We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$348
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Expedia.com
$370
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/02/23
ZenHotels.com
$336
View deal
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com$370
Priceline$372
Hurb$380
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
578
140
55
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
578
140
55
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national trust the cottages conwy castle the main house park cottage main restaurant north wales steam room bodnant gardens birthday treat relaxing break high standard cooked breakfast couple of nights two night stay my mum could not fault
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2022

This is our second visit to Bodysgallen Hall and again we enjoyed our stay. This is a 600 year old property so has all the charm of a very old hotel with sweeping driveway, open fireplaces and paneled walls. We had a room in the main house which was spacious and very comfortably warm with fittings that complement the type of property. This is a peaceful hotel with a fine dining restaurant that overlooks manicured gardens and Conwy castle in the distance. If you plan to use the Spa you have to book well in advance before your stay which unfortunately we didn't so can't share our experience. Staying here is a pleasure and we will again when we return to Conwy.

Room tip: Book your Spa treatment well in advance of your stay.
Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 November 2022 via mobile

Stayed at this hidden gem for 3 nights while visiting family in the area. A National Trust owned building full of charm that embodies the country house experience. The staff were friendly and attentive from the moment of arrival, which was very welcome due to a long car journey full of delays. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Snowdonia bedroom, which offered breathtaking views of Conwy castle and surrounding area. We ate on 2 of the 3 nights in the main restaurant, which had many home grown ingredients on the menu. The lamb dish was outstanding, so much so that I had it on both nights! During post dinner coffee in front of the fire, we got chatting to an American couple who told us it was their 11th visit to Bodsgallen celebrating their wedding anniversary, and I completely understand why they return. A relaxing break in a wonderful house. We will be back

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Roam17206054782
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 October 2022

We booked a two nights stay. We had to leave shortly after checking in and stayed at another nearby hotel.
We were helped to carry our suitcase up a windy stairs as there is no lift. The porter was very unfriendly looking and the only one we could see.
We were appalled by our room which looked like my student days. The heating radiator was the very old type painted over many times. It didn’t work. They supplied us with a mobile heater which looked out of place for what you would expect. .
The bed appeared dated and very uninviting.
The tv the size of my laptop. The remotes didn’t work. The porter failed to get it working. He became frustrated by his failure and made sharpe remarks when spoken to him.
The dinner menu was very limited to few items.
All in all the standard of the accommodation standard was that of a bad three stars b&b.
It most certainly wasn't the place to spend two nights relaxing break and very poor value for money.
I have no hesitation to suggest staying away from this hotel.

Room tip: Avoid. Very poor value for money
Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank February1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elgan Roberts, General Manager at Bodysgallen Hall & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2022

We are sorry to read that this reviewer was compelled to write such an account of the experience had at Bodysgallen Hall, a grade one listed property of the National Trust furnished appropriately and in period. They were only in the building for a short time, and though their visit was over a month ago, we remember them well.

As it was a very warm day, with the majority of guests wearing short sleeve shirts and short trousers, we did not have the heating on in the Hall. This was explained to the reviewer, herself dressed in a sleeveless vest top. However we were pleased to place oil filled radiators into the accommodation for their use should they require.

The remote control for the 24’ television required the batteries replacing, which was unfortunate, as this is part of the check list undertaken by the housekeeping team prior to the room being deemed ready.

When the reviewer commented on the size of the standard Queen bed, which was exactly what they had reserved, an offer was made to show alternative accommodation types, but this was not welcomed as an option by the guest.

When the reviewer expressed their desire to leave, we agreed, as it was clear that whatever lengths we were prepared to go to in order to accommodate them, they would not have been sufficient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2022

This hotel is owned and operated by the National Trust. The thing the National Trust does best is to restore historic buildings, and they have done this to a very high standard at this property. The grounds are very well maintained. My room was spacious. The restaurant food was also very good. I overheard an American guest asking a simple question about the wine he was considering ordering, which staff were unable to answer. One would expect staff in a four star hotel to be able to answer a question of this nature. The Spa at this hotel was very good.

Room tip: All rooms should have good views
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 456alanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 September 2022

I have been coming to Llandudno for the last 70 years! . I have always wanted to stay at Bodysgallen and at last got the opportunity. Stayed in a cottage because we had our dog with us. We were not disappointed. This is a magnificent hotel. The cottage was well appointed and even had dog bed and treats supplied. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful. The gardens for dog walking are ideal. Individual cooked breakfast a welcome change from stale buffet so often supplied in most hotels these days. Dinner in the evening could not be faulted. Excellent well cooked and a very interesting menu . The hotel and dining is not cheap but you get what you pay for. This is a hotel to return too and we will be back. Probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alanCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews