We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B and so welcoming”
Review of Brayscroft House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brayscroft House
Ranked #31 of 76 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If you are coming to Eastbourne look no further- stay here! The property itself is lovely, more of a boutique B&B I would say. It's at the nicer end of the harbour, and on a sunny day you can stroll to the end of the road and look out over the beautiful sea. Parking was no problem for us on the road outself too.

Yvonne is such a nice and kind host, there were three of us staying and she was really helpful directing us to the local shops etc. Very nice breakfasts too, all in all a great experience, no complaints for us at all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenandsimonaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved every minute of it.
We stayed in room 6 right on the top floor. It was beautiful, with a good size bathroom, although we did find that the room did get quite hot, so we kept the windows open all time, day and night.
The breakfast was amazing with a lovely variety of fresh fruits [strawberry, melon, blackberries, blueberies, grapes] , cereals, yoghurts, followed by ample tea, coffee, toast etc etc. You certainly don't go away hungry! I can recommend the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - to die for,and I have never seen such a HUGE full english breakfast in all my life. We didn't have to eat again until we went out in the evening!
It is a good 15 minute walk into town but we didn't mind this at all.
We found a really good pub called the 'Marine or Marina' [can't remember but Yvonne knows the one!] The drinks prices are a little bit steep but the food is fantastic. Good old fashioned home cooked grub, and the portions are HUGE!! Lots of locals frequent it which is always a good sign.
We also found a really good Italian called 'Dolce Vita' and a Chinese called 'Beijing'. Both very good.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahd0rset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

A charming and very well located small hotel within 5 minutes of the seafront and a short stroll of the Seven Sisters walk and trail to Beachy Head. The room was elegant, the beds extremely comfortable ant the en-suite bathroom was large - as was the roll-top bath! The breakfasts were very good, as you might suppose, with an excellent selection of fresh fruit as well as perfect cooked breakfasts. The optional evening meal was not taken up by any other guests, but we do urge you to try to dine in at least once, even though eating at 6pm did seem rather early, although this timing does enable you to enjoy the evening out. The three course dinners were really excellent - generous portions, fresh ingredients and prepared and served with real style - you would have to pay treble the price for something similar at The Grand, we suspect. The wine list was limited, but what there was on offer was fine, and this is a small hotel after all, not a pub. All in all, a great break away and made memorable by the personal attention of hosts Yvonne and John.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkadiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Brayscroft House B&B in Eastbourne is what a good British B&B should be. Its location, just a block from the beach and a couple of blocks from the Pier is perfect, making it easy to get around on foot. Well done double decker bus tours depart from the Pier, so its also easy to see the sights all over Eastbourne and return to the Pier so near the Brayscroft. Yvonne is the hostess of hostesses - personable, funny, gregarious -- and the server of the best B&B breakfasts anywhere. Whether it's kippers and eggs, British bacon, Scottish pancakes, or homemade crumpets and scones, the breakfasts are wonderful; if you don't leave Yvonne's breakfast happy, entertained, and full, something's wrong! Rooms are spacious and comfortable with well appointed bathrooms. I heartily recommend the Brayscroft House!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

A lovely welcome, stylish house and room, great brekfast, and good location. Simply unbeatable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vic2rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 km away
Oban
Oban
#20 of 40 in Eastbourne
229 reviews
0.0 km away
Southcroft Guesthouse
Southcroft Guesthouse
#30 of 76 in Eastbourne
47 reviews
0.1 km away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#25 of 76 in Eastbourne
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#42 of 76 in Eastbourne
63 reviews
1.2 km away
The Pilot Inn
The Pilot Inn
#39 of 76 in Eastbourne
60 reviews
1.1 km away
No photo provided
Beachy Rise
#45 of 76 in Eastbourne
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brayscroft House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brayscroft House

Address: 13 South Cliff Avenue, Eastbourne BN20 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: ₹ 4,038 - ₹ 7,904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brayscroft House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brayscroft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing