and leave such a lovely review!

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

We had a great stay at the lodge. We had a spacious room that overlooked the garden. The bed was very comfortable, and I was impressed by the efforts made at being Eco-friendly. The whole building was very, very clean, and had a nice garden. very quiet at night, even though on a busy intersection.. Breakfast was good, hot or cold, although not included in the price of the room. The host, Martin, was very friendly and helpful, even to carrying our bags up stairs for us. He was even able to arrange theatre tickets for us, and recommended a wonderful Turkish restaurant within walking distance. Missy the cat was around, but not a bother so no allergy problems for my partner. I highly recommend the Lattice Lodge if you are in Ipswich

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shyviolet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatticeLodge, Owner at Lattice Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Thanks for the lovely review!

I have a great team - some of which have been at Lattice Lodge longer than I have - to thank for the cleanliness of the house.

It's true that we now don't include breakfast in the price of the room. There are two reasons for this. The first is that we would look expensive when compared to others who weren't including it. The second is that a good proportion of our guests - especially during the week - are up and away with the lark, before even we, at 7am, start serving breakfast.

As you found out, we love our home town, so it was a real pleasure to see you enjoy a show at a local theatre, and some fabulous food at the Turkish restaurant just a couple of hundred metres away.

As with the housekeeping team, Missy the cat has also been at Lattice Lodge longer than I, so doesn't feel the need to go nosing into guest bedrooms - the bean bag by the radiator is her favourite spot.

Finally, it's worth noting that we don't contact guests asking them to leave reviews. We get more than enough uninvited emails, and have no wish to add to that burden for our guests.

So when someone sits down, takes the time and makes the effort to track us down online and leave such a lovely a review, then it is genuinely appreciated.

Kind regards,

Martin and the team (and Missy).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

We booked a superior double room at the last minute for a nights stay while we were visiting friends in Ipswich.
We were very pleased to find how clean , spacious and comfortable the room was with a very smart and clean bathroom. Everything was spotless.
We slept very well and found the bed really comfy and even though it was a freezing cold night the room was nice and warm.
We enjoyed a really good cooked breakfast in the morning. It was very good quality and cooked perfectly.
We'll definitely come back next time we're in Ipswich.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank M0ntyM0le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipswich hotels
1.8 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1.8 km away
Innocence Rooms
Innocence Rooms
#2 of 35 in Ipswich
125 reviews
15.2 km away
Riverside Cottage
Riverside Cottage
#1 of 1 in Great Bricett
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
888 reviews
3.1 km away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
533 reviews
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#10 of 18 in Ipswich
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lattice Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lattice Lodge

Address: 499 Woodbridge Road, Ipswich IP4 4EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range: ₹ 5,513 - ₹ 5,944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lattice Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lattice Lodge is an Award Winning Urban Eco B&B offering superb quality and great value. We offer a top quality cooked breakfast using the best available local ingredients - even our coffee is roasted and ground in Ipswich - and the local apple juice is the same one Heston Blumenthal uses! Although we're eco-friendly, you mostly won't notice, apart from a few little touches like a pot for used tea-bags in your room - which we then put in our wormery. Our electricity supply is also from 100% renewable sources. So, if you're wanting a calm, peaceful, home from home experience, you're in the right place. Subject to availability, you can also hire Lattice Lodge for your exclusive use, either on a bed and breakfast or a self catering basis. We can sleep up to 23 adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lattice Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing