We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny portions, Overpriced and Average food.”
Review of New Anarkali

New Anarkali
Ranked #70 of 1,686 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Grünerløkka - Sofienberg
Reviewed 7 February 2018

I went to this restaurant after being recommended by a friend. The setting looked very nice and had a good Indian vibe. I ordered a lamb biryani and naan bread. The waiter got me some papadam and some sauces to get me started. The sauce was delicious. But before I could finish my papadam she took it away without even asking me. Never mind. Buriyani arrived, and it tasted average. There wasn’t anything special. Plain yellow rice was mixed with some vegetables, and they threw in some pieces of meat. It’s not actual biriyani. Not to mention the rice was drenched in a sauce. The potion was small. The naan bread was very small for its price. Overall experience was average, and the food is a little below average. The service is OK and nothing special.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simba_SVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

It really is no wonder why I keep coming back here. The food is authentic, and with a spice level anyone who has been to India can relate to.
Welcoming and with a good atmosphere as well as great food makes this place a sure winner every time

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank ares2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

The staff at New Anarkali always bring the goods. Polite, friendly and service minded, they make you feel right at home, serving up absolutely decent middle-range priced Indian food ticking all the right taste bud boxes. Never got a disappointing meal. We actually celebrated our first wedding day here!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

The food was quite good and chutney, pickles, nan and rice were delicious. However, the portions were small! Therefore it wasn't reasonably priced I think. I wasn't really hungry before eating, but not really full after eating. Also the chicken was cut in quite small pieces(?). The service was pleasent, even though we got chicken instead of lamb that was ordered. Food - approved, portions - not!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank K5177ZEkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We had dinner here and have been very impressed with the food. I have the samosa starter and the fish as a main course with rice and naan bread. All the food was good to great. We were even brought poppadoms and chutney to eat before the starters, with out asking, which I thought was a nice touch. Portions are about right. And the level of space can be adjusted to your taste. And this they seemed very good at! Prices are not bad for Oslo too, so if you want some nice Indian food, give this place a try. I think you will find its worth seeking out.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CharlesF576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Anarkali also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to New Anarkali? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing