We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merrion Hotel
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

A wonderful hotel. Very efficient bit also very friendly and surprisingly nice to kids. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovescones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Great review and thank you, we are delighted to have children in the hotel and being just across the road from the beach we are in an ideal position in the town. I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    61
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
99
100
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed in the hotel for one night to go to a wedding close by. The staff went out of their way to make sure our room was ready early for us to go to the wedding. The communal areas were clean and tidy. the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the sea. promenade and pier. The room was fine & comfortable but maybe the shower unit could have been modernised, The Breakfast was very good and really lovely to be served than buffet style, again the staff were very good with no wait at all. I did find however that it was rather expensive at £111 per night inc breakfast.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetCavershamReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased you had a good time and appreciate your positive comments, I will look at the shower in your room to see if it can be improved. Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Our second stay and it will not be our last. Our room on the third floor was very nicely decorated, clean and with a lovely sea view. All the staff are so polite and friendly. The food is amazing really made for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay, I am pleased you were happy with your room and I will pass on your comments to Gareth in the kitchen, Many thanks and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Have just returned from 4 nights at this fantastic hotel. Coach trip for 20 + driver + courier (myself) where we enjoyed fantastic dinners and breakfasts - miracle that the coach could stand the extra weight coming home! Hotel in lovely position facing the sea and near to the pier. ALL staff very caring and friendly. Rooms clean, warm and very comfortable - even the ones at the back!! Thoroughly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view. Only 1 lift so also ask for near lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basil75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Many thanks for you great review, it's great to hear your clients were all happy with their holiday, you certainly had the best of the weather. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Booked a weekend at the Merrion as another hotel in Llandudno I was hoping to stay at was fully booked. Had a sea view room on the first floor. It was really spacious and well equipped. The staff at the hotel are excellent and have obviously had really good customer service training. Food was of a really high standard. Found out they have a loyal customer base and it's easy to see why.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 758angieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in March, You are correct, many of our guests have been returning to us for years and we are very proud of our reputation. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.4 km away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#9 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.5 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.3 km away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 km away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#11 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrion Hotel

Property: Merrion Hotel
Address: South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#28 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,537 - ₹ 11,678
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade in Llandudno; this classic Victorian seaside resort has great beaches and lots of attractions including superb walking in Snowdonia. The hotel has been owned and run by the Bream family for three generations, we offer superb food locally sourced where possible and friendly service. The hotel offers newly refurbished rooms all en-suite with flat screen TVs, a car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Merrion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrion Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing