We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful villa, home from home.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Silk Tree Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Lounge area
Open plan downstairs
Dining/lounge area
Kitchen/breakfast bar area
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 1
Main bathroom
En-suite
Covered outside dining area for day & night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Alethriko, Larnaka District

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jade G
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you need aircon this is not for you”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We visit Cyprus very often because we have lots of family out there and always book a private villa. The Villa is lovely, everything was clean as described.

The thing that was NOT described well was the air conditioning....it has a 2 hour timer. We don't use much air con at all but at night we like to use it if needed. In this Villa you are never able to use the air con for more than 2 hours which means you get woken in the night by the heat and actually have to get out of bed and press a button on the wall to reactivate it. We struggled to sleep for most of the holiday which is a shame.

The property manager in Cyprus Michelle is lovely and answers the phone at any time for advice about the Vila or the area. Unfortunately, the booking manager Sarah based in the UK is actually really difficult to talk to and rather rude. When I contacted her about the air con she lied and told me all the villas are like this. We know this is a lie because we spoke to other Vila owners and our many family members who live there. She also then tried to charge me another 50 Euros because I have been waking up in the night and putting it back on so I can try to get to sleep. I found this very hard to believe considering how much we paid to stay in the Villa in the first place.

In summary, if the air conditioning wasn't capped in the bedrooms and Sarah wasn't the property manager I would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your review. I am sorry that you felt that you were lied to, that was certainly not my intention. The conversation of the limiters has never been brought up by any of our guests prior to yourself. We have rented out the villa since 2010 and you are the first guests to have an issue. I do know for a fact that several properties on the development have the limiters installed regardless of what you have been told. Also if I have been rude again my apologies but that was not my intention and on the basis we did not liaise verbally once whilst you stayed at the villa but by email I am at a loss to understand where you got this impression. You will of course know that regardless of you failing to pay the 45 euro charge (not 50 euros as you state) I have not chased you for it. You are also aware the aircon charge was quoted to you when you made the booking and not added once you were there, and as only two of you were staying at the villa, you received a substantial discount from our normal rates due to booking very early.
So for those people who do wish to book a villa and would not choose to have the aircon on throughout the whole night which causes sore throats, headaches etc, then you will find that our home from home will live up to expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Pau...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful villa, home from home.”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Myself and 4 family members stayed at Silk Tree Villa for one week at the end of May 2015. The villa is outstanding with every need catered for. Sitting in the sunshine on the balcony overlooking rural Alethriko having that first cup of coffee, was the perfect start to each sunny day. The rural setting gives you a taste of true Cyprus. A car is a must though it is only short drive into the village where you can purchase wonderful local food at local prices. (Freshly baked bread and beautiful cakes every day) The locals are friendly and helpful. Drive to Fig Tree Bay near Protaras is recommended. Beautiful white sand and turquoise water, family friendly, excellent amenities. The villa provides an excellent base for exploring the island and offers luxurious accommodation to return to each evening. Hope to return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry P
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect Villa”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Outstanding Villa, everything you could possibly need for a chilled out holiday. Sarah has been so helpful. I would like to stay considering we stayed in December we had a good deal of sunlight. So much to see and good links in to the other parts of the island. The villa Had a real home from home feel. The villa itself was superb, Phill and Sarah had thought of everything. WIFI access was excellent and useful. A car is a must as the shops and restaurants are not within walking distance. The welcome booklet for the villa was really detailed and extremely useful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Phils handy tips
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and pool.
Liked least: Smelly drains!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jun 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our villa.

Having just returned ourselves from a relaxing 9 days at the villa, it appears that the drains issue was related to an ineffective filter which has now been replaced.

Whilst the pool is now up to a nice temperature, the early season was colder than normal at night. A pool cover is something that we will explore though.

We look forward to you visiting our Cypriot 'home from home' again in the future.

Best wishes
Sarah & Phill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rioja333
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent villa to get away from the fast lane!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Really nice villa well equipped and well maintained. The local manager was very helpful as was Sarah the owner. Asked for list of basics to be provided which had some excellent wine. Could not fault the villa itself best we have stayed in for a long time.
You definitely need a car as its a bit remote although the local restaurant in the village serves super fillet steak. Local shops in the next village had all you needed without the big supermarkets with reasonable prices.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing