We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
First Hotel Atlantica
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Bergen
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Centrally located hotel”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This hotel is OK. Room was bigger than usual. TV - flatscreen- were huge. All is functioning good. Room and bathroom were clean and nice. Breakfaststandard is a bit below the standard most other Norwegian hotels offer nowadays.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norberg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    121
    48
    25
    4
See reviews for
43
89
39
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here for a week, although the rooms are small, or European style, it was comfortable. The bathrooms look as if they have been updated very recently, counter space is limited. The Hotel is located in the heart of the city, lovely city walks just outside the door. It also served as the perfect base to do day trips to the fjords. We rented a car in town and drove to Jotunheimen National Park, where we stayed for a night at a lodge and then the following day hiked to a glacier and drove back to Alesund. On another day we took public transportation to Geiranger Fjord- its absolutely beautiful.
The hotel staff is very friendly, the rooms are cleaned daily and the breakfast buffet is very good, lots of hot and cold food. We were also able to pack sandwiches from the breakfast buffet for our days out hiking. There is a full bar in the lobby at night and a very nice piano/coffee bar across the street. They also serve lunch, dinner, wine, beer and mixed drinks. I would stay at this hotel again, no complaints.

Room Tip: They do not have a fitness center could not clear the field. You can google map the hotel name or Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pottersk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Beautiful hotel in the middle of the city - and such lovely rooms - spaciuos and nice view (especially if you book a deluxe room with view - gorgeous!) All rooms are newly renovated - in fact they are still finsihing the the last rooms this week I was told. The rooms have a nice, dark wooden flooring and are decorated mainly in black and white and with a lovely touch of another color on a small carpet and pillows. My room - room608 even had a balcony and a nice view of the fjords. Breakfast area is next to the reception and you enjoy a nice and peaceful breakfast in calm sorrundings. Staff very helpful and service minded - nothing was a proble. Will definately come back and encourage all other travellers to book an upgraded room gere,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ekjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

If you want to discover Norwegian fjords and planned round trip to Norwegian cities, you will stay in one of the northern cities, such as Alesund. Our hotel is suited near the Atlantic Ocean. I liked the inner designs of the guest rooms and the restaurant. Also the staff are so kind and helpful to us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whirling_Dervish_TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Had one night here on a round trip through Norway, summer 2009. Hotel looks like a design hotel, but the room was on the small side. Windows stuck or could not properly been opened. No wardrobe to put your things in, had to leave everything in the cases and bags. Breakfast was very good.
In our case parking was free (weekend!).
Would not recommend. Sorry.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hebbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April70, General Manager at First Hotel Atlantica, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Traveller

Thanks for your review. We are very geatful for your comments in order to improve.

I am sorry to read that our hotel disappointed you when you stayed with us in 2009. The renovated rooms from 09, are small in size, but I can proudly inform that the entire hotel is now renovated and that we offer a lot of different room categories and sizes - and all rooms have wardrobes and shelves. Regarding the windows that you can not open fully, this is due to security reasons, and by asking the staff it is actually possible for us to open the lock for the guests that would like more air. Sorry for not informing you of this at check in.
Glad you liked the breakfast.

If you get the chance to visit Ålesund again, please contact us, and I believe you will be surprised over how the hotel has developed in a positive way.

All the best
Gyrid Eggen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.3 km away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#5 of 12 in Alesund
580 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.4 km away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
421 reviews
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.1 km away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Atlantica

Property: First Hotel Atlantica
Address: Rasmus Roennebergs gate 4, Alesund 6002, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,199 - ₹ 12,077
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Atlantica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing