We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location with great staff....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location with great staff....”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed for 5 days at this hotel, highly recommended by one the TA members and we have no regrets. Staff are polite, friendly and always willing to make guests comfortable. Our rooms were not ready when we arrived at 8.00am (their checkin is 3.00pm), they made every effort to get a room ready for us to rest as I told them we had a long flight a night before. Breakfast can be quite boring for some as there is not much variety but the set up and staff makes us go back for a coffee every morning!! Rooms are spacious with a little kitchenette and the view from the the spacious balcony was magnificient for sunrise and sunset on clear days. 3 times Shuttle to Georgetown is a bonus and there is a bus stop in front of the hotel makes it even better. Bus 101, 102, 103 takes you straight to the city. This hotel will definitely be my first choice when I return.

Room Tip: High floor with balcony facing the ocean to watch sunrise and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bibsterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    317
    195
    68
    53
See reviews for
230
241
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have now stayed at this hotel on six occassions and will make it seven in November of this year. We have been to Penang many times prior to our stays at this hotel [ all at Batu Ferringhi]
and decided to try somewhere different 4 years ago. This hotel has never dissapointed us, and in fact always delights us. We can talk about the physical aspects of the hotel [already discussed by other reviewers], but the most imortant aspect of any holiday is the people you meet along the way. The staff at this hotel and the level of service they provide is of the highest possible order. Had this not of been the case we would have had doubts about returning to this hotel, but the thought of going anywhere else has never entered our minds..The hotel is extremely well managed and we would like to give a special thanks to Maria [concierge] ,Christine and Mr Nithi [Managers] for the efforts they are prepared to go to make their guests comfortable.
It must be mentioned that this hotel is beautifully positioned on Sandy Bay, Tanjungh Bungah halfway between Georgetown and Batu Ferringhi with the public bus service at the front door.This hotel is less than half the cost of comparable Batu Ferringhi Hotels, but manages to provide a higher level of service and comes very close to matching their facilites. Its beach is just as fine and the pool lacks nothing in comparison. Given the right rooms the views are nothing short of outstanding.There are also several restaurants accross and up the road that provide good quality cheap meals. A night market operates every Tuesday 500 meters from the hotel and it is extremely popular with the locals and provides a strong variety of local foods and goods.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south western side provide fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilandnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We had a bad experience in this hotel with a bill. When checking out they said there was a bill to be paid. We agreed but we thought we diddn't drink what was on the bill. They couldn't produce our sighned bill so we said we would pay what we thought we had used. Then they give us all our money back. Later we recived an e-mail in witch they blackmailed us to pay the bill otherwise they would held it from the salary from the staff in the restaurant. Still without our signed bill. A day later they finally had the bill. It was correct and our memory not. We handed in our new hotel money to the staaf and asked if they could wire it to this hotel. So they did, very helpfull of them. Later the Paradis send us a mail, they recived the money and the staff was very relived they would not be shortend on there salary. We are in the Netherlands not used to such things, feld us blackmailed to pay the bill. The rest of the hotel was also not so weel, smaal swimmingpool with lots of boerkinis. Felt uncomfortable with our swimmingsuit. Breakfast was not good, plates often emty our dried out, coffe and tea on a warm plattter, you couldn,t recordnise tea as tea, very black and not tasty.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aziefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

an excellent hotel deluxe rooms includes a seperate lounge and kitchencombined very large as is the bedroom and bathroom there are two balconies toiletries and slippersboth rooms are very clean and very large bed staff are very friendly and obliging always smiling food was good but not much choice celentcould do with more western food location was eccelent on the beach with swimming pool behind would definetly stay there again also good value

Room Tip: a high floor overlooking bay and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186458Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice a year in the months of February and March and September and October for the past 9 years and I feel I must comment on the report by Westralian. I guess that this is the man who tried to Box Clever because he was so rude to one of the staff when politely requested to vacate an area of the hotel grounds so that a marquee could be erected for a function. This situation is not new and the hotel is one of the best in the area for Weddings and Corprate meetings and functions. He and his other friends which include (Oldies Abroad) who sit with him and his wife were given at least 24 hours notice of the marquee being erected and there was plenty of other places to sit and/or lie down in the shade and they did find somewhere else as the hotel was not very busy as it is low season. Much of what appears in his report is very much exagerated. He made comment that the Manager is lacking in communication skills, I have found the General Manager excellent in dealing with all matters and he has a world wide wealth of hotel management experience and in my opinion he does not suffer fools gladly. His comments on the pool towels is also wrong, towels are issued by the Pool Boys in exchange for a Towel Card and are available from approx 7 a.m. for the early risers who wished to reserve their sun beds before breakfast. A second batch of towels arrived between 9 and 10 a.m. The breakfasts are included in the room rate which for long stay guests is much less than the rack rate and the choice of food is adequate and caters for all tastes. If you have any special requirements, you only have to ask and the restuarant staff are more than happy to acommodate you. A minority of the long stay guests appear to go out of their way year after year to make complaints about the service in the hotel, yet still keep returning.

His comments that he is considering other hotels is probably because of his arrogance and rudness towards some of the staff in Paradise and I presume that he feels a little embarrased (as he should) to ask the hotel to take him back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and my choice is an Odd Numbered room so you have a view of the mountains an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
5.4 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
1.4 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.3 km away
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
#5 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
4.3 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort

Property: Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Address: 527 Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia (Formerly Paradise Sandy Beach Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Tanjung Bungah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tanjung Bungah
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,521 - ₹ 8,145
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at Tanjung Bungah, this 4-star resort is just 45minutes away from the Penang International Airport. Its tastefully decorated 315 suites are perfect for business traveller, leisure holiday or family vacation. All suites are fully air-conditioned, equipped with coffee & tea making facilities, hairdryer, IDD Telephone, 32 inch LCD screen TV, WI-FI in the room, mini fridge and in-room safe. Kitchenette facilities are available at cost upon request. The Breeze Cafe and Gaya’s Beach Side Bar & Restaurant, overlooking the sea, offers local & western cuisine, and a fully stocked bar for you to enjoy while you watch the sunset. An array of sea-sports, including parasailing, boat rides and jet skis are also available at the beach front. For the more adventurous who wish to explore the vicinity of the resort, the heritage city of Georgetown is only 20 minutes away, while a host of entertainment and night spots are just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Sandy Beach Hotel Tanjung Bungah
Paradise Sandy Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort Penang/Tanjung Bungah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing