We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$ 499
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The House by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$ 855
US$ 782
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach View(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$ 271
US$ 241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa All Inclusive(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$ 426
US$ 344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 406/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

All Seasons Resort Europa(Sunset Crest)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Divi Heritage(Saint James Parish)
US$ 142
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$ 704
US$ 613
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Bay All Inclusive(Holetown)(Great Value!)
US$ 459
US$ 371
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,252)
Filter reviews
1,252 results
Traveller rating
794
330
92
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
794
330
92
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubcolony clubwater sportsjunior suiteice lolliesocean viewrum punchwater taxicold towelsomelettethe cliffwater skiingbanana boatsecond visithappy hourcrystal covebottle of wine
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,252 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018

We were a group of 5 that enjoyed our stay here very much. The beach offers a swim up trampoline which we took advantage of most days, as well as a floating dock with a bench. Snorkelling first thing in the morning is incredible with lots of fish to see in the coral. Free of charge is motorized and unmotorized activities that include kayaking, paddle boarding, catamarans, water skiing, banana boats, etc. Drinks by the pool are great, especially at happy hour and the night entertainment was nice too. Great selection of breakfast in the morning and the happiest woman on the island making omelettes to start your day off right!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Jennifer A,

We appreciate your kind review regarding your recent stay at Tamarind. To know that all 5 of you enjoyed your stay with us brings us great joy! We are delighted to note your satisfaction with the variety of Signature Elegant Inclusions that we provide our guests, including the complimentary water sports. What wonderful memories you made whilst snorkeling with the abundance of wildlife that lies just a few meters of of our shoreline. And, it sounds like those omelettes from Ether gave you lasting energy throughout the day to enjoy our happy hour and nightly entertainment, as well.

We can only hope that we will be granted the opportunity to host you all again in the nearest of futures.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

I e-mailed the hotel the week before our visit to request a top floor room and I appreciate that it cannot be guaranteed but we were lucky to be allocated one. Thank you.
Breakfast is not just breakfast it is a cookery lesson!! When making the perfect omelette you must swing your hips!! All staff we spoke to were polite , friendly and helpful. We hope to return next year, what better recommendation!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Ross M,

Thank you for your review and our team is thrilled to learn that you enjoyed another great stay with us. Providing our guests with the friendliest service is of top priority to us, so we are glad that you were able to experience this throughout the duration of your stay. And, it seems like you attended and enjoyed the omelette school of Ether! We all look forward to the opportunity to welcome you through our doors once again in the nearest of futures.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from our 11th visit to Tamarind. You may think we are quite without imagination to return to the same hotel year after year. The opposite is true. My work has taken me to numerous hotels worldwide. Many of them excellent and memorable.

So there must be reasons for our regular visits to the Tamarind.

First of all the magnificent location. Virtually on the white sandy beach and the crystal clear water a stone’s throw from your balcony.

The hotel itself is moderate in size. The rooms spacious and overall well maintained. (Some of the rooms could do with refurbishment).

The staff are friendly, competent and they all make you feel welcome and special. We normally take half board, and we have found this to be a good deal. The menu varies through the week and the food is of high quality.

The Tamarind is also family friendly.
All in all The Tamarind is a place to return to. It comes highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stangholmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear stangholmen,

First and foremost, we wish to issue our deepest gratitude for you continually making the Tamarind Hotel your destination of choice when staying in Barbados. We are honored that you just came back from your 11th visit to our resort and that it was another lovely one. Our team is pleased to note your satisfaction with our gorgeous West Coast beachfront location, your spacious accommodations, and delicious culinary offerings. We are simply delighted to know that our team has been spoiling you for so many years and that you have felt welcomed and special each time.

On behalf of everyone at Tamarind, thank you for becoming apart of our family, and we look forward to the next time that you will return 'home.'

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Leaving The Tamarind tomorrow after a lovely holiday ! Cannot fault friendliness of the staff ! Fantastic location right in the beach , amazing !!! However from four years ago when we last visited the resort seems to have lost its magic ! Everything is looking extremely tired , Sunbed’s around the resort , the rooms need re decoration , breakfast room exceptionally shoddy with very poor choice and quality of of food ! The two boutiques which gave the resort some glamour is closed the other very tired ! I feel extremely sad that this beautiful resort has certainly lost its sparkle and elegance which I was so looking forward to on my return ! Come on Tamarind ! You have a fantastic loyal friendly team and everything going for you but I’m sad to say unless there are improvements I will not be returning in the future
Things have to be maintained and given the love it so deserves

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
7  Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Joanne F,

Thank you for choosing Tamarind as host to your recent holiday. We are so thankful for those guests who choose to return to our resort time and time again. It sounds like you were able to have a relaxing holiday - lounging on the beach, being spoiled by our friendly staff, and relishing in our prime West Coast location. Hopefully you had the opportunity to add some adventure into your holiday and test out our complimentary water sports.

However, we are saddened that you were disappointed in the overall appearance of our resort. We do perform routine maintenance to ensure that our product is true to our elegant standards, but please know that we do have larger products in the pipeline. Your feedback has been directed to the department heads and will be used so that we can continually improve the guest experience.

We can only hope that we will be granted the opportunity to host you once again and showcase our commitment to continually improving the guest experience.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We have been fortunate to visit Barbados on several occasions in previous years. We recently stayed at The Tamarind, as we had previously experienced the Elegant Resorts group and have always been pleasantly impressed and happy with our choice. Unfortunately in this instance we were slightly disappointed.

We felt on first impression there was no real ‘wow’ factor in the large entrance foyer. This is the Caribbean where the beautiful and colourful flowers are in abundance so perhaps a fresh flower arrangement or a stunning piece of artwork or sculpture could have been on display instead of a rather sad looking small dried flower ‘arrangement’ behind the check-in desk.

I believe there has been some general refurbishment and replacement but, for us, some of the public areas and facilities were still looking a little tired and neglected.

Having said this we did like the hotel, we also liked the spacious rooms and large balcony, the amazing location, the food, the staff, and the service but we really wanted to ‘LOVE’ it all. One of the sail boats on the beach was aptly named ‘What’s not to like’ which more or less summed up our experience.

We will return to Barbados as it it such a beautiful island but sadly, for the time being, perhaps not to The Tamarind.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tekayhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Tekayhat,

Thank you for making Tamarind your destination of choice on your recent adventure down to Barbados. We are so happy that you were impressed with our spacious accommodations and found the large balconies lovely. Hopefully you had the opportunity to relax in one of the lounge chairs on the balcony and relish in the famous West Coast sunsets our prime location soaks up. It sounds like you also were fond of our staff, who are truly some of the most friendly people on the island.

However, we are disappointed that your time with us was not worthy of five stars. Please know that your comments have reached our best attention and we will take them to heart, as we are always looking for more ways to improve our product. And, please also note that we do have refurbishments in the pipeline, so we hope that one day you will be able to see them in person. We look forward to being given the opportunity to serve you at our best.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews