We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$69
View deal
Expedia.com
$71
View deal
Agoda.com
$59
View deal
Hotels.com$71
Priceline$69
Travelocity$71
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
106
26
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
106
26
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hustle and bustle beautiful beach main beach rooms are comfortable whole team pool area mauritius french apartment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2019

The hotel is located 10 minutes walk to Pereybere or Bain Boeuf Beach, 8 minute walk to Winners & ATM. The beach, 30 metres away, referred to in the hotel website is reached by a walled walkway from the road & may only be 1 metre wide depending on the tide level. If you walk far enough you may find some dry sand but most beach is “private/privee” above the high water line (properties have signs posted). Do not plan on sitting on this beach unless you want to sit in wet sand (to be legal)! We tried snorkelling but no fish, sea grass & cloudy. In this area, the majority of the beach is taken up by large private apartments/residences with little access & places across the road often have no good view.

Check in was fine, a very friendly young lady looked after us, nice cold drinks & cold towel provided on arrival. We requested an upper room but was given a ground floor, Room 10-far end on the ground of hotel with a parking lot view, the sitting area is set back, private but dark & stuffy, no breeze could get to it so ends up being hot & stuffy & chairs needed to be moved out. Can hang wet clothing outside on rack, nice. Bed, comfortable, large with thick cover, better if sheet & cover, could use sheet & not have to keep AC down. Two large very hard pillows & two small flat pillows. Fridge, kettle (bring own coffee/tea, none provided), wardrobe, large safe, AC/fan,TV (French/Indian channels,maybe 1 English), near the road (noisy outside) but quiet with all windows closed. Decent curtains so room can be fairly dark in the early morning. Large bathroom, shower with door & one missing wall, liquid soap provided. Strong wi-fi. Bus stop just outside property.

Breakfast, same every day with very good service- yogurt, fruit bowl, eggs prepared 4 ways with sausages (weiners), coffee/hot water for tea brought to you, breads & cereals buffet.

Pool – nice size, large, clean & warm. Odd seating arrangement, 3 loungers (no cushions), 4 large cushion type beds (good for suntanning but not for comfortable other activities. Large covered seating area with chairs & short tables for relaxing & beverages. Not much breeze so got hot during the day.

There are long term guests, 2-3 weeks which get priority for an upper room , so if you have a room request for an upper room & staying only a week like us, you may end up on the ground floor like we did even though we asked for an upper floor room well in advance.

The hotel, room, service are all fine here but probably would not stay here or in the area again, no good beach close & we did not like the closed in feel of the area. Other places we stayed were more open & would get nice sea breezes. In this area, unless you are on the water, not much of a breeze or view.

Room tip: Do not take room 10 sitting area is very sheltered & is hot & stuffy when sitting there especially if it rains
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 November 2019 via mobile

A very beautiful place hidden along the road. The staff is very friendly and well trained the lady chef serves her guests very delicious creole dishes in a beautiful setting near the resort pool. Toparadis was our favorite restaurant during our resent stay. Can only highly recommend this place!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MarkusO1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AuroreB1009, Directeur général at Toparadis guest house & restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2020

Dear MarkusO1st,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a feedback.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us through by the staff, the restaurant and the atmosphere.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Toparadis.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2019

We have just returned from our second visit to this idealic place - we were welcomed by all of the staff like we were family - we cannot not recommend this place enough - the staff, accommodation, food and ambience is out of this world. "Guest House" does not do it justice - it is so much more and with access to a secret 1 kilometere beautiful, isolated beach, where you can often be the only people on it - what more could you ask for in Mauritius. Nothing is too much trouble for the excellent staff and we now consider ourselves as friends with Akshay, Amisha and Kaviiraj. We have no hesitation in recommending this idealic and peaceful haven for a wonderful holiday in a beautiful country, where all of the the Mauritian people and so hospitable and friendly.

Date of stay: October 2019
2  Thank Ambassador579979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AuroreB1009, Directeur général at Toparadis guest house & restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2020

Dear Ambassador579979,

Thank you for this very sweet comment.
We are happy to read that your second stay with us went very well and hope to see you soon at Toparadis.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

This hotel is a good choice if you are going to the Perybere area. Firstly, our room was excellent, we were in room number 7, it had a small separate sitting area with sofa and tv. The bedroom was massive, with a super kingsize bed. The bathroom was almost as big as the room, with twin sinks, walk-in twin head shower and a freestanding oval bathtub. The toilet was separate.

The pool area was clean, with loungers plastic seating and lounging beanbags (very comfortable) At most there were only two to four people at the pool at any time, though there were many guests, they left in hire cars to explore (as we did some days).

The restaurant was great, we ate there twice in the evening, the first time we had a chicken and prawn curry wich was spectacular!! The second time we chose chicken wraps, wich were not very great at all, dry with mostly lettuce, you could hardly find the chicken. We stayed at the hotel on a bed and breakfast basis, the breakfasts are so good!! plenty of choice and once I realised I could order crepes, I did so every morning. The flavoured rum at the hotel is so good, I had a vanilla rum every evening and loved it so much I brought 2 litres of it home!!

The hotel is situated on a faily busy road, but the noise is not bad, you literally cross that road and there is a little path of only a few feet to the sea! Although that beach is one for walking, not sunbathing as it is private, but the local public beach is only a 5-10 min walk away. .

Lastly, the staff, I have to say they were super warm and friendly, they made us feel very welcome during our stay. Sadly as we do not speak French the people running the hotel never spoke to us at all, which was a shame as they were there every day and in such a small place it felt strange not to at least say hello.

Room tip: I would suggest room 7 or ask for similar.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CoiaQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AuroreB1009, Directeur général at Toparadis guest house & restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2020

Dear Mrs & Mr Quinn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your impressions about your experience at Toparadis.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us through by the room, the atmosphere, the location and the restaurant.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Toparadis.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2019

We stayed at Toparadis for over 5 weeks and it was the best 5 weeks in Mauritius for us. The place is a true gem, with a very dedicated team. The place is very clean and well maintained to a very high standard. The beach is only 2 minutes away. The team members are very warm and always on hand to help, the management are very approachable and dedicated. Thank you everyone, a special thanks to Kavi, Akshay and Sharmila. Finally a special hello to Onny. See you all next year x

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank r b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AuroreB1009, Directeur général at Toparadis guest house & restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2019

Dear rb,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment that touched us. Our staff is here to satisfy you and we are pleased that you appreciated it. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, the location and the charm of our guest house.
Toparadis's team is waiting for you next year!

Kind regards, The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews