We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Lunch But Wish I'd Read The Reviews First”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mansion Lions Hotel
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
546 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch But Wish I'd Read The Reviews First”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We arrived in Eastbourne with about an hour to have lunch before going to a funeral. We didn't have time to look around so just walked into the first seafront hotel with a menu outside. There were 3 staff at or loitering around reception and one guest in the lounge. It didn't feel very good, right from the start, but we had no time to look elsewhere.

We ordered 2 tuna & cheese panini, a diet pepsi and a sparkling water. We had to order and pay at reception (we were overcharged 20p for the pepsi but I didn't bother to point it out). We then sat in the lounge and after a while one of the men who had been standing around in the reception area came and opened the bar, poured our drinks and closed the bar (this was 1pm on a Wednesday lunchtime). He brought the drinks - both of which were almost flat - to our table and disappeared. After about 20 minutes I went to reception to check on the paninis, but there was nobody in sight and no bell to ring. About 5 minutes later the paninis arrived, with some very limp lettuce, tomtato and cucumber (how did they manage to make it all look like the scraggy bit that you would normally discard on the end of the cucumber?) on the side. The paninis were actually quite tasty and crispy, although they could have been a little hotter.

All I can say is I'm glad we hadn't booked a mid-week break!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
43 Thank Bluesprout61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at Mansion Lions Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
This is very helpful feed back, thank you. The important point is that the sandwich when it arrived was good, but the delay, and presentation of the drinks was not up to our usual standard. The necessary staff re-training has taken place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    72
    60
    39
    69
See reviews for
38
69
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

on arrival
the receptionist welcomed us and did not seem like she cared that we had arrived she then got payment from us and told us our room was on 3rd floor did not bother to show us to our room we had to find our own way, get to the room and look around very old fashioned and carpet was tuffed up toiletries where just thrown on the side soap has feicies on it and when we requested to see the manager she rudly spoke back after pressing the issue we where moved to another room they even gave us a key to someone elses room whichj we where ment to be using as a bathroom feel like the receptionist did not even care they did not even ask for the key back and still have not and we have left now shows how much they take notice the lights did not work in the shower room and shower drain was blocked with a mount of hair like the cleaner did not notice that, the tv did not work we had to retune it our selves and the milk was out of date, breakfast was ok could do with cooking their eggs a little more my egg was raw in the center and bacon was uncooked , could do with more of a selection on fruit and more then one cup of coffee they where rude and did not serve us we had to ask for someone to serve us after waiting half an hour. great location could do with updating and fixing of a few things hallway had wires hanging out of the roof looked very unsafe. all in all i would never recomend this hotel again and sadly i wish we had stayed at arundel like planned.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank cariann23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Toddington (Beds)
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Just back from a few days break and really enjoyed my stay. Staff were friendly always with a smile. Single sea view room was to be expected rather small but not a problem, it could do with a few touches like some pictures on the walls, and like my mates room the large electronic clock had stopped! don't room service notice this?
Breakfast was okay but could do with more selection with fruits etc.
I have stayed at Mansion Lions before and have always been satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Booked and paid deposit by credit card for two rooms ,arrived just after midnight and even before getting the bags in was asked to pay upfront without seeing the rooms.I refused and told the receptionist that he had my card details,he took my card details again. Lift did not work that night and had to carry bags up to fourth floor. First room , a twin, was quite large,fairly clean but had some decor problems,ie peeling wallpaper. Second room, a double, was clean but quite small and in need of decoration. Was concerned that the smoke detector on the stairs outside our room was hanging out of the ceiling on its wires ,and Fire Alarm panel in reception was showing a fault light.
Breakfast was ok as was service, but the staff,mostly young and Eastern European could have been more customer orientated.
Wedding and reception dinner and evening buffet were acceptable, but was amazed to see the staff at the end of the evening not remove the dirty table cloths but just put clean ones over them ready for breakfast the next morning.
We went down to breakfast on the last morning to our table which looked as if someone else had eaten there before us and it had not been cleaned up properly.
I had misplaced/lost £60 in cash and when I told the receptionist she didn't even acknowledge the fact or take any details.
We later found out that two other people that weekend had purses taken from their rooms or pushchairs.
Would I stay at this hotel again? Absolutely no chance.
Would I recommend this hotel ? Absolutely no chance.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
17 Thank grumpy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I was part of a large group that stayed recently, check in was a little hectic but with so many people that is always going to be an issue, especially when the lift is small. I think it was hit or miss with the rooms. We were pleasantly surprised by our room which was large and clean. The only downside was there was a large stain on the ceiling (from a leak from bathroom above I suspect), which did look unsightly and was badly patched up. The repairs that have gone on are to a substandard and would recommend the hotel check on any repairs done and not allow bodge jobs repairs. Other members of our party was not so fortunate and had poor rooms, and as someone stated in another review it appears as the further you go up the worse it got. The TV did not work in our room but to be fair was quickly rectified, although the picture quality was poor (no digital signal, analog only). The dining room was also a hit and miss affair. The first night was strange, the food was very good, but the service very poor, and although some of the staff had poor English there is no excuse for rudeness. When one of or party complained to the waitress (I suspect it was “Helga”) that he and found a hair in his dinner (which he had, I saw it), the reply was “I don’t know who’s it is” which may be correct but not really the response that was required. Fortunately for the rest of our trip we were on another table which was served by a very polite happy waiter who was great. The meal times are odd, the dining room cannot accommodate everyone at the same time so they have a very strict timetable which can and did cause issues. On a more positive note the Barman was great and had a good sense of humour, and the in house quiz went down very well indeed. So for some of our party it was good hotel with no issues for others it was not so, very hit and miss which makes it difficult to rate.

Room Tip: As others have stated lower floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 km away
Albany Lions Hotel
Albany Lions Hotel
#36 of 40 in Eastbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.6 km away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.3 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Lions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Lions Hotel

Property: Mansion Lions Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,283 - ₹ 14,192
Hotel Class:3 star — Mansion Lions Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mansion Lions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing