We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
171
393
211
70
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
393
211
70
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street great location business lounge parliament building royal palace christmas market karl johan there is no air conditioning within walking distance free coffee and tea would stay here again train station decent size top floor main attractions third floor the heart of the city
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Well located hotel in central square near metro station and coast. Rooms basic and in particular bathrooms cramped and faded. Free, fast wifi. Friendly, efficient service. Reasonable breakfast buffet with good selection of sandwiches.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank sdmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiv R, Daglig leder at Best Western Karl Johan Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear sdmmb

Thank you for taking the time to write a few words about your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. Good to hear that you were very pleased with the location, wifi, breakfast and our employees.

Welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Christian and the young lady who was his associate at the front desk were outstanding and performed well under adverse conditions. At the end of our 3rd day in Oslo we returned to the hotel to discover that we had to leave because management was closing the hotel as a result of the labor strike currently affecting many Norwegian hotels. Christian and his associate found another hotel for us about a block away. We paid for the four nights we had contracted for and we were provided a significantly superior room at the replacement hotel. All in all, what could have been a significant customer relations problem turned into a positive memorable event.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 717haroldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiv R, Daglig leder at Best Western Karl Johan Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear 717haroldo

Nice quote. Good to hear that you got a good experience despite the strike and that you appreciate my employees.

Welcome back on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for three days. It is situated in the Main street in Oslo, close to the royal castle and the norwegian parliament. I was thinking it would be a noisy stay, but we were not bothered at all. Could of course be because we stayed there during normal week days in the low season, but it was a positive experience for me. Buffet breakfast in the morning was very good, other meals we had to get elsewhere. Coffemachine in the lobby where you could grab and go out into the city. Will definetely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Kjetil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiv R, Daglig leder at Best Western Karl Johan Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Kjetil R

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. I am glad to hear that you had a good stay with us. Appreciate that you enjoyed our breakfast and the location.

Nice to hear to will stay here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed in standard double. I found rooms small though clean, linens clean and hygienic. Rooms dont have ventilation thus at times suffocating.
Excellent location but rooms on road can be noisy coz of bars below so you may have to keep windows closed during summer season.
Hotel is does not have modern feel but still decorated in old ways. Rooms lack decor. Over all just fine.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank jassi510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiv R, Daglig leder at Best Western Karl Johan Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear Jassi510

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and that you liked the location. Unfortunately, it can occur some music on a few rooms located on the 2nd floor if you have open windows. I hope you got to sleep and that you will come back on another occasion.

Best regards
Leiv R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

This hotel is centrally located and we found our room very comfortable. The staff were excellent, especially as we didn't find them at their best. The current strike of hospitality staff in Norway meant that we had to move hotels after one night of a three night stay, as the hotel was unable to stay open. The staff were unflappable, reassuring and made arrangements for us to stay in suitable accommodation elsewhere.

They say, if you want the real measure of your people put them under pressure. The front desk staff here coped well in what could have turned into a crisis.

Two minor issues: The wifi was inconsistent & the fabric of the hotel is starting to show its age a bit.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyeddieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiv R, Daglig leder at Best Western Karl Johan Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel when you visited Oslo. Nobody likes a strike and we appreciate your kind words about my personal. Nice to hear that you also liked the toom. Normally our wifi are consistent and fast. But I will check it out.

Welcome you back!

Best regards
Leiv R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews