We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
155
190
100
34
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
190
100
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews children's playroom breakfast buffet pirate ship entire family family with kids late at night play room great breakfast stayed one night animals zoo tiger families solution dyrepark
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel is ideally seated for a couple of nights when visiting dyreparken. We stayed in a room with balcony towards dyreparken, which is heavily recommended allthough pricy. A place to enjoy a beer in the evening sun with a very acceptable view, after the kids have gone to sleep after a long day in dyreparken is easily worth the money. Parking is available outside the entrance, allthough note that you will be fiting with the visitors at dyreparken for the spots. The hotel has no reserved spots. The dyreparken entrance is 50 meters from the hotel entrance, which is something to be appreciated both in the morning and in the afternoon after walking all day. Interiourvise there are special features such as a giraff and monkeys from threes in the lobby, something the kids will appreciate. Further Kaptein Sabeltanns pirate ship sails by the hotel all the time on its many tours between dyreparken and abrahavn. Also something for the kids to enjoy from the room balcony, hotell lobby or even restaurant. Great stay to enhance the dyreparken experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Krisjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DyreparkenHotell, Hotellsjef at Dyreparken Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018
Google Translation

Heia:)

Tusen takk for hyggelig tilbakemelding! Det ser ut som om dere har hatt noen flotte dager her hos oss og vi håper å se dere igjen:)

Med vennlig hilsen
Tanja D. Birkeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

This is absolutely a childrens world. We spent only a night there, but everywhere we went: children overall. Forget about the luxury of sleeping until late in the morning. The yelling of children on the corridors will be too loud. I am not an anti children person, but if they claim to be a hotell for everyone, they should think twice. I do not recommend staying there if you are travelling on other purposes than your childrens happiness.
The breakfast is ok, rooms clean.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank manodraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Average rooms. Average dinner. Excellent breakfast buffet, one of the biggest I´ve seen actually. Bar is often unattended and the beer selection is under par. The waiters served us food without telling us what we were getting, everybody had to ask. People also got pale ale when asked for indian pale ale... it´s all in the details guys! Good conference venue though and friendly people at the service desk.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Spinloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwi001, General Manager at Dyreparken Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017
Google Translation

Hei og tusen takk for at du tok deg tid til å gi oss en tilbakemelding, Vi ønsker hele tiden å forbedre oss og da er tilbakemeldinger fra gjester til stor hjelp.

Hjertelig velkommen tilbake til oss.

Med vennlig hilsen
Pål Sørvang Winter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed one night at the hotel in June. We traveled with four children.

The hotel is easy to find and access from the highway. It offers free parking just outside the lobby.

Just after making the reservation I received a phone call from the hotel. A friendly lady called to double check the number of children. I asked if it was a problem with that many children, and they insisted that it was ok. When we arrived we got a nice family room prepared with beds for the entire family. Extra towels nicely prepared on each bed. This was highly appreciated and great service!

The hotel is made for families and children. There are large stuffed tigers in the reception, great views of Kaptein Sabeltann´s pirate ship, and a large play room next to the breakfast restaurant. The restaurant offers a good selection of foods, and even has a separate children´s buffet.

It is the best hotel choice if you are planning to visit Kristiansand Dyrepark, but also an excellent choice in general if you are visiting Kristiansand by car and traveling with kids.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwi001, General Manager at Dyreparken Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017
Google Translation

Hei og tusen takk for at du tok deg tid til å gi oss en tilbakemelding, Vi ønsker hele tiden å forbedre oss og da er tilbakemeldinger fra gjester til stor hjelp.

Det gleder meg stort å lese at dere var fornøyde og jeg gleder meg også til å dele din tilbakemelding med resten av gjengen.

Tusen takk igjen for din tilbakemelding og ønsker deg din familie hjertelig velkommen tilbake.

Med vennlig hilsen
Pål Sørvang Winter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Expensive, and lousy service. We had booked an exterior room with sofa bed for the kids. But because of a handball-tournament which led to many guests, we were given a room with bunk beds, where none of the kids wanted to sleep in the top bunk (something we knew). We persuaded them anyway, but it was not what we had ordered. They told us we could get a refund on the price, something we did not get. We felt treated as not important at all by the staff, this place sells itself (at a price we could have had a city break in Europe for two including flights for!), so it is obvious that customer service is not important . We had to wait 1.5 h to get a table at the buffet in the evening, even though the restaurant was never more than half-full. There were also very limited choice of children's food (like pizza, nuggets, Polar bread etc). But, the kids loved the hotel, especially that it was close to the "sea" with the pirate ship just outside, as well as the children's playroom - so we might be back, just for the kids!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nordkvinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwi001, General Manager at Dyreparken Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017
Google Translation


Hei og tusen takk for at du tok deg tid til å gi oss en tilbakemelding. Vi går nøye igjennom alle våre tilbakemeldinger og det er til stor hjelp i vår jakt etter forbedringsområder.

Leser av din tilbakemelding at vi har mange ting vi kan trene enda mer på og beklager at vi på flere områder ikke har innfridd våre standarder.

Håper på tross av det og igjen kunne få gleden av å være deres vertskap. Dere er i alle fall hjertelig velkommen tilbake til oss.

Med vennlig hilsen
Pål Sørvang Winter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews