We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,271)
Filter reviews
1,271 results
Traveller rating
806
334
94
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
806
334
94
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club water sports colony club junior suite rum punch ice lollies ocean view water taxi cold towels omelette the cliff happy hour water skiing banana boat second visit crystal cove bottle of wine
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,271 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Great place, location excellent, staff can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable.
Lovely restaurant and excellent breakfast.. Very clean beach and good facilities. We would recommend this as it is small and informal.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Brian P,

Thanks for the five-star review! We are thrilled that your time with us was brilliant and that you were fond of our location, food and facilities. It brings us joy to know that our staff made a lasting impact on your stay and that they could not do enough to ensure that you had a great time at Tamarind. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

I last visited this hotel 5 years ago with my sister . A wedding nearby at the Cliff made me book again . In general we had a very good time and many of the pluses were still here .The location is great right on the magical beach with pools overlooking the beach and good food at breakfast and lunch (we ate out at night.) . We had a problem with the room allocated and the manager allowed us to change to a lower grade which suited us better .The manager kindly gave us a credit for food and drink to make up for this .

The downside is that there are areas that need upgrading and in my opinion quite a lot of money needs to be spent .We were able to get a good discount as we booked way in advance but I would have been questioning the value if I had paid full price .There seemed to be a few maintenance problems in the hotel but they tried hard to rectify them.

It should be said that the Hotel clearly has very loyal guests who come back time after time mainly from the UK ,so at the minute it,s charm still wins through

Room Tip: Junior suites with sea views are great
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Joy K,

Thank you for making a return trip to paradise recently! We were so glad to welcome you back 'home' to Tamarind and are glad that it was a happy return for you. It is wonderful that you were still able to have fun soaking up the sunshine on our beautiful stretch of white and beach and multiple pools. And, it sounds like you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and delicious options for lunch. Thank you for your candid feedback regarding the appearance of our hotel, and please note that there are upcoming renovations in the pipeline. We can only hope that you will be able to see them in person and that we will be able to welcome you back to Tamarind once again.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

We were a group of 5 that enjoyed our stay here very much. The beach offers a swim up trampoline which we took advantage of most days, as well as a floating dock with a bench. Snorkelling first thing in the morning is incredible with lots of fish to see in the coral. Free of charge is motorized and unmotorized activities that include kayaking, paddle boarding, catamarans, water skiing, banana boats, etc. Drinks by the pool are great, especially at happy hour and the night entertainment was nice too. Great selection of breakfast in the morning and the happiest woman on the island making omelettes to start your day off right!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Jennifer A,

We appreciate your kind review regarding your recent stay at Tamarind. To know that all 5 of you enjoyed your stay with us brings us great joy! We are delighted to note your satisfaction with the variety of Signature Elegant Inclusions that we provide our guests, including the complimentary water sports. What wonderful memories you made whilst snorkeling with the abundance of wildlife that lies just a few meters of of our shoreline. And, it sounds like those omelettes from Ether gave you lasting energy throughout the day to enjoy our happy hour and nightly entertainment, as well.

We can only hope that we will be granted the opportunity to host you all again in the nearest of futures.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

I e-mailed the hotel the week before our visit to request a top floor room and I appreciate that it cannot be guaranteed but we were lucky to be allocated one. Thank you.
Breakfast is not just breakfast it is a cookery lesson!! When making the perfect omelette you must swing your hips!! All staff we spoke to were polite , friendly and helpful. We hope to return next year, what better recommendation!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Ross M,

Thank you for your review and our team is thrilled to learn that you enjoyed another great stay with us. Providing our guests with the friendliest service is of top priority to us, so we are glad that you were able to experience this throughout the duration of your stay. And, it seems like you attended and enjoyed the omelette school of Ether! We all look forward to the opportunity to welcome you through our doors once again in the nearest of futures.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from our 11th visit to Tamarind. You may think we are quite without imagination to return to the same hotel year after year. The opposite is true. My work has taken me to numerous hotels worldwide. Many of them excellent and memorable.

So there must be reasons for our regular visits to the Tamarind.

First of all the magnificent location. Virtually on the white sandy beach and the crystal clear water a stone’s throw from your balcony.

The hotel itself is moderate in size. The rooms spacious and overall well maintained. (Some of the rooms could do with refurbishment).

The staff are friendly, competent and they all make you feel welcome and special. We normally take half board, and we have found this to be a good deal. The menu varies through the week and the food is of high quality.

The Tamarind is also family friendly.
All in all The Tamarind is a place to return to. It comes highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stangholmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear stangholmen,

First and foremost, we wish to issue our deepest gratitude for you continually making the Tamarind Hotel your destination of choice when staying in Barbados. We are honored that you just came back from your 11th visit to our resort and that it was another lovely one. Our team is pleased to note your satisfaction with our gorgeous West Coast beachfront location, your spacious accommodations, and delicious culinary offerings. We are simply delighted to know that our team has been spoiling you for so many years and that you have felt welcomed and special each time.

On behalf of everyone at Tamarind, thank you for becoming apart of our family, and we look forward to the next time that you will return 'home.'

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews