We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
32
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
3
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

We have had the best 8 days at this beautiful villa it’s just as described Were absolutely amazed about the family from India that left an awful review it was really uncalled for how they could actually be so petty and rude about this place and the wonderful hosts its laughable! This is a hillside rustic home that is home from home everything you need is here. You must enjoy a little nature that all I’d say. But that’s what Thailand is all about surely.... The host is a lovely lady that I would say couldn’t be aggressive towards a fly and Anny is just kind and so helpful tidying after us! We had use of mopeds a truck and got lifts if we wanted to drink on a night out. The beds were the best nights sleep any of us had had in a while it was just 10/10 all round for the most amazing family holiday we hope that anyone considering this villa ignores the arrogance of the one and only bad review it’s rubbish go for here you won’t regret it. We thank Janya (that’s the correct spelling of her name by the way) & Anny for making our 2nd week in koh Samui just perfect all the best Jay,Anne, David, Paige & Kenny xx

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at Baan Sijan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you so much for your review
We are so glad you had a wonderful holiday
You’ve actually put our faith back in humanity!!!!
Thanks again for your true reflection on our beautiful villa and home and the people who work so hard to make people’s holidays so special
Kind regards from us all xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

So please, we have chosen to stay at Baan Sijan resort, the staff are so lovely, kind and always extremely helpful... the villa is stunning and I love the decor, the kitchen is so spacious and very clean. The spa area with the sauna is such a bonus, I have to mention the bar and pool area just great for entertaining as we are able to use the BBQ area too. Me and my friends feel so relax and will definitely choose to stay here again if we come back to Koh Samui...
thank you to Janya and Annie for a wonderful Service. You’ve made our vacation feel so special and worthwhile.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mananya2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sijan, Owner at Baan Sijan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay
We hope to see you again and hopefully we can arrange the in-house chef that unfortunately on this occasion we couldn’t
Again many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Terrible experience. Property was nothing like the photos or the reviews. It was very poorly lit, dark and dingy, very run down with broken air conditioning, over flowing toilets, no hot water, dirty linen and very dirty kitchen equipment. Basic comforts were missing to the extent that the previous reviews about this property seem contrived. The host Janie, who is the caretaker of the property, physically abused one of our family members when they tried to take photos of the run down aspects of the place. It is not a safe environment to visit. We felt extremely threatened and had to leave immediately after one of our family members was pushed and physically threatened by Janie. We were booked for one week but left after having spent one night there as we did not feel safe. The hosts are not straightforward people and at one point we were concerned that they may call someone to threaten us. When we tried to explain to them politely that we were not comfortable as the basics were not in place, Janie told us that we come from India and should not have much to complain about as people from our country "go to the toilet all over the place"

-The down stairs leisure area looks very nice in the photos, however it is not so in reality. The outdoor furniture is dirty and dumped in a haphazard manner and there is hardly any light.

- The pillars of the property are covered with dirty torn cloth

-The curtains are old and filthy

-The towels have holes in them

-The toilets over flowed as the flush did not work

-The air-conditioner had not been serviced in months, it was very hot and the air conditioner had no gas

-The seating in the upstairs area is old and faded

-The wooden flooring is old and run down

-On air bnb it says that the property provides a baby cot and high chair but they were both broken and not possible to be used

-The kitchen equipment was very dirty and there was no service what so ever

-They also have a huge step in each bathroom which is about 1 foot high or more and they make no mention of this anywhere, this does not suit people of all age groups as we also had some elderly members travelling in our group

We spoke to the owner of the property who is based in England to explain to him our discontent but he just turned everything back on us. He kept the full payment due for a full one week when we checked out within one night. He did not care at all that his house care taker Janie is doing such a poor job of maintaining the property.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank devika2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sijan, Owner at Baan Sijan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Raghav
How sad that you have stooped so low
You know the truth and the reasons why you have acted the way you have but feel free to spread your false accusations and lies
I’m happy for anyone to come and view the property and do a detailed report.
Why is it that guests that actually arrived after you where extremely happy and couldn’t believe how beautiful the villa was and how wonderful and helpful the staff where
I will let the people work out for themselves by visiting and reading passed and recent reviews
As you stated in your email to me
We have NOTHING AGAINST THE PLACE ITS JUST NOT FOR US !!!!
That says it all so then to try to get a refund by running the property and staff down
I have nothing else to say on this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice setting and Janya was a perfect host. It is very remote so you have to rely on taxi service that Janya provides but really beautiful place to stay and a bit different from usual hotels as it is someone's home.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank lisacD3822PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

These villas are truely paradise !
Its like someone looked for the best views you could possibly dream of and put these villas there on a mountain side. I was in AWWW everday. The villas are modern and fully equipped. Some even have infinitely pools. The re is also a central pool. If you are truely looking to get away from it all than this is your paradise . I truely have no COMPLAINTS. The staff Is also accommodateing.Thancks for recharging my batteries. .

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews