We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Modern, almost perfect hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Bakklandet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Bakklandet
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Modern, almost perfect hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

The hotel is located very central in the city, and is a modern hotel with very nice rooms.

Everything is as I would like it, and I would definately recommend it to anyone going to Trondheim.

* Nice rooms with big flat-screen tv
* Internet everywhere (free)
* Very good breakfast, even with a juice-press which you can make your own freshly-squeezed orange juice
* Very nice employees
* Clean and modern all-around

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Hi MortenCB.
Thank you for your kind reveiw, we appreciate it.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you back soon so we can make your stay perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    270
    66
    20
    3
See reviews for
97
237
44
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed at this brand new hotel for one night. It is centrally located and has a stylish and modern design. The room itself was nice and clean, but very hot. The bed was far too soft. The breakfast was a great disappointment. I actually had to set the table myself. Next time I will definitely stay at Rica Nidelven Hotel insted, which offers the best breakfast buffet in Trondheim!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, Booking Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear JacobOslo,

Thank you for your review of your stay. We appriciate all comments, both good and bad as this will help us improve.
It is possible to regulate the temperature in each room by our guests.
We are sorry to hear that you had to set the table yourself at the breakfast. We are trying our best to offer a great breakfast experience for all our guest, and we hope that you will stay with us again so we can improve your impression of our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Rica Bakklandet is an all new modern Hotell in central Trondheim, which I have visited three times. Staff has always been very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are quite small, but well enough for the business traveller staying a few nights and the beds are excellent.

The hotell is one of the few in central Trondheim with parking possibilities!

Breakfast is above scandinavian standard, but breakfast serving starts as late as 7 also on weekdays. I have missed breakfast two times of three. First time the offered breakfast bag was a few sandwiches with chees/ham. Next time equal sandwiches but also some fruit, still no youghurt, juice etc. Disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LG_Lomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear LG_Lomma.
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all comments good or bad. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding the breakfast bags we are still working on how to make them perfect and we will use your comments in this process.
Hope to see you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

A very nice and welcoming check-in in this brand new design hotel. The standard double room on 6th floor was however tiny, with just enough space for the bed, a chair and a small desk. No real wardrobe, a rather small window, but the bathroom was ok - if you don't mind Imitated stone. Bed linen was also ok, but the synthetic "stuffing" was definitely not 4 stars worthy. Very nice straff and breakfast, though, so booking again may happen - if the price is right. But not for a special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TineHaav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear TineHaav
Thank you for your reveiw. We at Rica Bakklandet Hotel appreciate all reveiws good or bad.
We are sorry that you found the room rather small and didn't like the bed linen. Regarding the bed linen we use synthetic stuffing due to fire safety.
We hope that we get the a chance in the future you show some of our other and bigger rooms.
Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

An elegant and stylish newly built hotel with a great location both for business and pleasure.
I got an upgraded room with a very nice view of the Nidelven river. The room was great except for the double bed which was made to look like at giant football, in honour of Nils Arne Eggen - coach of Trondheims pride Rosenborg.
Breakfast was spendid - could not ask for more, a great attribute of any hotel.
Gym/excercise facilities are just across the river at SATS, and the bus from the airport stops just outside. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBlakstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Hi EBlakestad.
Thank you for your kind reveiw. We are glad that you liked Nils Arne Eggen's room.
Hope to see you back soon in the furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 km away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#2 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.8 km away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#9 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.2 km away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bakklandet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bakklandet

Property: Scandic Bakklandet
Address: Nedre Bakklandet 60, Trondheim 7014, Norway (Formerly Rica Bakklandet Hotel)
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,571 - ₹ 12,266
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bakklandet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Bakklandet hotel is centrally located in the heart of Trondheim along the river Nidelven by Bakke Bro. The harbour, bus and train station are within walking distance. Our hotel has a restaurant that serves a hearty breakfast, as well as dinner with a wide range of international dishes and local specialities. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 40 participants. We also have a fitness room, as well as a relax lounge and sauna. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Scandic Bakklandet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing