We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Shangrila”
other travellers have booked this property
Roch Mill and Granary holiday cottage are set in beautiful gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Roch Mill and Granary holiday cottage are set in beautiful gardens
Newgale beach - caves and rock pools accessible at mid and low tide Mill race meandering through Granary gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Roch Mill and Granary holiday cottage are set in beautiful gardens
Newgale beach - caves and rock pools accessible at mid and low tide
Mill race meandering through Granary gardens
Granary self-catering holiday cottage
Granary living area
Granary lounge
Granary dining area
Mini water wheel between pond and mill race
Surfing on Newgale beach - one of the best surfing beaches around
Granary gardens in autumn
Pentre Ifan - mesolithic burial tomb in North Pembrokeshire
Solva harbour
Roch Bridge beside Roch Mill
The Brandybrook river bounds the Granary gardens
Brandbrook valley path alongside Roch Mill estate
Lower pond at Roch Mill
Puffins on Skomer Island - a 'must visit' for May, June or July holidays
Newgale beach - 2 miles of sand backed by a pebble beach and bounded by sea cliffs
Blue Lagoon at Abereiddy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newgale, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Wayne089
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Shangrila”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Within minutes of arriving at Granary Cottage, we had to agree with previous reviews this was somewhere very special. The cottage contains everything you could wish for with complimentary tea milk sugar and a bottle of excellent wine. A comfortable bed awaits you at the end of each memorable day. The gardens are spectacular. Dave and Pat (not forgetting Molly their adorable border collie) are lovely hosts.

Early the following morning sitting on the bench alongside the largest pond, with the gurgling of water and the gentle rattling of the small waterwheel, birdsong, the occasional brown trout stirring the water, what more do you want? It would be easy to ignore the outstanding beauty of the nearby coastline and the wealth of history that St Davids has to offer and be seduced to spend all your time here. The feeling of tranquillity rivals the peace we experience in the area surrounding St Non’s Chapel & Holy Well, St Davids.
For the more energetic, the activities available within a short drive are endless. From boat cruises to the bird sanctuaries on Skomer, Grassholm and Skokholm, Coasteering and Sea Kayaking, or a walk along the coastal path enjoying fabulous views…

On our last day, we took Molly for a walk up the valley; the footpath following the course of Brandybrook River. Bluebells and primroses lay scattered about. To our right-a sea of white blossoms of blackthorn trees appeared. As we neared the brooding ruins of Newmill, a breathtaking bank of primroses stretched as far as the eye could see. This was a scene fit for a fairytale.
Later, Dave diverted water to activate the large Millwheel while Molly played in the garden…bliss, pure bliss.
The whole enterprise is a credit to Dave and Pat’s hard work and ingenuity. Dave’s lovely video of the gardens and surrounding area, included in his online details needs a mention.

We are already planning another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything...a Welsh Shangrila.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
What a splendid review, thank you David. The Brandybrook valley is a special place and we are very fortunate to live in such an outstanding location. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J M
Pencoed, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday - for the second year running”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our second visit to Roch Mill. Both times we have had a lovely visit.

The accomodation is clean, well equipped and comfortable. The sleeping accommodation is all in one room with a double bed and mezzanine loft above with two more beds, which the kids think is great (aged 6,4 & 2). Everything you need in the kitchen for cooking etc.

The property is a restored mill which has lovingly been brought up to modern standards by the owners, Dave and Pat, from what was once a near ruin. Dave and Pat live right next door and are very willing to provide helpful information or talk about the intriguing restoration project of both the house and grounds.

The grounds are beautiful and peaceful and include a lake, streams and meadow area all of which are full of wildlife and which you are free to explore. There is also a lovely woodland / riverside walk just accross the bridge on the other side of the river. We need to also mention the very well behaved and friendly Molly the dog - after all, as far as the children are concerned this is "Molly's house" (sorry Dave and Pat!).

Newgale beach and also the quieter more secluded Nolton Haven are around 5 mins drive away. St Davids and Haverfordwest are well within easy striking distance. For others going with kids there is a good park at the top of the hill just behind Roch primary school where they can burn off energy!

All in all thouroughly enjoyed our second easter holiday here and would recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful Surroundings
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We're pleased that Molly is such a hit with your children. She just loves all the attention. Hope to see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard a
1 review
“Stunning cottage and gardens”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Granary is a superb small cottage. The owners Pat and Dave whose house is attached to the Granary were welcoming but not intrusive hosts. They were friendly and helpful.The location is beautiful set within several acres of grounds part landscaped part wild that are wonderful to walk through- often in the company of Mollie the collie! If you are lucky-as we were- you might get sight of the tawny owls and heron that frequent the grounds. The cottage is neat and well designed with simple but comfortable furniture. The kitchen is very well equipped and although we chose to eat out it is more than capable of cooking full meals. Our daughter loved the crog loft and fitted in despite being 13 and 5ft 7ins tall. Her only complaint was my snoring! I would recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to come to Pembrokeshire. We have stayed in many cottages in the area during the last 10 years but this one comes top of our list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and gardens-beautiful
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you Richard for your splendid review. We are fortunate that so many of our guests, like yourselves, really appreciate the granary and its surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CXW2014
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful as ever!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A wonderful cottage set in beautiful grounds close to the Pembroke coast. The cottage is clean, spacious and well equipped for all our needs. Location is great, just five minutes from Newgale beach. St David's tends to be a bit of a sun trap, we've been really lucky with the weather on every visit. We're both keen on the outdoors so the cottage is just perfect for us, a very comfortable retreat after a day out on the surf or seacliffs! As ever, the property owners were most gracious hosts. Can't wait to come back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Great review Chloe. Many, many thanks. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise in Pembrokeshire”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is our second time staying at The Granary, and it certainly won't be our last. Set in an idyllic location deep in the countryside but 5 minutes from Newgale beach by car. The Granary offers everything you could want for a relaxing away-from-it-all holiday. The owners, Pat and Dave, are the perfect hosts, happy to oblige and full of extremely useful information about the surrounding area.

The cottage is well equipped, comfortable and spotlessly clean. There is an extensive information pack containing information about the area and things to see and do, but we always found Dave and Pat the best source of info.

The Granary has a beautiful meadow surrounding it, and a small stream. If you are a nature lover you could easily spend a day just wandering the garden and meadow with a camera and a good book. There is a beautiful walk through an ancient wood that borders the meadow.

Finally, how can I write a review without mentioning Dave and Pat's dog, the wonderful Molly the Collie, who never tired of showing us around her meadows and gardens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the peace and quiet
Liked least: We could only stay for one week!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
What a wonderful review, thank you Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing