We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatsworth House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chatsworth House Hotel
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Eccles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 'Jazz' weekend spent at Chatsworth. We have been before to this hotel but not over the last couple of years due to ill health. I looked up the previous reviews before going (after we had booked) and thought things must have changed for the worse. Definitely NOT in our experience. The staff were very, very, pleasant and helpful from the minute we entered, Reception staff were pleasant, smiling and very efficient. We were allocated a lovely, clean, pleasantly decorated room,, very adequate for our needs with tons of hot water, lovely clean white towels, tea and coffee facilities, replenished each day. All the staff, whatever part of the hotel, had smiles and a nice word and the food was well cooked, 3 different choices each course with execllent service. The only down side, if there was one, was the price of the wine sold in the hotel. Way out of the usual price range, even allowing for profit. Perhaps the owners should negotiate a better deal with an alternative supplier at a more realistic rate. A quarter bottle of of wine at £4.50 is way over the top and a full bottle at £17.95 (need I say more)..But would return again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wanderer74_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJones-chatsworth, Front Office Manager at Chatsworth House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review and we are so glad you had a very enjoyable stay, after all that’s why we have been here as an independent family run hotel for 20 successful years and we look forward to you returning soon.

A few negative reviews can be posted for personal reasons/preferences but that can’t be helped, we have been in contact with Trip advisor about these, the important thing is that you had a great holiday and that’s the most important part.

Pricing is always in the for front of our minds and we are constantly striving to provide the best value for our guests and we will continue to do so and with this in mind it will always where possible be passed on to you .

Thank you once again.


Just a little update

Our outside furniture is being repainted, the sea air plays havoc with it, many of the tables have already been completed the and chairs are next on the list.

Our ground floor ladies toilets have been redecorated and the carpet on one of our main staircases has been replaced as part of our ongoing maintenance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    254
    156
    86
    101
See reviews for
189
262
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Having visited regularly over the last 25 years how sad that the management has let it slip so far. Having had an appalling meal and witnessed the waiters' squabbles between themselves while ignoring some guests and chatting up others we recalled how wonderful The Chatsworth HAD been. The evening meal was overcooked grey cabbage overwarmed potatoes and some sort of meat. When we complained the manager merely said "it was alright when I was in" Waht an arrogabt little man! Thankfully we can now spend our money elsewhere (We paid full price, not the coach party deal...even worse.
Until there's a management and chef change avoid this place at all costs

Room Tip: Don't...chosse another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

just spent weekend here, building having extensive re-furbishment done, needs it!! should look nice when finished, food was very nice, attentive staff overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merseyscouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJones-chatsworth, Front Office Manager at Chatsworth House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, and we are very happy that you had a great stay with us and that you took the time to post a review.

Just a little update on the works in progress.

The front of the hotel has now been completely repainted and looks fantastic, the patio area at the front has been professionaly cleaned and also looks like new.

We have another 6 bedrooms closed for refurbishment and due to be reopend very shortly with more planned as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed at Chatsworth House for a Turkey and Tinsel week-end from 4th – 6th November 2011. We have stayed at this hotel a few times but never again. The room we were allocated was disgusting, the curtains were hanging off the track, bedspread was dirty, the shower didn’t work, you could only get cold water and there was urine left in the toilet. We reported our findings to the ignorant reception staff, only to be told “I’m down here in reception, what can I do” The only thing she could offer was someone having a look at it the next day. We asked to be moved to another sea view room and was told there was none free. I’m sure a room could have been found so we could have showered. We asked again in reception the next day about the shower and they sent up the bar man to have a look. He confirmed the shower wasn’t working, it’s as if the reception staff didn’t believe us. He also apologised for these problems – more than reception staff did. By this time we were at the end of our tether, so we decided to leave after a very sparse breakfast, staying only one night. That weekend was the weekend from hell. We wrote to the hotel Manager and to date has not had the decency and courtesy to reply. If you want a good hotel in Llandudno, I suggest you try somewhere else; there are plenty of good ones, so much competition.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramhall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Absolute prime location right on the front. My room had excellent views of the sea and Great Orme.
I booked this hotel thinking it would be a bit like St Georges 100 yards down the road as it looks very similar. That, unfortunately is the only similarity. Chatsworth House is a grand name to live up to and I'm afraid this hotel fails miserably on so many levels. If you want to mingle with senior citizens on coach trips from the north east that like to see a turn or play bingo of an evening, then you won't be disappointed. On the other hand, if you're requirements are more like mine ie. Wi-fi in the room, room service, double glazing, no black hairs in the shower tray, wallpaper that is not hanging off, furniture that's not from a car boot sale, walls thick enough so you can't hear the next door guest snoring, clean carpet and perhaps has been decorated since 1983, then you should maybe look elsewhere. I wish I had. Luckily I was only there for one night. Maybe I was unlucky and the hotel was so busy that I was put in the dogs room I don't know but at £65 a night, it was over-priced even though it's one redeeming feature was nice to open the 'hanging-off' curtains to in the morning. Breakfast by the way was fine although I really didn't like the idea of hot milk in my coffee! All in all, could do worse but by the same token, could do an awful lot better. 2/10.

Room Tip: Ask for the toilet by the bar, that should be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJones-chatsworth, Front Office Manager at Chatsworth House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
We would like to say that we do not only reply to positive reviews, all reviews deserve equal response.

We would like to reply to each point you have made.

All hotels welcome reservations from all age groups and we are sorry that you felt it necessary to point out that we only cater for people of a certain age.

Bingo is not part of our programme, however if a particular group request it , then we have the required items available for use in a time slot so not to interfere with our evenings entertainment.

We do not advertise room service and wi-fi , however free wi-fi is available on our ground floor and some 1st floor rooms depending on location to the hub.

On the subject of double glazing, the local authorities have denied permisssion to replace the original victorian style sash windows with double glazed ones.

Our housekeeping team work very hard to make sure all rooms are clean and if there are any issues in any rooms they should be reported immediately so we can rectify any problems that may arise .

Another 5 rooms have had brand new furniture installed in January 2012

Cold milk for coffee at breakfast is readily available

Thank you.




“Not for the Business Traveller”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 11 January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Absolute prime location right on the front. My room had excellent views of the sea and Great Orme.
I booked this hotel thinking it would be a bit like St Georges 100 yards down the road as it looks very similar. That, unfortunately is the only similarity. Chatsworth House is a grand name to live up to and I'm afraid this hotel fails miserably on so many levels. If you want to mingle with senior citizens on coach trips from the north east that like to see a turn or play bingo of an evening, then you won't be disappointed. On the other hand, if you're requirements are more like mine ie. Wi-fi in the room, room service, double glazing, no black hairs in the shower tray, wallpaper that is not hanging off, furniture that's not from a car boot sale, walls thick enough so you can't hear the next door guest snoring, clean carpet and perhaps has been decorated since 1983, then you should maybe look elsewhere. I wish I had. Luckily I was only there for one night. Maybe I was unlucky and the hotel was so busy that I was put in the dogs room I don't know but at £65 a night, it was over-priced even though it's one redeeming feature was nice to open the 'hanging-off' curtains to in the morning. Breakfast by the way was fine although I really didn't like the idea of hot milk in my coffee! All in all, could do worse but by the same token, could do an awful lot better. 2/10.
Room Tip: Ask for the toilet by the bar, that should be nicer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.5 km away
The New Loretta Hotel
The New Loretta Hotel
#57 of 60 in Llandudno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
0.1 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Baytree Hotel
Baytree Hotel
#54 of 60 in Llandudno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.2 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth House Hotel

Property: Chatsworth House Hotel
Address: Gloddaeth Crescent, Llandudno LL30 2XS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,500 - ₹ 12,178
Hotel Class:2 star — Chatsworth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Victorian hotel situated in the centre of the promenade. The beach is opposite the hotel and the main shopping street is directly behind and only minutes away from the theatre. We have a very limited spaced free car park within the hotel, the majority of parking is on street on the promenade (£1.50 per day low season £3.00 per day high season (correct at time of posting this message)). Badge holders have free unrestricted parking, except in the coach bays. Please feel free to contact the hotel for any further details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Llandudno
Chatsworth House Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing