We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, but not perfect”
Review of Scandic Nidelven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Nidelven
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 April 2012

As mentioned in other reviews, the kindness and consistent helpfulness of the staff at this hotel is nothing like I have ever experienced in Norway before.

Breakfast was excellent, as also mentioned. Had one supper on my own in the formal dining room of the hotel and it was possibly one of the best I've had in Norway. The server I had knew all about the ingredients and was very professional I would recommend eating here hands-down even if one wasn't a guest at the hotel.

The room was well sized and comfortable. I was disappointed to see the stained and frayed cover blanket (the one that's on for colour and show) was put back on the bed every night, along with a couple of old and frayed pillows on top of the pillows that you actually sleep on. This added to the dust factor an otherwise good room for an allergy sufferer. I stayed for 4 nights and by the last day there was a good buildup of dust on the floor.

The gym was small but totally satisfied all my needs for machines and weights.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanaAPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 529 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

The hotel was very nice and modern. The personnel at the reception was very helpful and always smiling. The rooms were clean and in good condition, and the size was average. The internet connection was fast and the signing in was easy, which doesn't apply to many wifis. I had breakfast at the hotel, and you definitely shouldn't miss that! There was anything you could imagine wanting to eat in the morning and at least 4 sorts of it! What was a nice surprise was a man making fresh smoothie shots! A quality hotel definitely, but there was nothing absolutely superb, to make it a five star hotel. I unfortunately did not have a chance to venture to Trondheim city, but the hotel is quite near the center.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Nice, fresh modern buisness hotel located right next to the river " Nidelven" and the trainstation. Make sure you get a room with a view. Very convenient if you have an early flight the next day. The rooms are good and decent, nothing special. What´s amazing about this establishment is their breakfast buffet. Get up early and make sure you get a good table. Walking distance to the city´s main attractions.

Room Tip: High floor. Riverfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationtime01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed for the first time in the hotel for a meeting 13-14 March 2012. The hotel is centrally located by the river, It is modern, well kept, and my room was very comfortable. The breakfast was better and more varied than in any other hotels I have stayed in.The service was very good - correct, friendly and smiling staff. And do not forget to look at the display of paintings, especially the ones in the lobby by Gullvaag!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeddyNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel twice, in March 2009 and March 2011. Food is amazing. The kind of buffet you will not find even at the most expensive world hotels. Priceless and full of healthy choices. Rooms are very clean, but the standard differs. Back in 2009 I had to ask for a bigger room, as mine was dark and narrow, facing the road. The hotell staff was really helpful and immediately offered me a slightly bigger room with a river view at no additional price. Knowing this, on my arrival this time I asked for a room with a river view - and to my big surprise, I got a huge and really luxurious room with biiiiig window overlooking the river. This really made my day, as I was stressed and exausted after the trip. Everybody working at this hotel is extremely professional, nice and helpful. People really make the difference. And the hotel has a very nice location, too. Recommend this hotel with all of my heart.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Urma_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.5 km away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.4 km away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
814 reviews
0.4 km away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.2 km away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.4 km away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Nidelven? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Nidelven

Address: Havnegt 1 - 4, Trondheim 7400, Norway (Formerly Rica Nidelven Hotel)
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: ₹ 8,418 - ₹ 14,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Nidelven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Nidelven hotel is one of Trondheim's largest and most modern hotels. It's close to the city centre with sights and attractions within walking distance. The Restaurant Nidelven has been awarded Norway's best hotel breakfast the past 9 years and serve brunch on the weekend. The restaurant offers a modern inspired by the international trends within culinary arts. Our Broen Bar has a great view of Nidelven and the bridge over to Solsiden. We have 18 meeting rooms all with windows and natural daylight and can organize everything from small meetings to conventions, parties, banquets and concerts. If you want to keep in shape during your stay, please visit our gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Nidelven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Nidelven Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing