We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Afton Hotel
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
rustington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Hotel is well situated very friendly welcome and all staff were very friendly throughout stay. Nice bar and function room. The rooms are modern and very clean with tv kettle,hairdrier etc All bed linen and towels were spotless and after the first night the room was cleaned to a very high standard so no complaints at all. Breakfast was very nice with lots of choice and again very good service. Would I go back yes very very good

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marktiger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Our guests always come first at the Afton and it's wonderful to be appreciated when we get things right. Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    99
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
62
111
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SURREY
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Have just spent a night here with a group of friends.
For the money and location it is a good deal. There are no fancy frills, basic rooms and ammenities, but a nice relaxed atmosphere and an excellent breakfast with good service.
Directly opposite the pier, the hotel even provides a parking permit so you don't have to spend extra money on parking.

Room Tip: pier view rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CATWOMAN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Many thanks for your review. We're going to re-furbish all our bedrooms this coming year with new carpeting, flooring and pictures etc. We hope that you'll visit us again soon and come and see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Me & my wife recently stayed at the afton hotel and found it to be just perfect from the moment we arrived, the staff here are great and made us feel very welcome. You had a variety of choice when it came to breakfast and meal time followed by some light entertainment in the evening. The hotel was in a great location opposite the pier so you can go for walks along the sea front and only a few minutes walk from the town where you could go for a nice lunch or meal. I would certainly stay here again and definately recommend the hotel to anyone thinking of staying in eastbourne. GREAT VALUE! , 5 STAR*****

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor corner of the hotel and had a great view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
I'd like to say a big 'thank you' on behalf of all the staff for your wonderful review. We always try our best and constantly strive to make The Afton Hotel the best it can possibly be for it's guests. I'm so glad that on this occasion we have succeeded. I do hope that you'll visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

recently stayed at the afton hotel and what a pleasure it was. i was made to feel very welcome by all the staff. The manager mr mccabe was very accommadating. breakfast was the best i've had in a long time and in the evening i spent a lovely time in the warm welcomeing bar and an execellent bar man (i think was call max) made my wife and myself feel at home. can,t wait to return for a longer break.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for your positive review. I always endeavour to maintain high standards of service in the hotel and I'm very glad that you were pleased with the service you got from the staff on your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to 'The Afton Hotel' as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

just had a holiday at this hotel and would say that this is where you would get what you pay for!! Althought the food is adequate it is somewhat unimaginative. The rooms are, by comparison with other two star hotels, a little on the small side so if you are a small person then you will be o.k. However the staff at the hotel are really great and will do everything possible to make your meal times a pleasurable experience (one thing here is the fact that you can have a really good breakfast and it is well cooked). Entertainment whilst my wife and I were there was excellent and it made for a good evening in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Your unfortunate title for your review doesn't seem in keeping with what you actually say. You seem happy with the breakfast so i can only assume that your comments about the food being unimaginative were about the evening meal. I've never had a complaint about this before. However I'm sorry that dinner failed to live up to your expectations. Some of the double rooms are a little on the smaller side. This year we are refurbishing the bedrooms so I do hope that at least they're comfortable and attractive. Again, it's not something I've had a complaint about before. I wonder if you asked for a change of room? We're always happy to oblige our guests if at all possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.2 km away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#19 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.5 km away
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#25 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Hotel

Property: Afton Hotel
Address: 2-8 Cavendish Place, Eastbourne BN21 3EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,168 - ₹ 33,093
Hotel Class:2 star — Afton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Afton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing