We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again, overpriced and overrated!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Voksenasen AS

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Voksenasen AS
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tvedestrand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again, overpriced and overrated!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

I prepaid the 2 night stay through finn.no. This was the only available in Oslo. I had to pay almost the double price of normal price for a mediocre hotel located far, far, far away from the city center. The hotels location is hopeless due to ongoing rebuild of the tram line and rerouted main road Holmenkollenveien. It took me an hour with bus or car to city center.
The room was spartan with a worn out bed and placed in the first floor with only heavy drapes (no inner curtain letting light through) in the window facing the lawn from where everyone could look into my room, and from the restaurant porch as well. Not good for privacy life, I think.
The breakfast was like the room, a buffee only the Spartans could find interesting, but it indeed had fresh and wam rolls (rundstykker).
When I checked out, they claimed to charge me for the room once more and to a higher price as well, claiming that my payment had been cancelled. It took me great deal of time and discussion with the front desk before the guy accepted my receipt.
What a stay. Never again, even with the best view of Oslo.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn

Helpful?
1 Thank hotelboms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    61
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
24
54
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

Really nice hotel!
It had really good meeting facilities, great food and the view over Oslo was absolutely amazing!
The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

The hotel lives upto the reviews in tripadvisor and other sites. We were on a cruise ship the week before and after we disembarked went early in the morning to the hotel. Our check in was much later and as they had been full the night before they did not commit to an early check in. However, the reception offered to keep our bags till a room was available. We paid for our breakfast in the lovely dining room. It was a great homely breakfast with fresh breads, home made jams and cold cuts. To our surprise after we had finished breakfast our room was ready and the keys were handed over. Meanwhile we had access to wifi all over the hotel. The property is at an unenviable location with stunning views. It also has lovely photographs of its history, pieces of art and sculptures al over the property. Although it has a very small team of staff they are all warm, friendly and very helpful. Since it was a small place we were comfortable with our kids being out of the room by themselves. All in all if one has to experience the views of Oslo and get a local feel at great value, Voksaansen is the place to stay when in Oslo. Its a short train ride away from the city. Although train repair work is going on its well connected by buses and a short ride can get you away from the hustle of the city but still close enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeenalmumMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

I got a very good price when I booked this hotel a day before I traveled to Oslo. The hotel was perfect. Large, spotless, comfortable room, great breakfast, tastefully decorated common areas, free Wi-Fi.

The hotel is located on the mountain overlooking Oslo, near winter ski resorts. I knew that it was not in the city when I was booking it, I also knew that I could easily reach it by subway. Unfortunately, the hotel website did not mention that due to track repair the subway was not running the whole summer. If I knew that, I probably would not have booked it. There is a bus running instead of the subway. It is very reliable and quite comfortable, but it definitely takes longer than the train would.

In the end I do not regret staying in this hotel. I just wish I was told about the subway not running when I booked, instead of finding about it when I arrived in Oslo late in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eugene_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

Spent three nights in this stylish Norwegian hotel. Room though small was furnished with clean scandanavian design. Breakfast buffet had lots of variety and provided a great start to the day's sighseeing. Staff were attentive and friendly. The one significant drawback is the fact that the metro is under refurbishment until December 2010 and so the journey to the hotel if not using car involves a tram/metro to link with a bus(30 minutes and a short walk). Despite this we felt this was well worth the effort for the spectacular views and a perspective on Oslo from outside the city centre. Hotel also boasts a lovely art collection and extensive library.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alivealiveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Soria Moria Hotel
#53 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Lysebu
#30 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamle Oslo
Scandic Helsfyr
Scandic Helsfyr
#46 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voksenasen AS? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voksenasen AS

Property: Voksenasen AS
Address: Ullveien 4, Oslo 0791, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oslo
#23 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,339 - ₹ 10,989
Hotel Class:4 star — Voksenasen AS 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voksenåsen Hotel - ’Pearl of Nordmarka'Voksenåsen is the hotel located on Oslo’s rooftop, with the world famous Holmenkollen Ski Jump as one of its closest neighbors. Miles from the noisy city, but yet so very near. As long as you carry on driving uphill you are heading in the right direction – until you reach a unique hotel offering Oslo’s most spectacular views, a relaxed and international atmosphere. A distinct, contemporary interior helps to inspire the guests. Something out of the ordinary, this will always entice you to come back.Voksenåsen’ s location, 20 minutes from Oslo city center and 501 meters above sea level, combines the close proximity to the woods of Oslomarka, the forested and hilly areas surrounding Oslo. Another close neighbor is the Oslo Vinterpark ski center, all this makes Voksenåsen the ultimate hotel for anyone wanting more than just another city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Voksenasen AS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voksenasen Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing