We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,875)
Filter reviews
1,875 results
Traveller rating
586
953
259
56
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
953
259
56
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvending machinecity boxno frillstrain stationself serviceautomatic checkcheckin and checkoutbudget hotelthe ground floorluggage storagecommon areasextra towelsopera houserooms are basicchecking infamily roomfree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
685 - 690 of 1,875 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2015

CityBox is exactly that, a box in the city. Reservations were easy, check-in was super simple and the room was very clean and basic. I enjoyed the communal kitchen and also that CityBox provided maps and tour books for Norway.

My only gripe about CityBox Oslo was the amount of construction on the street and how difficult it was to navigate. This however, is something that is out of their control, but a quick warning on their site would have been helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outlawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Hi Outlawler!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

Really nice to hear that you found us to have "clean rooms, simple design and easy check-in". Also cool that you found our marketing to be honest, a box in the city is exactly what we try to offer.

While we can understand your point of view regarding the construction, our view is that if we do that we would risk not getting any guests at all, while we still feel that we in spite of the construction offer a really good deal, and according to your review it seems that you feel the same way? That being said, we are doing plenty of things to limit the disturbance caused by the construction, and are doing our best to put up signs to mark the pathway, and also have a poster stating that you should contact us if you are a light sleeper so that we can do our best to offer your a room facing our backyard. And, most imporant of all, we have also lowered our prices even more than usual to offer a small form of compensation! So all in all, we still think we offer a great deal, don't you? :)

Hope you can understand our point of view as well!
Thanks again for your recommendation!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

I loved this hotel/hostel. it's called citybox and a box is what you get. a tiny room in the eaves with a bathroom. The room is perfectly designed. The staff are great and it is very cheap. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 94Gill94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Hi 94Gill94!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

We just love hearing guests repeating our mantra of "value for money". We really do our best to offer what we consider to be a fair deal, and nothing pleases us more than when our guests agree. We also try to be honest in our marketing, and in stead try to have our guests be pleaseantly surprised rather than the opposite. Also really nice that you found our staff to be great!

Hope you are true to your word, and that you will visit us again! :)

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

If you are looking for a place just to sleep, then this is for you. This hotel is located in a great location in Oslo, walking distance from pretty much anything and everything. If you plan on spending your visit in Oslo exploring the city I would definitely suggest this place, but if you plan on spending a lot of time in your hotel avoid this place. They only clean your room upon departure, there is no TV, you only get one set of towels during your visit and there is no room service. They do provide a kitchen you can cook your own food in and there are also vending machines in the lobby. We had no problem with the limited amenities because we didnt spend much time in the room, but others may have a problem with this. There is also a nice ittle cafe around the corner that is "cheap" compared to all the other restaurants that occupy Oslo.
The only problem we had at this hotel was the RUDE maid service. We had a confrontation with on of the Gentlemen who was an outside vendor bringing in linen. He shoved us out of the elevator because he was trying to cram as much supplies in there as possible. Outside vendor or not that was by far the rudest experience we have ever had at a hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford, book a private room with bathroom.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank serra018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Hi serra018!

Thank you for your review of our hotel!

Nice to hear that you found us to be a "good basic hotel" in a "great location". As you yourself pointed out, very much of our idea is based upon removing certain elements, and minimizing other parts that actually makes your room more expensive. Some of these elements might seem really cheap to you, but if you multiply 3 elements it with 216 rooms and 365 days, most numbers actually get quite high!

Should you however require daily cleaning of your room, we do offer this as well, but then we charge an extra NOK 150 per day. If you need extra towels, just stop by our Citybox Host Office and we will supply them free of charge! In stead of TVs we have upgraded our wifi, so that you should be able to stream whatever you prefer to your own device.

Really nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the cafe just around the corner, we stop by there ourselves some times!

But we are really disappointed to hear about your experience with the delivery service of our linen, and will most certainly bring up this with our supplier!

Hope you still had a nice visit to Oslo, and that we will see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Osl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

This place offers great value rooms right in the middle of central Oslo - just minutes walk from the main the station and shopping areas.

The room was extremely clean and offered everything required for a city break.

I fully read the website before booking, so was aware no service during stay but could ask for extras. The lobby area was very well thought out.

The one and only fault was the desk lamp not working (room 203).

Budget hotels in the UK could learn so much from this place.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank atunstall-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2015

Hi atunstall-!

Wow! Thanks for an amazing review of our hotel!

We just love hearing from guests that seems to appreciate and understand our concept! And even more we love it when guests are echoing our mantra of "value for money"! We know we are different, and are actually quite proud if it, but we still feel that we offer a really good deal! So thanks again for a fantastisc recommendation, and for all your kind words!

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Pros: Very new, mostly clean, very quiet area and good nights sleep. Quick and easy check in. Excellent central Oslo location, max of 5 mins walk from Central station.

Cons: Struggled to find the hotel due to roadworks outside, had to go well out of our way, in the rain, trying to find the way in. Roadworks weren't the hotels fault obviously, but they could have sent out an email with instructions, or put up better signage. The room doesn't have a carpet, it has some sort of strange plasticy linoleum. Quite cold underfoot.

The hotel is a very basic hotel and there are no staff around to help if you have any issues. Cleaning staff were rude when I encountered them in the corridor, and on check out day they barged into the room without knocking when we were in the middle of getting dressed. We also found other people's hair on the bathroom floor. There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, no TV, and the towels were tiny.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd9UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Hi jd9UK!

Thank you for your review of our hotel!

Really nice to hear that you found us to be "very new, mostly clean, very quiet area". And cool that you foun the checkin/checkout machines to be quick and easy!

Too bad that you had trouble locating the hotel, we have actually put up a lot of extra signs, but we will look into maybe placing some more signs if this is something that is repeated from more of our guests!

Disappointing that you didn't like our bolon flooring! We ourselves actually really like them as they give quite a lot of color to our rooms, and they are also pretty easy to maintain!

We do apologize if you felt our housekeeping staff were rude? They are normally the most positive people we know!

Hope you still enjoyed your visit to Oslo, and that you will visit us again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews