We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
471
253
70
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
253
70
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location funky decor train station free breakfast lovely hotel loved this hotel fish market central location beds were very comfortable short walk rooms are small quiet street corner room breakfast was delicious three nights beautiful city visiting bergen
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We really liked staying in this small hotel on a relatively quiet and lovely street within walking distance of everything in Bergen. I think all the rooms are somewhat different. Ours was quite spacious. I suspect they’re all a bit funky which we enjoyed a lot. The artwork in the hotel is fun - Art-deco like.
The shower and bathroom lighting were both great. The breakfasts were outstanding with everything you could possibly want to eat and very well-prepared.
If you enjoy staying in small European hotels, this is a winner.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank leenstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rønnaug N, General Manager at Hotel Oleana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear guest,

thank you so much for this fantastic review, it was a pleasure having you as our guest, too!

Kindest regards,


Team Oleana,
Rønnaug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

I am giving this hotel a five star rating despite the very small rooms. The location of the Hotel Oleana is fabulous - walking distance from the train station, the Fish Market, Bergen's old quayside - Bryggen, great restaurants and public transportation. The hotel is chic and modern and the staff is fabulous. The breakfast buffet is very good. There is no A/C, at least not in my room, which is normally not an issue in Bergen.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTandMTMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rønnaug N, General Manager at Hotel Oleana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear guest.

Wow! Among all you kind words, it pleases us the most to hear that you find our staff fabulous. In our point of view, people make all the difference. Thank you so much for sharing your opinion with the TA community.

Best regards,


Team Oleana,
Rønnaug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We loved it. The decor , music and staff give this place an atmosphere where I felt relaxed and cosy. Beautiful decor . A mixture of modern and classical. Edgy .

Love the staff , always with a smile and a genuine want to be there . Professional and friendly ��
Yummy food , (top star ceviche for one) and a good breakfast. Hope they keep it up. It would be a shame if they don’t cause it’s a lovely hotel in a great spot. The hotels description of themselves is spot on.

Another plus is that it’s so convenient in regards to it being placed right in the heart of Bergen so everything is within a short walking distance but yet again not too overcrowded and noisy. You can either sit with a cup of coffee in the morning outside or with one of their delicious cocktails in the evening . And just relax. Just right. And most importantly rooms were clean. The hotel was clean which is a big plus.
Parking just around the corner but you must pay extra for that.

If I had to write of a downside it would be that our room had no window and as there is no air conditioning it was not so great. The room felt stuffy and not enough oxygen . They have this ventilation thing going but it was too warm outside and it didn’t help much. We were given a fan but it didn’t help much. The other downside is that our bed was far too soft and the bed was going out of place as a result.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Sugababe242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rønnaug N, General Manager at Hotel Oleana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear guest

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and future guests -it really made our day!

Hope your continued holiday was a success!

Best regards

Team Oleana,
Rønnaug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

It's a boutique hotel in the middle of Bergen's small theater district, very close to all the sights. It's clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the buffet breakfast was very good.

The windows did a good job of blocking noise; our room faced the back and unless we kept the window closed, noise from service vehicles was distracting in the morning; our friends in a room in front also had to shut their windows to block chatter and smoke from the outdoor area at the hotel's bar/restaurant.

Our room was smallish compared to other places we stayed at in Norway on this trip, though in comparison to hotel rooms in most large cities in Europe, the size was about what I'm used to for this price range.

However the arrangement of the room and its contents wasted a lot of what little space there was. The bathroom had an unnecessary separate little room for the toilet but no space for toiletries other than a small shelf under the sink, and no towel racks (just a few barely functional hooks). Outside the bathroom the folding luggage rack was extra large and bolted to the wall in the way of the path to the front door, and though the tiny shelf/desk under the TV didn't take up much space, it had both a chair and an ottoman stuffed under it. There was only space for a clothes closet at best a foot wide, but apparently enough room to also throw in a rather big armchair plus a small table.

But the main thing about the room that really stood out was the funky decor. The glass shower stall facing into the room had life sized decals on it showing a couple that - depending on how dirty your mind is - were either getting it on or trying to escape from a box filled with steam (either way, that steam obscured anything x-rated). Other entertaining details included the outline of a buxom naked lady over the bed, a scene of larger than life photos of very manic looking circus clowns in the hall outside the room, and a wall sized photo in the staircase of a naked young woman hiding her assets behind a violin. Compared to all that, the random colored lights in the elevator were downright sedate!

Note that not all the rooms were as suggestive/disturbing as ours. We had friends in a room across the hall, and their shower was just decorated with music notes.

Overall I do think this was a very good hotel, as long as you don't have a lot of luggage to stuff into your room or clothes to hang up, and you’re the kind of person who wouldn’t mind the weird decor (or you would think it’s fun).

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sashazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rønnaug N, General Manager at Hotel Oleana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear guest,

thank you so much or sharing your honest opinion with us and future guests.
We hope to welcome you back sometime!

Best regards,

Team Oleana,

Rønnaug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

In a good location. Very trendy, good service. Nice shower and best hair dryer ever (apparently). Room was quite small but the glass bathroom helped make it feel more spacious.

No air con and no blockout blinds but this is standard in Norway.

Breakfast was quite good and included in the rate, awesome fresh orange juice.

You have to park offsite at a paid parking place underneath the city. You get a discount at one a bit further away so we dropped off our bags and then went to park with their directions.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_A_C_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rønnaug N, General Manager at Hotel Oleana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your kind review, we truly hope to see you back sometime!

Warm regards,

Team Oleana
Rønnaug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews