We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We were upgraded to a suite, so I am sure my views could be considered bias!!! WOW
Its one of those places where you feel you MUST dress for. Reminded us of The Connaught in Mayfair. The breakfast room is very old world with everything you could possibly want to start the day. Lovely, lovely place

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipidy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReservationManager, Manager at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Oslo, and we look forward to welcoming you back at another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    488
    121
    26
    21
See reviews for
124
463
93
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Great hotel in the center of Oslo with a wonderful, helpful staff. My room was clean, and quiet. I haven't stayed anywhere else in Norway so difficult to compare standards. The breakfast buffet was great and the internet access was free. There is a great restaurant across the street Kafe Love, which I highly recommend. Great access to tram, bus, and close to central train station. Would stay again. I had requested a quiet room and they obliged - I heard nothing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoCoucou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

This hotel has an old world charm about it reflected in the decor. The rooms were of typical european standard, comfortable and clean. Go for the room rate that includes breakfast, it is a great spread and will keep you going for most of day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is it's central location and friendly restaurent/bar staff. I have had several long stays at this hotel over the past two years. The menues are very limited never change and they are simply unable to cater for anyone with a aspecial diet, no vegetarian food at all. The breakfast buffet is good, but never change and you have to be up early if you want to secure fresh stuff, bread rolls and croissants as they always run out! They stop serving breakfast at 10 am and also close the kitchen in the evening at 11 pm. The self service coffee machine is not big enough for a hotel and is often out of order or out of pods. Many of the rooms are facing a busy street and it can be noisy throughout the night. The rooms are dated and not very clean. Sheets and towels were clean,, but often stained. The air quality in the hotel is very poor and you are not able to adjust/control the temperature and airconditioning. After a few nights my colleagues and I noticed our skin got dry and throat itchy due to the poor air circulation in the rooms. The Spa is tucked away in a gloomy part of the hotel and is totally inadequate - you cannot call this a Spa! However, there is a lovely Spa on the top floor of the Grand Hotel nearby which is what we used.

Bristol hotel has a lovely lounge bar in the lobby and the staff are lovely, but if you stay for more than 3 days the pianist will get to you as he hammers out the same limited repetoire of cheesy tunes like "Love Story" "Yesterday" etc every day for months... The atmosphere is a bit old and the afternoon tea is popular with the older generation.

Most of the staff are very friendly, but they seemed unable to deal with the smallest of requests as they had no authority and had to refer to managers who never seemed to be around. There is a German lady on the front desk too big for her shoes who can be very rude if she wants too. She should not work in the service industry and made many guests very unhappy during our stays! The hotel s doing well based on its popular location and history and I can't help feeling that this success has made the management lazy and inflexible - they probably don't see any need to improve customer service or change their ways yet. Our company has decided to switch hotels for business trips to Oslo and I am relieved that my next trip to Oslo I will be able to stay somewhere else with great food and proper service! Cheaper for the company too as Bristol charge inflated prices and do not recognize the value of long term business accounts in therms of offering frequent guests any special discounts or recognition.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room not facing the streets, six floor best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Rarely I stay at a hotel in my hometown, but after a night at Bristol, I will consider doing just that more often. Large, clean room, beautiful bathroom, fantastic beds, best breakfast around, and very kind and helpful staff. And the atmosphere in the lobby area, with bar and café, is just great. Only upgrade needed is to throw out the automatic coffee machine, and hire a barista.

One free tip: They serve the best hot chocolate in town. Better than coffee. Well worth every krone!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Grand Hotel
#25 of 90 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
The Thief
#2 of 90 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7, Oslo 0164, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#5 Business Hotel in Oslo
#5 Family Hotel in Oslo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,705 - ₹ 22,026
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is located in the heart of Oslo city centre. It is only a short walk from the hotel to shopping opportunities, Oslo's main street Karl Johans gate, the Royal Palace, museums and the waterfront area Aker Brygge and most of Oslo's other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing