We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parfect location, conference hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Parfect location, conference hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

LOCATION
Can't beat this location, right on the canal with restaurants etc. at you doorstep
ROOMS
Standard conference type. OK size. OK beds. We had our 13 year old son with us, but the extra bed was not comfortable at all, so he had to share our double bed. Air conditioning was not functioning properly, so the room was steaming at night. (20+ degrees outside). Window hatch was broken, so difficult to keep the window open. Paid NOK 200 extra for that bed + 200 extra for having our dog with us. So a total of NOK NOK 1.880 a night. (USD 313)
POOL
Pool on the roof is small, and cold, approximately 18 degrees. No bar service, you have to bring drinks from the lobby bar.
BREAKFAST
Quite good, with smoothies, fried eggs&bacon etc. Nice toutch to have paper cups with lids, so you could take away your coffee.
CONCLUSION
OK, a 3-4 star hotel. Charmless. Probably stay there again because of the location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnargutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the location of the hotel.

The hotel does unfortunally not have air condition in the rooms other then in the suites.
We have a centrally managed air ventilation system so it takes a bit longer to regulate the temperature in the rooms. Thank you for the feedback of the window hatch, we will fix this problem right away.

I am sorry to hear that the extra bed was uncomfortable, and you should not have to pay for it if it was uncomfortable and you did not use it. Please send me an email so you can get a refund: ingunn.seim@choice.no
The heater in the pool is under service, but it will be set to the 26 degrees this week. I must apologies that it did not work properly under your stay, but if you visit us again later this summer the pool should be heated and we also have a pool bar from 22th of June.

Until next time - have a great summer! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    212
    80
    30
    12
See reviews for
53
135
35
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is just another big, unpersonal conference hotel. A hotel in a good location by the canal in Tønsberg and in the center of the town.
Cons: hard beds, noisy aircon, noisy building site outside( will be finished in the end of June). Bland and boring hotel, with nothing special to remember it by. Oh, and a stupidly placed light swich just above/ on the headboard of the bed, so that you keep turning on and off the light when you go to sleep...
Pros: the personel!! They are lovely, friendly and always with a smile!

Would i recommend it? No.... Next time I would rather try the Thon Hotel. Good Sleeping quality is a must for me!

Room Tip: Of you must go, ask for a room facing the canal! They are larger that the ones towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us. Every feedback can make us better in the future.
We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our staff.
But we are sincerely sorry that the construction outside the hotel, and the air ventilation system affected your sleep. This should not disturb our guests, and we understand the frustrations this caused you.
The light switch above/on the headboard of the bed is placed there, so you don’t have to go out of the bed to turn of the lights in the room, but we agree that it might be placed a bit low.

We hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Tønsberg, so we can make up for the impression from your last stay.
We wish you a great spring! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a trip to tonsberg and stayed in the quality hotel there . It is advestised as a 3* but we found it much better than that. the room was spacious and clean . the hotel staff were excellent and even provided umbrellas when it rained . the buffet breakfast was well presented and a large selection to pick from. the hotel is overlooking the harbour and there are lots of restaurants to choose from . loads of fresh fish and steaks but each one was fantastic as we went to a dfferent one each night. i would defenitely return to the area and stay in the quality hotel again .

Room Tip: no tips as our room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birthdaygirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear guest.
Thank you for sharing your experience from our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and that you will visit us again.

We wish you a fantastic spring and hope to see you soon. :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here a couple of nights now in March and it was most relaxing.
The hotel is right by the canal, where you find several outdoor-seating resturants.

The minibar is most expencive(10.euro for a small beer) but there is a rimi supermarket just 25 meters to the left.

Couldnt heare any traficc or street-noise of any kind, so the rooms must be well sound-protected.
nice room with Comfy bed and big flat-screen-tv.
Reception desk was welcoming and polite, needed the room for an extra night+late checkout on day 3, and neither was any problem.

Exellent service, and great location will make this hotel my first choice, next time in Tønsberg.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steinar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Steinar.

Many thanks for this fantastic feedback on tripadviser!
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, and are gratful for the comments about the service, breakfast and rooms you made about the hotel.
We hope to see you here again, soon! :D
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was a nice standard hotel. Rooms were fairly small but typical for the area. About a half mile walk from the train station. Right on the water near plenty of nice restaurants. The free breakfast was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingunn S, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Tonsberg, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Mjlynch.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review from your stay, and thank you for choosing us as your hotel in Tønsberg!
Please come back soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonsberg
0.4 km away
Quality Hotel Klubben
Quality Hotel Klubben
#2 of 7 in Tonsberg
273 reviews
0.4 km away
Thon Hotel Tonsberg Brygge (Brygga)
18.6 km away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Scandic Havna Tjome
Scandic Havna Tjome
#2 of 2 in Tjome
158 reviews
10.1 km away
Thon Hotel Asgardstrand
Thon Hotel Asgardstrand
#1 of 1 in Asgardstrand
103 reviews
1.0 km away
Active Hotel
Active Hotel
#1 of 1 in Notteroy Municipality
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Tonsberg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Tonsberg

Property: Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Address: Ollebukta 3, Tonsberg 3126, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Tonsberg Municipality > Tonsberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tonsberg
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,141 - ₹ 14,548
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Tonsberg 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality hotel Tonsberg is full service conference hotel, located on the end of the pir in Tonsberg, only 7 minutes from the train and bus station. With 292 guestrooms and 25 conference rooms is there many possibilities for a good conference experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Tonsberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn tønsberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing