We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but too Noisy to Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
InCity Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This Hotel is in a perfect location in downtown Bergen. Everything is within a 10 minute walking distance. It is clean and the staff is competent and friendly. However, there is a Disco right next door, and a bar in the Hotel on the second floor. There is a constant whomp, whomp, whomp, whomp, until 2:00 AM. Since there is no air conditioning, during summer the windows must stay open at night. This was another problem because the street outside is very active and noisy, like Times Square in New York, until 3:00 AM. Between the Disco next door, the bar on the second floor, and the street noise all night, we got very little sleep. This is a shame because otherwise the hotel was absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the from street, and at a high level to be away from the bar and Disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GAP817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 67 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

Myself and a colleague arrived unannounced in Bergen and looking for accomodation. Having first tried the Radisson ( available but the most expensive hotel I have ever seen ) we ended up booking a night at InCity Apartments.

The standout point is that InCity was HALF the price of all the other centre hotels we tried. For this alone it's excellent value considering.

That is all relative, Norway is the most overpriced and over valued place I have ever been.

The InCity looks a little tatty on the way in- more like a posh youth hostel. Yes, the lift smells of booze and the corridors stink of bad Chinese cooking and old fish.

The apartment themselves are good. Generally clean and tidy and in a good condition. Kitchenette is nice and well stocked. Reception staff were very good and pleasant too.

WiFi can be stolen for free from MacDonalds from some rooms.

Breakfast was next door, fair ( if a little cold ) and ample.

All in all, a great no frills budget city centre place to stop.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AverageJoeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This hotel is fabulous. The apartment was great - comfortable, nice decor, nice view, well equipped. Location is perfect - right at the center, walking distance to all attractions. There was a large variety at breakfast, and they even provided gluten-free bread upon request.

The only downside is the price. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in in two weeks in Norway.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My wife and I stayed because of a wedding that we went to during the weekend. The appartment was more than spacious enough for us two. Clean, ok beds, and ok people.
The hotel is practicly at Torgallmenningen which is in the middel of the City. Great place to stay for any holiday related to Bergen, and a perfect base for exploring Bergen sorroundings. We would definately go there again, and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Stay here for 3 nights. Pay about NOK 1,200 which I think is quite reasonable as the hotel located in the middle of the town w/in walking distance to anyplace. The room is spacious with 1 living room and a kitchen. The front desk is helpful.

However, they don't clean up the room nor change the bed sheet during my stay but will empty the trash (you could ask for new towels though) which is fine by me as I don't change it everyday back home. If you mess up the room, there is a vacuum machine for you to use.

There was a loud noise in the first night as there is other hotel's dumpster & storage in the back though.

Bergen is an expensive city (actually the whole country is) so if you expect a hotel service, go some where else but if you can live with that, this is the perfect lace to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarunyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Zander K Hotel
Zander K Hotel
#21 of 49 in Bergen
171 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 49 in Bergen
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 49 in Bergen
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InCity Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InCity Hotel and Apartments

Address: Oevre Ole Bulls Plass 3, Bergen 5012, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: ₹ 8,337 - ₹ 13,939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Incity Hotel. Incity Hotel and Apartments is situated in the heart of Bergen. You’ll find us in the cultural main street of town with theatres and concert venues right outside your door. Our apartments are of high standard, modern and fashionable. Our rooms are fully equipped and include everything you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. You can choose between Studio, 1 or 2 bedroom apartments. You’ll find something to suit all needs for business travellers, couples, families and so on. Stay for a day, a week or as long as you want! Please contact us for information and prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your InCity Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incity Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing