We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Roch Mill and Granary holiday cottage are set in beautiful gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Roch Mill and Granary holiday cottage are set in beautiful gardens
Newgale beach - caves and rock pools accessible at mid and low tide Mill race meandering through Granary gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Roch Mill and Granary holiday cottage are set in beautiful gardens
Newgale beach - caves and rock pools accessible at mid and low tide
Mill race meandering through Granary gardens
Granary self-catering holiday cottage
Granary living area
Granary lounge
Granary dining area
Mini water wheel between pond and mill race
Surfing on Newgale beach - one of the best surfing beaches around
Granary gardens in autumn
Pentre Ifan - mesolithic burial tomb in North Pembrokeshire
Solva harbour
Roch Bridge beside Roch Mill
The Brandybrook river bounds the Granary gardens
Brandbrook valley path alongside Roch Mill estate
Lower pond at Roch Mill
Puffins on Skomer Island - a 'must visit' for May, June or July holidays
Newgale beach - 2 miles of sand backed by a pebble beach and bounded by sea cliffs
Blue Lagoon at Abereiddy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newgale, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Awooduk
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful cottage in a peaceful location a short drive from one of the most beautiful beaches in Pembrokeshire. Pat and Dave made us feel very welcome, and even left a particularly delicious bottle of spanish wine for us to enjoy! Pembrokeshire is incredibly beautiful and I couldn't imagine a better place to stay and enjoy it's wonders.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you Andy. Delighted you enjoyed your holiday so much. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMPHassan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picturesque cottage and gardens near Newgale's beautiful coastline”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at Roch Mill during the May half term with our 2 children, 4 & 2 years old. We all had an absolutely wonderful time. Newgale's beaches are only a short drive away and are beautiful. The cottage at the Granary comes fully equipped and even has laundry facilities, which as a parent of small children was appreciated. The loft room was lovely and had plenty of space. My 4 year old loved it but was not suitable for my 2 year old however there was enough space to put our travel cot in the room.
Pat and Dave were lovely and welcoming hosts, always available for suggestions of what to do & see and where to eat. They have beautifully restored the Granary and its surrounding gardens.
We definitely plan on making another visit back to the relaxing Roch Mill Granary and the beautiful beaches of Newgale soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Thank you Elaine. We much appreciate you taking the trouble to write a review of your stay at The Granary and are delighted that you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to welcoming you back before very long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyBexl...
Bexleyheath
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted with a very warm welcome by Pat and Dave on arrival at the Mill. The location of the cottage was ideal, very quiet but within easy reach of places to visit including the magnificent beach at Newgale.

It was our first visit to Pembrokeshire and we were truly stunned by the coastal scenery and the amount of things to do/places to see. One of the highlights was a visit to Skomer Island to see the puffins, which was definitely worth the early morning start to make a memorable experience.

The cottage itself was spotlessly clean, very well equipped and comfortable, situated in a beautiful garden that we were free to enjoy. Dave and Pat were extremely informative about the surrounding area and were on hand (but not obtrusive), to provide us with any information we needed. Our only regret was not having enough time to take advantage of the garden surroundings and glorious weather, due to our ‘to do ‘list of places to visit once we learnt what Pembrokeshire had to offer.

We ate in a variety of restaurants and pubs, but would recommend the Friday curry night at the local pub which is within walking distance.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return to see the many places we did not get a chance to visit, and to take time to relax in the local area and enjoy the gardens

Thank you Pat and Dave for giving us the opportunity to share such a special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and surroundings of the cottage, with friendly owners.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Thank you Alan for such a brilliant review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Mati...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored cottage with lovely hosts in stunning grounds near spectacular coast”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful few days at the Granary at Roch Mill.

Pat and Dave were the perfect hosts, setting up the cottage just right for us (down to tea bags and milk), always ready to answer questions and give helpful tips but never imposing on our privacy.

The cottage has been beautifully restored, is very comfortable with all mod cons. It is set in stunning grounds and was the perfect base from which to explore this spectacular part of the world - amazing beaches and coastal walks a short drive away.

We can't wait to return...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2015
Thank you Philip. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and are very grateful for your splendid review. We look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne089
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Shangrila”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Within minutes of arriving at Granary Cottage, we had to agree with previous reviews this was somewhere very special. The cottage contains everything you could wish for with complimentary tea milk sugar and a bottle of excellent wine. A comfortable bed awaits you at the end of each memorable day. The gardens are spectacular. Dave and Pat (not forgetting Molly their adorable border collie) are lovely hosts.

Early the following morning sitting on the bench alongside the largest pond, with the gurgling of water and the gentle rattling of the small waterwheel, birdsong, the occasional brown trout stirring the water, what more do you want? It would be easy to ignore the outstanding beauty of the nearby coastline and the wealth of history that St Davids has to offer and be seduced to spend all your time here. The feeling of tranquillity rivals the peace we experience in the area surrounding St Non’s Chapel & Holy Well, St Davids.
For the more energetic, the activities available within a short drive are endless. From boat cruises to the bird sanctuaries on Skomer, Grassholm and Skokholm, Coasteering and Sea Kayaking, or a walk along the coastal path enjoying fabulous views…

On our last day, we took Molly for a walk up the valley; the footpath following the course of Brandybrook River. Bluebells and primroses lay scattered about. To our right-a sea of white blossoms of blackthorn trees appeared. As we neared the brooding ruins of Newmill, a breathtaking bank of primroses stretched as far as the eye could see. This was a scene fit for a fairytale.
Later, Dave diverted water to activate the large Millwheel while Molly played in the garden…bliss, pure bliss.
The whole enterprise is a credit to Dave and Pat’s hard work and ingenuity. Dave’s lovely video of the gardens and surrounding area, included in his online details needs a mention.

We are already planning another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything...a Welsh Shangrila.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
What a splendid review, thank you David. The Brandybrook valley is a special place and we are very fortunate to live in such an outstanding location. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 99
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing