We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Nearby Hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$ 130
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 224
US$ 188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 187
US$ 168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$ 145
US$ 129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Byporten(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$ 195
US$ 172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Holmenkollen Park(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$ 132
US$ 115
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Saga Hotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$ 185
US$ 141
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel Oslo Alna(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$ 118
US$ 108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 414
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
168
380
202
67
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
380
202
67
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetgreat locationbusiness loungeparliament buildingtgi fridaysroyal palacechristmas marketkarl johanthere is no air conditioningfree coffee and teawould stay here againshort walktrain stationdecent sizethe heart of the citytop floornational gallery
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Well located hotel in central square near metro station and coast. Rooms basic and in particular bathrooms cramped and faded. Free, fast wifi. Friendly, efficient service. Reasonable breakfast buffet with good selection of sandwiches.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank sdmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiv R, Daglig leder at Best Western Karl Johan Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear sdmmb

Thank you for taking the time to write a few words about your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. Good to hear that you were very pleased with the location, wifi, breakfast and our employees.

Welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Christian and the young lady who was his associate at the front desk were outstanding and performed well under adverse conditions. At the end of our 3rd day in Oslo we returned to the hotel to discover that we had to leave because management was closing the hotel as a result of the labor strike currently affecting many Norwegian hotels. Christian and his associate found another hotel for us about a block away. We paid for the four nights we had contracted for and we were provided a significantly superior room at the replacement hotel. All in all, what could have been a significant customer relations problem turned into a positive memorable event.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 717haroldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiv R, Daglig leder at Best Western Karl Johan Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear 717haroldo

Nice quote. Good to hear that you got a good experience despite the strike and that you appreciate my employees.

Welcome back on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for three days. It is situated in the Main street in Oslo, close to the royal castle and the norwegian parliament. I was thinking it would be a noisy stay, but we were not bothered at all. Could of course be because we stayed there during normal week days in the low season, but it was a positive experience for me. Buffet breakfast in the morning was very good, other meals we had to get elsewhere. Coffemachine in the lobby where you could grab and go out into the city. Will definetely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Kjetil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiv R, Daglig leder at Best Western Karl Johan Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Kjetil R

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. I am glad to hear that you had a good stay with us. Appreciate that you enjoyed our breakfast and the location.

Nice to hear to will stay here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed in standard double. I found rooms small though clean, linens clean and hygienic. Rooms dont have ventilation thus at times suffocating.
Excellent location but rooms on road can be noisy coz of bars below so you may have to keep windows closed during summer season.
Hotel is does not have modern feel but still decorated in old ways. Rooms lack decor. Over all just fine.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank jassi510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiv R, Daglig leder at Best Western Karl Johan Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear Jassi510

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and that you liked the location. Unfortunately, it can occur some music on a few rooms located on the 2nd floor if you have open windows. I hope you got to sleep and that you will come back on another occasion.

Best regards
Leiv R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

This hotel is centrally located and we found our room very comfortable. The staff were excellent, especially as we didn't find them at their best. The current strike of hospitality staff in Norway meant that we had to move hotels after one night of a three night stay, as the hotel was unable to stay open. The staff were unflappable, reassuring and made arrangements for us to stay in suitable accommodation elsewhere.

They say, if you want the real measure of your people put them under pressure. The front desk staff here coped well in what could have turned into a crisis.

Two minor issues: The wifi was inconsistent & the fabric of the hotel is starting to show its age a bit.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyeddieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiv R, Daglig leder at Best Western Karl Johan Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel when you visited Oslo. Nobody likes a strike and we appreciate your kind words about my personal. Nice to hear that you also liked the toom. Normally our wifi are consistent and fast. But I will check it out.

Welcome you back!

Best regards
Leiv R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews